Confessions logo

Small Moments, Big Impact

The Transformative Power of Paying Attention to Small Moments in Life

By ArivuPublished about a year ago 3 min read
1

One small moment in my life that had a big impact on me happened when I was in my early twenties. I was working as a server in a busy restaurant in a trendy part of town. One day, I had a customer who stood out to me. She was a woman in her late forties or early fifties, dressed in a stylish outfit with a sleek haircut. She was dining alone, and as I approached her table to take her order, I noticed that she was reading a book. I couldn't quite make out the title, but it was a hardcover with a striking cover design.

As I took her order and brought her food, I kept glancing over at the book. I was curious about what she was reading and wondered if it was something I might enjoy. I wanted to strike up a conversation with her about it, but I felt too shy and didn't want to bother her. As she finished her meal and paid her bill, she left the book on the table and walked out.

After she left, I went over to the table and picked up the book. It was a novel that I had never heard of before, but the cover design was so intriguing that I decided to take it home and read it. That night, I started reading the book and found that I couldn't put it down. It was beautifully written, with complex characters and a captivating plot. I finished it in just a few days and felt like it had opened up a whole new world to me.

That moment was seemingly small, but it ended up having a big impact on my life. Reading that book inspired me to read more widely and explore different genres and authors. It also gave me a newfound appreciation for the power of literature to connect us to other people and to the world around us.

Since that moment, I have become an avid reader, and I credit that encounter with the woman in the restaurant for igniting that passion in me. I have read countless books since then, each one shaping my perspective, values, and decisions in different ways. I have come to realize that paying attention to small things can reveal profound truths about ourselves and the world, and that even a chance encounter with a stranger can have a transformative impact on our lives.

That small moment also taught me the value of taking risks and stepping out of my comfort zone. If I had let my shyness and fear of bothering the woman stop me from striking up a conversation with her, I would have missed out on the opportunity to discover a new book and a new passion. Since then, I have tried to be more open and curious in my interactions with others, even if it feels uncomfortable at first.

This small moment of encountering a stranger in a restaurant, and discovering a book that piqued my curiosity, has had a profound impact on my life. It has taught me to be more open and curious, to take risks, and to embrace new experiences. It has shown me that even the smallest things can have a big impact, and that paying attention to the world around us can lead to unexpected and transformative discoveries.

__ _ __ _ __ _ __ _ __ _ __ _ __ _ __ _ __ _ __ _ __ _ __ _

Thank You For Reading...Please Subscribe, comment and Like.

WorkplaceTeenage yearsTabooSecretsSchoolHumanityFriendshipFamilyEmbarrassmentDatingChildhoodBad habits
1

About the Creator

Arivu

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.