Confessions logo

Reflecting and Healing

Sometimes looking back on where I started in this journey to where I am now, I am seeing things in a way I never have before.

By Kimmiekins4Published 3 months ago 4 min read
2
Reflecting and Healing
Photo by Content Pixie on Unsplash

As I am writing this (kind of late as usual...but hey it's just about to be 11pm so I am making progress LOL) I am 9 days without alcohol. When I say I am feeling all the feels, I am feeling EVERYTHING. A YouTuber that I follow is actually quitting alcohol as well. She made a Instagram post today and a quote she used was "you have to feel to heal." I really love that, because it's so true. No matter if you drink, or do anything else a lot of times we are trying to numb our feelings because it's easier than feeling them. Today I was doing a lot of reflecting on when I started this journey truly for the first time 5 years ago. I began to realize so many things and why I was so unsuccessful staying sober.

I posted the video above to my Youtube Channel 7/9/2018, at that point I was celebrating 30 days sober. I honestly haven't watched this video in a few years, but even looking at even the thumbnail I want to go back and give younger me a hug. At this time in my life my drinking was extremely heavy and causing me a lot of anxiety. I was trying to stay afloat by getting back to the gym and things when I could, but nothing was working. I didn't want to admit to myself that I truly had a problem. That is the one thing I have done differently this time is i have admitted to myself that I do. At this time my whole life was turning upside down. I was having to move out of this apartment I shared with my friend, I was moving back up to my moms which I felt at the time was the end of the world, and I was leaving all of my friends. I managed to stay sober the two weeks that i was up at my moms but I ended up coming back to Sacramento because I found a place to stay. The day I got back here I went to my friends birthday party and of course alcohol was there. She asked if I would be okay, and I said yeah. I did end up drinking that night, and the cycle started over again.

I am realizing now, and wish I would have sooner that this early part of my success will hinder on the company I keep especially in the beginning of my journey. As well as me holding myself accountable. Where I am living now a few people drink, and one of those people is my dad. Me and him are like best friends but one of our biggest past times as I have gotten older is drinking together. He has cut back on his drinking so it's also helped me to not drink. I am actually thinking about going back up to my mom's soon and staying with her. This time around I don't see it as my world ending, I see it as me being able to heal my relationship with her. I look back now and see that all the times I have moved up with her were in my best interest but I kept running back to Sacramento because I was convinced it was better here. But over the last several years I was holding on to the past not realizing it hasn't been as great as I thought. I had been staying because of comfort which was only holding me back.

By Quino Al on Unsplash

In the end what I see now is that in doing this for myself I have to set myself up for success. The harsh reality of that for me is having to step back from some people for a while until I truly heal and get myself right. Over the last almost six years I have cut out people that no longer fit in my life, friends and family alike. I tend to stay in relationships for way to long even when they are no longer serving me. As hard as it has been to let some of these people go I really do realize how some of those were really weighing me down. I want to normalize in a journey of sobriety, or even just a journey of self love, that sometimes you have to start over. That healing can be lonely sometimes, and it can be hard to look at the previous versions of yourself. I am trying to be kinder to myself and give love to the younger versions of me. Realizing I was doing the best I could with what I knew at the time.

Self love is something I have never given myself most of my life, but hardly at all while trying to get sober. I thought just quitting drinking would change all of my problems, but deciding to quit is just the beginning. There is no quick fix, and the only way out is through. This entry is all over the place I know, if you made it this far thank you! I will talk with you all tomorrow :)

Teenage yearsFriendshipEmbarrassmentChildhoodBad habits
2

About the Creator

Kimmiekins4

I am a very creative person. I love reading, writing, listening to music, watching movies and shows. Writing has always been a way for me to express my feelings and thoughts. I'm excited to write some of my stories here on Vocal.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • sleepy drafts3 months ago

    Heck yeah!! Look at you go. ❤️ This was so encouraging to read. You have so much to be proud of. ❤️

  • Rachel Deeming3 months ago

    See? 9 days now and still doing it. And you're looking at how it can continue in the future. That's good. Steps to success. Be proud of yourself coming this far. Double figures tomorrow.

  • Anxiety and alcohol are twins. You wrote a good story .

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.