Confessions logo

My Freaky Foray as an Online Psychic: Part 1

Resisting then Assisting in Spirit’s Calling

By Colleen FlanaganPublished 10 months ago Updated 8 months ago 4 min read
1

While craving drastic career changes in 2012, I ventured into the most bizarre occupation of my life: to work as an online psychic at home.

Yes, I have psychic abilities. Everyone does, to some degree. I’ve been aware of this since age 3. (I also see dead people, but that's another story for another day.)

The Great Repression

My Aunt Greta owned and operated The Gypsy Tea Room over sixty years ago in the Midwestern American city where I was born and raised. Greta served hot tea and buttery pastries to customers, then performed “Tasseography”, meaning she interpreted the tea leaves’ formations in their cups for intuitive insight.

As a little girl, seeing my auntie read tea leaves and watching her clients’ expressions of awe inspired my desire to learn how to do readings, too.

Unfortunately, the religion I was raised in considered psychic skills to be sacrilegious, sinful, and unnatural. My mother often shushed my intuitive outbursts, for fear of us being labeled as weirdos or even worse, sinners.

The neighborhood in which we lived only accepted paranormal talk or activities during one season: Halloween. I quickly learned that most people thought all intuitive skills were scary or bizarre or outright lies. Hearing voices was supposed to be a sign of insanity, not a gift called clairaudience.

After learning about the Salem Witch Trials in middle school, I decided to never speak to anyone about my predictive dreams, visions, seeing spirits and angels, or hunches that became reality.

Decades later, several relatives on both sides of my family admitted to being highly intuitive. They hid their gifts for the same reasons I did: fear of attack and ridicule.

Donning the Shackles of Corporate America

After graduating and receiving my diploma, I became a major computer nerd. Over the years, my work history ran the gamut from computer network engineer to software trainer to international software project manager.

These jobs paid my mortgage and bills, but I yearned for more mysticism in my life and work. In my spare time I studied every book I could find on metaphysics and psychic development, trying to pry open my repressed intuition. I discovered dowsing, a divination tool that connects to the sixth sense and reveals hidden truth.

I knew I had the gift of second sight as I’d have vivid dreams about work-related scenarios or conference room meetings with people I didn’t know or work with. One or two years later, I’d experience events on a new job with those exact situations and people.

I felt like déjà vu smacked me upside my head and reminded me that I had intuitive gifts waiting to be unleashed.

From Software to Soothsaying

After 30 years of IT work, I confidently pursued my soul’s calling: intuitive well being for people and pets. I did wellness consulting at local spiritual shops, teaching acupressure classes, doing thousands of readings at psychic fairs, metaphysical expos, and an online international New Age forum.

My desire to work exclusively at home led me to becoming a contractor doing remote intuitive energy healings, past life regressions and dream analysis via a spiritually-oriented online psychic service. As part of the contract, I also agreed to give intuitive readings via phone lines, chat room, email, and text messages.

Nothing could have prepared me for what I experienced.

From frantic hyper-emotional clients to weepy abandoned lovers to ladies in love with celebrities, I’d never talked with such a variety of people living in uncertainty, emotional pain, fear and loathing.

Soon I felt woefully unprepared despite my years of experience with private clients. Each call was a challenge to my ability to think on my feet and keep the information flowing from Spirit through me and to the caller.

I never thought that people would pay to be unkind and cruel to me, a stranger who only wanted to help them, just because they're anonymous except for a first name. Later a customer service gal confessed they’d been told to send the difficult customers to me. I had a reputation on the lines as being able to handle “tough cases” with finesse. Yikes!

After several particularly traumatic experiences, I was afraid to log into the platform and pick up calls.

But that's how this gig went, along with other bizarre experiences like educating psychic addicts, freeing obsessed lovers, doing curse removals and long-distance exorcisms.

I’ll share these stories later in this series about my freaky foray as a psychic reader. Many people are curious about this career field, as I was. I'm eager to provide the inside scoop and some of the poop on what these brave intuitive souls endure on the psychic sites each day.

Read my Online Psychic story 2 of 8: https://vocal.media/confessions/my-freaky-foray-as-a-phone-psychic-part-2

If YOU are thinking about becoming a psychic reader (despite my revelations), check out this workbook I wrote with everything I know on the topic: Online Psychic Success Secrets

Thank you and bless you for reading my story.

HumanityWorkplaceTabooSecretsChildhood
1

About the Creator

Colleen Flanagan

Bohemian confessions & healing how-to stories are my gig. Let me entertain you with weirdness & guide you to wellness. Self-care videos on YouTube & Twitter & EmoRescue.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Tiffany Gordon 9 months ago

    I enjoyed learning more about your story!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.