Confessions logo

Second wife

Longing for the truth that remains elusive.

By Rose Wanjiku KimaniPublished 12 months ago 3 min read

As I walked through the bustling factory, my heart skipped a beat every time I caught a glimpse of Kalu, the charming mechanic. His glances made me blush and filled me with a mixture of shyness and excitement. For weeks, I had noticed him as I made my way to the administration block, and a chance encounter had sparked a connection between us.

One day, Kalu approached me with a humble request. He needed assistance making copies of his identification card, and I eagerly obliged. It was a small gesture, but it made me feel special to be able to help him. As he was leaving, he surprised me by slipping his phone number into my hand, expressing his desire to have mine in return. The moment felt surreal, as if a dream I had been waiting for was finally coming true.

That evening, as I left the administration block, there he was, waiting for me at the exit. Kalu walked me home, his presence filling the air with laughter and a hint of confusion. This routine continued for two weeks, and during one of our walks, he confessed that he had something important to tell me. My heart raced with anticipation as he revealed his intention to marry me. It was a pleasant surprise, and I couldn't help but wonder about his past love life.

Intrigued, I encouraged him to share his story. Kalu spoke of his plans to marry someone else for over two years, but his supposed fiancée always postponed their wedding whenever it drew near. Their relationship faced the obstacle of living in different towns, as she refused to relocate. Now that it was all over, he wanted to commit to me. His heartfelt narrative touched my soul, and I fell deeply in love with him.

We decided to take the next step and moved in together. Three months later, I discovered that I was pregnant. To my delight, Kalu embraced the news, and we continued our journey with joy and anticipation. However, one fateful night, a call shattered our tranquility. It was Kalu's mother on the line, informing him that Eunice, his supposed bride, had returned to his home, heavily pregnant and in labor. He rushed to her side, leaving me bewildered and full of worry.

Morning came, and I received the news that Eunice had given birth to a baby boy. I couldn't help but feel a sense of confusion and doubt. Seeking clarification, I confronted Kalu, desperate for answers and reassurance. He brushed off my concerns, assuring me that he was committed only to me and had nothing to do with Eunice's return. Relieved yet still cautious, I tried my best to believe him, hoping that his words were true.

However, it became evident that Eunice was not going away. She stayed at Kalu's mother's place and was even given accommodation in the small house he had built in the village. It was a shocking turn of events, and it seemed that my supposed husband was innocent in all this—a victim of Eunice's manipulations. Two years passed, and history repeated itself. Another call arrived, and once again, Eunice was in labor.

In that moment, it dawned on me that we were living in a polygamous marriage—a reality I never anticipated. It was a situation I found myself trapped in, devoid of any say or choice. I had decided to build a family, and now I had to navigate the complexities of being a second wife against my will. I tried to make peace with my circumstances, but the lingering questions and the feeling of being used haunted me.

Twenty years have passed since that initial encounter in the factory, and yet, I still find myself grappling with the enigma that is the man I call my husband. Our lives intertwined in unexpected ways, leaving me torn between love and resentment, longing for the truth that remains elusive, and questioning the choices that led me down this path of uncertainty and sacrifice.

WorkplaceSecretsFriendshipFamilyEmbarrassmentDating

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    RWKWritten by Rose Wanjiku Kimani

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.