Confessions logo

My Story ( part 1)

This is as good a place to start as any...

By Sarah TagertPublished 2 months ago 3 min read
Like
My Story ( part 1)
Photo by Mark Olsen on Unsplash

This seems as good as any place to start in the way of a first post here. It serves as not only an introduction but will help readers to understand how I became the writer I am today.

From the very beginning of my life, the odds were stacked against me. I was never expected to walk or talk due to spina bifida. At the time I was born, not much was known about the condition. Outcomes could vary widely patient to patient, and doctors were afraid to give parents too much hope, preferring to ere on the side of caution. I guess it was a good thing I never heard or understood the grim prognosis for my potential, because I never let it define my life or what I would attempt and the difficulties I would overcome.

I did, in fact, walk and talk. Both happened right on target for developmental milestones. Anybody who knows me or has ever met me will tell you I can definitely talk, I can do it really well. It's probably my strongest skill. One of my doctors captured it very well when he said he believed I could talk to an empty chair. One factor which I believe has driven my love of words and communication is reading. I've been a varactious reader from a very early age. I have always devoured any book I could get my hands on. When I was a child, I read many of the classics such as Little women and Black Beauty. Later I started reading The Hardy Boys mysteries and I was hooked! I read every Hardy Boys in the local library, so many times I lost count and the librarians probably did too! The library was my happy place as a child. I could spend am afternoon there and quickly lost track of time. Some of my fondest childhood memories are trips to the library to pick out books to take home.

I didn’t start writing until I was in my late teens, inspired by my grandmother’s sister, who moved to be closer to family and lived next door. She wrote poetry mostly but some short stories and kept an active journal. I think she sensed I had the gift and tried to nurture it in me. At the time, I had other things on my mind and although I enjoyed reading, I didn’t give much thought to trying my hand at writing, One of the biggest regrets of my life will always be the fact I never attempted writing until after her death. As a blossoming writer, she was one of my greatest influences and remains so to this day.

My teen years were a very traumatic period in my life, due to several events which would shape the person I would eventually become today. and influence many of the major decisions in my life. It would be easy to say these events only had a negative impact on my life, and at the moment, it’s very true but the long-term effect lead me to where I am today and helped make me who I am.

When I was 15, my world and that of my whole community would be rocked to its core once again. On a seemingly normal Sunday afternoon, the peaceful church atmosphere would be forever corrupted when one of my friends was murdered in cold blood by her jealous, controlling ex-boyfriend. Following the murder, he fled the scene and was later captured. At the time, the church was my sanctuary, one of the very few places I considered "safe". After this day, I would never feel safe anywhere again.

Stay Tuned For Part 2

That’s all for now, I’m just here trying to change the world one story at a time!

Thanks for reading to the end.

© Sarah Tagert 2024

ChildhoodHumanityFriendshipFamily
Like

About the Creator

Sarah Tagert

Changing the world one story at a time! I post articles three days a week on Medium and occasional poetry during weekend. Writing has always been in my blood. I have been writing since I was a teenager. I write what moves and inspires me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.