Confessions logo

Follow You Follow Me

The Joy Of Following and Being Followed By Friends On Social Media

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished about a year ago 3 min read
6

Introduction

I was out walking, which often inspires me to write things and the Genesis song “Follow You Follow Me” popped into my head. It was their first album as a trio, Peter Gabriel and Steve Hackett having walked, but I still bought it on the basis of “Follow You Follow Me” and the opening song “Down and Out” but I was hugely disappointed. The rest of the album was just boring, but those two songs showed that there was a spark still there and the rest of their musical career did throw up some surprisingly good songs. As usual, I have digressed and gone off track so now down to the business of what I was going to talk about.

The Joy of Being Followed

As well as Vocal, I have accounts on Instagram, Facebook, Twitter and Pinterest and have a good number of followers on all barring Pinterest. My Vocal profile has links to all my social media profiles, so I am not very shy on social media.

One of the problems with Twitter and Instagram is that anyone can follow you and being an old white man I get lots of follows by, shall we say, scantily clad young ladies, who are only after one thing (clue five letter starts with Mmmm… and Ends with Why), I am not the sort of guy that any real woman would be attracted to and I have a feeling that a lot of these are just bots anyway.

I don’t tout for followers, but maybe that’s just me, what I do is to say “I’m on whatever here” like at the start of this paragraph telling you about my social media links.

On the one hand, it is nice to have a lot of followers, but only if they actually follow you, but most of my posts get very little interaction. I have made some good friends through interactions on these platforms but also had some dodgy encounters as well.

It is nice to make friends though, but imagine if all my followers wanted to speak to me at the same time, I definitely could not cope, but I do not think it will happen, I do delete lots of requests.

The Biggest Thrill I Get. (From Followers)

My heart leaps when a real friend follows me because it shows that they think I am worth following, and their follow is an endorsement of my personality and creativity. This usually comes with communications on the channel that they start following me on and in the channel that they follow me from.

Because I seldom ask for people to follow me, it means that, in my opinion, they are following me because they want to follow me, and want to know what I am doing on that channel. Vocal it’s my stories, Instagram it’s my pictures (mainly cats), Twitter sharing links and words with people and promoting things *I do reference Vocal a lot and the odd time they acknowledge my efforts), and Facebook it is everything else with links to my other social media feeds.

I love my friends following me and appreciating what I do on the various channels and when they comment it gives my spirit another rise. I hope this is the same for you.

Conclusion

I’ve taken a lot of words to say I love my friends following me. I also think that Vocal friends should be Facebook friends as that brings people a little closer. I love it when a Vocal friend wants to be a Facebook friend or even meet up in real life.

WorkplaceSecretsFriendshipBad habits
6

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • George Malkowskiabout a year ago

    Great article!

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Great article! Having followers is fun! Although, social media can be very exhausting to keep up with for me. I have an instagram and tiktok that I’ve taken a break from because I feel I can only focus on one thing (well) at a time. Lately, for me, it’s been vocal and facebook. But I need to get back on my other accounts! It’s lovely to find new friends online but then I feel guilty when I can’t keep up a consistent pace with everything. Anyway… just me rambling… thank you for this wonderful article :)

  • Judey Kalchik about a year ago

    I think I’d love to go to a pub with you and then walk and snap pics of cats… maybe see some sites in the country, too. And thank you for the lovely article

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    I hate followers. Just kidding. Good article.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.