Confessions logo

Lessons from my 2nd Youtube video

I walked across the Salt Lake Valley

By Mahonry FrancoPublished 10 months ago 3 min read
Like
Lessons from my 2nd Youtube video
Photo by Todd Diemer on Unsplash

Lesson 1: Perfectionism is insecurity in disguise.

When making this video I learned that perfectionism is insecurity in disguise because I didn't know how to edit whatsoever; so I simply went outside and started to film the thing I was doing at that time and tried to make it into a story. And when I was tweaking the music, cutting the scenes, and placing graphics for a comedic effect I got lost trying to "make it perfect." As if I feared to have my imperfect work seen by others. And this caused me to spend a crazy amount of time editing when it shouldn't have taken me that long. I was covering my insecurities. So I ended up learning more than editing videos, which was the main reason why I made this, I learned to not be afraid of imperfection.

Let me know what you think :)

Lesson 2: Don't think. Just Do.

Okay, like I said earlier, I simply went outside and started to film whatever I was doing at the moment. I had my 2021 Motorola as the main camera (which was trash but what could I do, it's all I had) and a childlike wonder when it came to choosing what to film. Every step of the way I filmed something never knowing what was going to make the actual video but I stuck to it and chose to review the footage later. And man, I am glad I did, because I actually captured a lightning strike which turned out to be important for the story and turned out to become a memorable moment I'll now have for a lifetime.

Now throughout the story, you see me walk an entire marathon while adjusting to the plans accordingly because my plans changed so much. I went from wanting to see a friend, to dancing, to hitching a ride off of some other friends and committing to spend an all-nighter; all because I wanted to see what kind of story would unfold if I just filmed. And after everything that occurred, I can tell you right now that this video would not exist if I thought to plan. I just did it and got rewarded with the story.

Lesson 3: Beginners suck and behind the scenes, they cringe.

I was walking to a barbeque hosted by my church leaders at a park near downtown Salt Lake on a Monday evening when the unthinkable happened.

"What's up youtube star!" yelled a random person. I looked around, and people were playing softball while others were eating hot dogs. To my left, about 15 yards away someone I briefly met at a party a month back yelled to greet me. "youtube star?" I thought, "Ha! I literally have 23 subscribers what is this guy talking about?" By the time my mind stopped talking this person was already an arm's length away. And he proceeded to say, "I saw your video on my feed today. I haven't seen it yet, but you were there." I was shocked. "That's awesome... umm, thanks for subscribing, what was your name again?" He reminded me we met at a party and from then on we became friends and I never forgot his name again.

I share this moment because it was totally unexpected and in an instant, I felt a surge of cringeyness just knowing that he was about to watch a video that I didn't believe was good. I knew I sucked. I had just started. So I somewhat felt like he was going to be disappointed after watching it when he had just called me "youtube star" seconds earlier. But that's the lesson, isn't it? Every beginner sucks when they start and experiences the cringe feeling because they are simply not used to doing the new thing they're doing. But the important thing is that they started. Beginners begin...

HumanityEmbarrassment
Like

About the Creator

Mahonry Franco

Experience, learn, share, repeat. To me, Vocal is a journal to do exactly that.

Youtube Channel: Mahonry Franco

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.