Confessions logo

Random Facts About Me

Get to Know Me Challenge Response

By Lana V LynxPublished 8 months ago Updated 8 months ago 5 min read
11
A picture I took of my favorite Issyk-Kul lake in Kyrgyzstan

As Kayleigh Fraser's challenge is getting traction, I decided to respond to it as it looked like people have fun with both writing them up and reading them. For more on the challenge, click the story below.

So, here are 10 random facts about me:

1. I love to travel. I have lived half of my life in the former Soviet Union and traveled around it for youth volleyball competitions and school cultural exchanges. My first travel to another USSR republic was a trip to Kyiv (Ukraine) when I was 12, my first air flight ever was to Moscow when I was 16. At 24, I got a full scholarship to study in a Master's program in political science in Europe, at 25 - in the USA for journalism and public relations. As an academic, I had opportunities to travel for conferences and research projects, and I also travel for leisure with my son. So far, I have visited 26 countries of the world and 67 cities, many of them multiple times. I published travel notes here on my trips to Peru, Brazil and back home to Kyrgyzstan this summer.

2. (related) When I was growing up, I dreamed of becoming an internationally-renowned archeologist. It would have been a nice way for me combine my passion for history and exploration of the world, and nearly the only way to travel outside of the Soviet Union. When I was 15, I "substituted" my high school history teacher who got suddenly sick for about two weeks. That's how I learned I'd love teaching.

3. I'm a life-long learner. I love learning about new things, events and people, and expanding my students' horizons. The passion for learning is what keeps me in higher education since 1997, both as a student (I've earned my PhD in 2008, so I am certifiably smart) and a teacher. And staying in it.

4. Russian is my native language, but because I use English so much I am equally fluent in both. If people ask me which language I "think in" I have learned to say "none" and explain that we really think in no language (read my essay here "On Thinking and Communicating" if you want to understand my logic). Yet, I will never get rid of my Russian accent in speech because I learned English as an adult. I also speak very basic French and Spanish and am actively building my Ukrainian now.

5. I learned to knit when I was nine and it became my life hobby. I like knitting for other people. When I die, I want them to post pictures of themselves wearing the stuff I knitted for them over the years, on my Facebook page. That would be some visually illustrated legacy. I love discovering natural yarns and always buy yarn in places I visit all over the world. There's a couple of pieces on knitting I published here.

6. Picking berries and fruit is another one of my favorite activities. My grandmother had a small farm with strawberries and raspberries, and she trusted me to pick more than I'd eat (big mistake, grandma!) I am a regular customer at several u-pick fruit farms in Georgia, Pennsylvania, and Ohio. I make jams from the berries I pick and give them out to friends and people I like in the winter. My absolute favorite berry is raspberry, second - elderberry (don't love de-stemming it, though).

7. I have no fear of heights. I used to climb mountains when I was young, and liked standing on the edge of a cliff or top of the mountain and think what would happen if I jump. My son nearly freaked out when I got too close to the edge of the Inis Island's cliff in Ireland. I also have no fear of insects, spiders, and snakes, except for the ones I know for a fact are poisonous.

8. I love seeing movies in movie theaters. Not necessarily immediately when they come out, but definitely before they go to streaming platforms. This is something I shared with my son to such an extent that he decided to become a filmmaker. He collects stubs of all movies he ever saw, and one of the full albums is the movies we watched together. He started a new one for himself and his friends when he moved away from me for college. Movie-going is unforgettable shared experience and I love talking about it and sharing my reviews of movies and TV shows here. "Don't Look Up!" review is my third most read story on Vocal.

9. I cannot swim. Even though I love being in and on the water (went rafting, kayaking, boating and all other water-based fun activities, always wearing a life vest). I will drown if I don't feel the bottom of the body of water under my feet, mostly from panic. This inability bothered me all my life and I made sure my son learned how to swim when he was 3. He is a great swimmer now who can swim in any style. I love watching him swim, it's my vicarious pleasure and motherly duty fulfilled.

10. I write under a pen-name here because one of the things I publish on Vocal is my long-running series of satirical conversations between Trump and Putin ("Calling Moscow" and "Moscow's Calling") that I made into a book and that earned me some death threats earlier in the days. I am extremely politically active and do not hold out on expressing my views if people are genuinely interested and are not asking for a verbal fight.

It took me about an hour to write this up (I write quickly, but I edit my stuff heavily, too) and I hope you learned something that will give you a better idea of who I am. I hope you answer this challenge as well.

ChildhoodTeenage yearsSecretsHumanityFriendship
11

About the Creator

Lana V Lynx

Avid reader and occasional writer of satire and short fiction. For my own sanity and security, I write under a pen name. My books: Moscow Calling - 2017 and President & Psychiatrist

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Stephanie J. Bradberry5 months ago

    I definitely have some connections with you on numbers 1, 2, 3, 5, 6, 8 and 9. It was great getting to know you!

  • Mariann Carroll7 months ago

    I enjoy getting to know you more. Thanks 😊 I cannot wait to read some more of your stories. Growing up, I was fluent in three languages. I think in the language I used the most . So it depends where I am at and what language is frequently used .

  • Caroline Jane8 months ago

    Wow! Hats off to you! What an interesting, educated, fascinating, forthright, and liberated life. Goodness me. I am in awe!

  • Whoaaaa, you are not afraid of heights! I cannot even go up a ladder because I'm so afraid! I didn't know you're using a pseudonym. I'm so sorry about the death threats 🥺

  • Scott Christenson8 months ago

    Nice story. #1 you have amazing international experience, look forward to your stories. #7 I'm the opposite for all those phobias lol Picking berries sounds very relaxing! Where i live I'd have to pick bananas or papayas I think.

  • These were some interesting facts 😊😊😊 I'm a poor swimmer. I always feel I should get better because 2/3 of the planet is covered in water 😳😳😳

  • A really interesting read and insight into your life! 🙏❤️✨🕊️

  • Rob Angeli8 months ago

    Great to get to know you better! Your dream of being an archaeologist certainly shines through in your writing, sorry you can't swim because it is lots of fun, but I guess it's not really necessary. We're not aquatic animals in any case! Nice work. Pleased to meet your pen name! :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.