Confessions logo

Therapy?

Why Writing On Vocal Really Helps Me

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished about a year ago 3 min read
5

Introduction

No, it’s not the band, but a friend just replied to a comment saying that they did find writing very therapeutic, and this just emphasised the fact that this is what writing is for me.

Words and Me

When I write it’s like I am talking to someone or telling a tale for an audience. Most people think that I am absolutely fine and don’t need any contact or interaction because I keep creating and keep doing various administration tasks and coming up with the idea for new things, so I am obviously completely stable and on track.

I have a paranoid side which wonders why I don’t get Top Stories or Challenge Wins on Vocal, Is it because they see me as an old white man or that I am not on the North American land mass, but the reality is that other old white Englishmen get Challenge wins and Top Stories so then my paranoia says it must be because my writing is crap then, except the amount of positive feedback and comments I get from my audience tell me how brilliant my writing is, and I know it is good.

Although I get the odd Top Story I always feel they are accidental and just slipped though rather than being actually seen as a real Top Story.

But enough of the whining and complaining.

Every time I write, it is definitely a form of therapy.

More often than not when I publish on Vocal I feel really good about myself, and that makes me want to write more. Sometimes I get reactions to my work though these days Vocal tends to show that most of my writing has only one or two reads although overall I probably get about fifty a day from some sources.

I was quite upset that my two Autism related recent stories seemed to be totally ignored by my Vocal audience (I've included them at the end in case you want to be the first to comment 😀), but I cannot make people read my work, and I never ask people to read my work, I just put out my stories and hope that I can entice readers with the subject and story image. The other side of that is when I see the “Read my story, Follow Me” I tend to ignore them, but if someone says “This is my latest story”, with no demands then I take notice and if the subject interests me, or if I know the person’s writing, or if they are a Facebook friend I will probably read the article.

And a third side is that if I see a lot of Facebook friends posting I start to feel sick because I cannot read all the stories but don’t know which ones to read first. I know I am the worst supporter of other Vocal Creators.

Back On To Words And Me

Even in this piece I am ridding myself of the bad stuff and seeing all the good things in my life and creations. Everything cannot always go our way but we can always take the benefits and minimise the awkward things.

I do love collaborating with people but I have got to a stage where I would be frightened to let someone see my work before I publish it. The only person that I regularly collaborate with every few months is my Vocal Sister Melissa Ingoldsby.

Often my writing is like a performance or a conversation where no one shouts me down and I am allowed to say what I want to say, and that, for me is very therapeutic.

Conclusion

I know this has gone all over the place but is essentially why I like writing, and this is the sort of thing that may get a Top Story and I really won’t have a clue why it has.

Writing this has been good for me and the music I will use is “Going Nowhere” by Therapy? Which is very appropriate for me.

SecretsHumanityFriendshipEmbarrassmentBad habits
5

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Celia

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • KJ Aartilaabout a year ago

    I cannot possibly read everything by everyone, but I'm glad to see you here. Your words often make me smile. 😁

  • Emily Marie Concannonabout a year ago

    Awesome Mike. I'm glad you write and appreciate what you create. Please keep it up. 💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.