Confessions logo

The Night I Stole a Hot Pocket

An embarrassing true confession

By Lynn Anderson Published about a year ago 3 min read
Top Story - May 2023
76
"What are you gonna pick? Hot Pockets!"

At 30 years old and gainfully employed, I was an unlikely food thief. But there I was, sitting outside on a warm summer night in 2007, devouring a Hot Pocket like I stole it. Because I had, in fact, stolen it.

Like all really juicy confessions, this one starts at work.

If you want to meet some really interesting folks, go get yourself a second shift proofreading job.

My supervisor was a novelist by day, manager of people by night. Another coworker was a professional crossword puzzle solver who competed all over the country. (But do proofreaders even work at offices anymore? Probably not.)

And then there was me, with my apparent penchant for frozen processed food. I was on a long-term temp assignment, having just walked away from a grueling corporate editor job. As a starry-eyed newlywed, I was happy to work second shift hours that synced with my then-husband’s wacky schedule.

The proofreading department was a skeleton crew, so we had to take staggered lunch breaks. As an introvert, I loved having 30 minutes to myself. I would often eat outside in the dark, listening to the crickets and staring up at the stars.

I don’t remember much about the night I stole the Hot Pocket from the work refrigerator. But here are the cold, hard facts.

---> I was heavily pregnant, but to blame my actions on cravings would not be accurate. I suffered from intense food aversions throughout that pregnancy. The only thing I “craved” was to give birth to that baby. But that night, someone else’s Hot Pocket sounded, well, tolerable.

---> The stolen Hot Pocket was most likely a pizza variety, because those are the only flavors I like.

---> The Hot Pocket I stole was from a large, rather anonymous case of Hot Pockets in the breakroom freezer. I do have my morals. I could never take food out of someone’s tomato-stained Tupperware or personalized lunch baggie.

Why did I sink so low? What is it about a Hot Pocket that I could not resist?

Was it the flaky crust made possible by the silver-lined cardboard sleeve? Or was it the sodium stearoyl lactylate and methylcellulose that no doubt benefited my growing fetus?

Perhaps it was the earworm advertisement jingle that I remembered from my Gen X childhood. “What are you gonna pick? Hot Pockets!” Hey, I was just a pregnant lady who wanted “a meal without a big deal.”

I had never stolen something before, and haven’t since. Honest. Scout’s honor.

How do I feel about this theft today?

Do I feel regretful? Not exactly. But do I feel… Embarrassed? Freaking stupid? Oh my gosh, yes. Talk about cruising through a weird intersection of unconventional work hours, pregnancy, and a short-lived villain arc.

Workplace food thieves are the lowest of the low. The butt of jokes. Punchlines.

Stealing food is not a good look for a grown-ass adult. That night back in 2007, I stood in front of the microwave for 90 seconds that stretched into eternity, praying no one else would walk into the break room. I rubbed my growing belly, waiting for the microwave to “ping.”

Do stolen Hot Pockets taste better? If memory serves me, yes.

I never got to make it up to my coworker.

If you’re reading this and you worked as a second shift proofreader for a financial company in 2007, I might owe you a Hot Pocket. My link is in my bio. Reach out and let me make good.

But I didn't get off easy. Karma is a relentless bitch. That baby I was pregnant with? He’s now 6ft 1in and eats Hot Pockets by the fistful.

SecretsWorkplaceEmbarrassment
76

About the Creator

Lynn Anderson

Writing under a pen name so I don't embarrass my kids or my mother. Was once kicked out of a Hallmark store for laughing too loud.

Check out some of my favorite Vocal Media creators:

Clinton A. Harris

Heather Hubler

Kayla Lindley

Leslie Writes

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (32)

Sign in to comment
  • Ricardo de Moura Pereira11 months ago

    Very good

  • Ruth Stewart11 months ago

    This is good. Amusing. Let the stolen hot pocket go now, 16 years is enough. 👍💙☺️

  • MARIE ODEMS 11 months ago

    GREAT WORK!!!

  • Mel Danielle11 months ago

    Loved this!

  • Shivani Parekh11 months ago

    It was so interesting to feel all the emotions you felt while stealing a hot pocket! Though I had to google what a hot pocket is, I could completely get the rollercoaster of emotions you went through. Keep up the great work!

  • Raymond G. Taylor12 months ago

    Write some more Lynn! We need more humour on Vocal and would love to hear about the payback - even if it's made up. Thanks again for your inspiration for my Coffee part II

  • I don't know what it is about the food not being ours that tastes so good. You're not alone, lol! I enjoyed reading this! Congratulations on your Top Story!

  • Adam Clostabout a year ago

    Hilariously touching and relatable.... I too, have stolen absurdly dumb food from work. I don't think there is ever a real "why."

  • IZE PK FILMSabout a year ago

    Nice words keep moving👏

  • Sandra Matosabout a year ago

    I giggled through this entire piece! Thank you for that. Even though I will have the Hot Pockets jingle in my head all day, I love this kind of humor. I am sharing this on my social media. I hope it gets you some reads! Congrats on the well-deserved Top Story!

  • JBazabout a year ago

    Ah Karma, be careful. Great Top Story

  • Ahamed Thousifabout a year ago

    Wonderful Story!

  • Rene Petersabout a year ago

    Very entertaining to read! Congrats on top story!

  • Loryne Andaweyabout a year ago

    "Do stolen Hot Pockets taste better? If memory serves me, yes." 🤣🤣🤣 This made me laugh my a$$ off! Take my ❤️ and subscription and go!

  • Haha, Nice Story 😉❤️💯📝👍

  • Jagan Sabout a year ago

    Superb

  • Maheshvarideen tivariabout a year ago

    Nice

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    A delightful read. The cold hard facts, haha. Good job. Congratulations on the Top Story.

  • Leslie Writesabout a year ago

    I love your voice in this piece. I get it. I might have done the same under those circumstances. 💖 Don’t lose any sleep over the hot pocket.

  • Kendall Defoe about a year ago

    Monster! ;)

  • Dana Crandellabout a year ago

    A very enjoyable read. Congratulations!

  • Suze Kayabout a year ago

    I think we can all absolve you of this sin lol. You just made me remember the only time I've stolen something: a hard candy from the self-serve grocery store bins at four years old. I felt so guilty I couldn't even eat it! Congrats on the well-deserved top story. If the victim of this crime reaches out, you can use the TS bonus to make them whole :D

  • Abby Kay Mendoncaabout a year ago

    Riveting lol. Great story!

  • Clinton A. Harrisabout a year ago

    Congrats on the top story!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.