Confessions logo

Runaway Bull

My uncles desire to kill his bull

By Lawrence Edward HincheePublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

My uncle Ray sent me out to feed his feisty bull Hoss. I arrived at Hoss's pasture and he was missing again. It took us three hours to find hind him, he was six miles up the road visiting the Johnsons. The Johnsons had grown rather fond of Hoss and it seemed the feeling was mutual. Uncle Ray decided that it was time to kill the old bull. The next morning we all got up and attached the trailer to the truck, then lowered the ramp for Hoss to walk into the trailer. My Uncle had everyone pulling Hoss into the trailer except his nephew who was larger than all of us and he was pushing from behind. I thought I had the easy job which was to pull by the horn, I didn't I was pulling Hoss and he gave his big head a shake, and I was flung about two hundred yards from the trailer , landing on my arm and shoulder causing me to start crying.

As we were set to leave the Johnson's called to see if Uncle Ray wouldn't sell Hoss to them. My Uncle Ray said I appreciate the offer but Hoss will fill my freezer for the winter. My uncle Ray dropped Hoss off at the local butcher shop and they discussed the cost and the butcher said you can get your meat in three days. Uncle Ray said come on nephew let's get old Doc Johnson to check you out. Doc Johnson looked at my arm and shoulder and said I had a broken arm and collar bone. He said tell yer cousins not to be so ruf with ya. He gave Uncle Ray my medication and they agreed on the liver from Hoss and a hen as payment for services. My Uncle Ray told me to go lay down when we arrived back at the house, his wife was a little upset that he took an eleven year old with him. She came over and covered me with a warm blanket, took off my shoes, then socks and, and gave me my medication. she fussed over me for the day and kept moving me over onto my left side every time I ended up on my right side.

That night I had a nightmare about losing Hoss and then I realized how much he meant to me and couldn't understand why Hoss had to die any way. I would have to ask my aunt the next day if there were a bull heaven and if so, did she think Hoss went there? The next morning I asked my aunt my childish question and she said it wasn't childish. She explained Hoss was getting very old and he was starting to take to the streets more. That made it unsafe for the bull and it was time to kill the bull. She said there was a bull heaven and Hoss was up there munching grass waiting on me to join him now.

A week later my aunt and uncle received a new bull in exchange for a new calf. His name was Freddie and I started petting him, He pushed me down a little hard and my aunt called me back into the house because that push down was just a little too rough. She made me lay down and take more of my medication. I asked my aunt if Freddie will like me like Hoss did and she said of course he will sweetie. I was relieved with that information. I asked why did they kill Hoss, she said that on the farm everything has a lifetime. She said Hoss was at the end of his so they took him to slaughter so they could have a full freezer of beef so they can survive the winter, just as well with vegetables.

At this point I learned that all the animals weren't pets they were commodities. I also learned that we killed the animals so we could eat and the vegetables weren't canned, but instead picked from the garden. My aunt would have me out picking berries from the garden, corn, tomatoes, beans, etc Given my broken arm and collar bone and the fact I was the youngest I had the least to do. My favorite job was trying to steal the eggs from the chickens. That was fun and the best. My aunt taught me the many ways to kill a chicken it still didn't stop me from vomiting every where and her laughing.

I couldn't wait for summer to visit my aunts and uncles house again. I had many adventures there, but nothing like the first bull of Hoss and his replacement Freddie. My aunt was right Freddie and I became good friends, he would even let me ride him. Freddie did a lot with me. He loved apples so I snuck him as many as I could from the tree. He would hold me steady on his back while I stole the apples for him. I cried when they told me they were going to take Freddie to the market and I asked that be excused from that exercise. We were two peas in a pod. I kissed him good by.

After the last summers visit that was the last summer for me. My parents split up and it was decided it was best that us kids not see either of the relatives on the farm, which I hated. I was looking forward to meeting their new bull Henry, but I never would. I would receive a picture of him and that was it. I never got to see a bull on my family's farm again. Most of my family moved to the family farm in WV, which I plan to retire to in the near future. I have always loved the big bulls, because they were so powerful and unpredictable. I always loved the rodeo and Lane Frost was my favorite rider. George Strait is my favorite singer of cowboy and rodeo songs.

When in the military, the cowboys put on a professional rodeo for us, I was fascinated by the big bulls. I was impressed with their mighty size up close. I was also glad to see a professional rodeo because I had never seen one before. But I thought back to my favorite bull of Freddie and Hoss when I was growing up and just smiled.

Family
Like

About the Creator

Lawrence Edward Hinchee

I am a new author. I wrote my memoir Silent Cries and it is available on Amazon.com. I am new to writing and most of my writing has been for academia. I possess an MBA from Regis University in Denver, CO. I reside in Roanoke, VA.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.