Confessions logo

my dead flower, mid

a scene written by DS

By daniPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
my dead flower, mid
Photo by Artemis Faul on Unsplash

my dead flower, mid

a scene written by ds

setting///

it was silent. bent over by her bath tub , showed an indecisive Vera staring at her phone, a text from Brent, an old lover, about a conversation they had earlier.

she gets up, and pushes her hair back with her hand, and smiles in the hotel mirror. with a cool stare, she fixes herself up as she listens to the music that moves her.

transition///

Vera is sitting alone on the hotel bed, staring at a bottle of brandy. Suddenly, there’s a casual knock on the door, she looks through the tiny glass hole on the door to see Brent. A tiny smile shines across her face, and she smoothens herself out, and opens the door.

“Hey” -V

“Hey.” -B

“Come on in” says Vera, as she makes space for Brent to enter. She points him to the chair where he goes to sit down.

“No outside clothes on the bed” says Vera, jokingly.

Brent laughs, silently.

“So how’ve you been? You adjusting okay?” -B

“Yea. It’s been a weird couple of months.” -V

Vera goes silent for a while, paces around the room, takes a deep breath, and sits down at the edge of the bed and puts her hands in her lap.

“I didn’t like how we ended things, I wanted to give you your space because I know how you are, Brent.” -V

“You know you could’ve talked to me.” -B

“No, I couldn’t” says an agitated Vera.

“This is hard for me” she continued.

“It doesn’t have to be” -B

Brent takes Vera’s hand. Their eyes meet for a second, but Vera looks away, awkwardly. Vera pulls away from him and sits up on the bed.

“I’ve tried not to think about you, but the more I tried, the more I thought about you. Weird right? There were times when I would smell something and it would remind me of you. Everything I did, I found something about you in them. I used to fight myself just to stop myself from texting you. I wondered if you thought about me, but it was best I just leave you alone. Not for you, but for me.” -V

Brent sighed deeply, clasped his hands together, and then rubbed his hands through his hair. The room grew quiet.

“I loved you before I even knew i did, I couldn’t stop myself.” Said Vera. “I don’t know if I could put myself through something like that again. Not if you don’t feel the same. I saw myself in you. I catch myself sometimes, but I know better” Vera sighed, and looked at Brent in his eyes, then looked down again.

“I think about you sometimes too” said Brent. “But I don’t know” he continued. “I don’t know what to do sometimes. I like you, but I think it’s just better for me, for us, to stay the way we are. I’m not good at this, and you don’t deserve this. I’m broken, I’m still trying to figure out me, you know? I can’t be what you want, I’m sorry. I am.” Brent sighed and got up to walk towards the door.

“Wait” said Vera as she rushed to stop him from leaving. “I don’t care.”

“What?” -B

“Just... stay, please” Vera said quietly, with her head down.

“Okay” -B

Vera stayed in place with her head looking at the ground, as she rocked her body back and forth. Brent walked over to her and put his arms around her. With her head buried in his chest, she whispered “I love you.”

“I... I love you too Vera” said Brent. He raises her head up, and he hugs her tightly.

*End scene*

Bad habitsDatingEmbarrassmentFriendshipTeenage years
Like

About the Creator

dani

anchor to a plastic bag… existing

sirpenteen.com

twitter.com/sirpenteen

instagram.com/sirpenteen

soundcloud.com/sirpenteen

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.