Confessions logo

Finding My Voice: A Singer's Journey to Overcome Self-Doubt and Connect with Others through Music

How One Singer Discovered the Healing Power of Music and Used It to Build Confidence and Forge Meaningful Connections with Audiences.

By Abhishek VijayanPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Finding My Voice: A Singer's Journey to Overcome Self-Doubt and Connect with Others through Music
Photo by Bogomil Mihaylov on Unsplash

As a singer, I've always known that music has the power to heal. There's something about the vibrations of sound that can touch us deep within our souls, bringing us comfort and joy when we need it most. But what I never expected was just how much music would help me heal my own wounds.

It started when I was a teenager. I had always loved to sing, but I had never taken it seriously until a friend convinced me to try out for the school choir. To my surprise, I made it in, and soon found myself performing in front of crowds of people.

At first, it was exhilarating. I loved the rush of adrenaline that came with being on stage, the feeling of the music coursing through my veins. But as time went on, I started to feel something else - a sense of dread that would wash over me every time I stepped up to the microphone.

It wasn't stage fright, exactly. It was something deeper, more insidious. It was the feeling that I wasn't good enough, that I didn't deserve to be up there on stage. I was convinced that everyone was judging me, that they could see right through me and knew that I was a fraud.

I tried to ignore these feelings at first, telling myself that they were just a natural part of performing. But as time went on, they only got worse. I started to dread rehearsals, avoiding eye contact with my choir mates and retreating into myself. I stopped enjoying the music, stopped feeling the joy that had once filled me up.

It wasn't until I went away to college that things started to change. I had decided to major in music, and I was excited about the opportunities that lay ahead. But as soon as I started my classes, I felt that same old sense of dread creeping up on me.

It was in one of my music theory classes that I had a breakthrough. We were studying a piece by Bach, and our professor was talking about the way that the music was structured, how the notes flowed together to create something greater than the sum of its parts.

As she spoke, I felt something click inside of me. Suddenly, I understood that music was more than just a collection of sounds. It was a language, a way of expressing things that couldn't be put into words. And just like any language, it took practice and dedication to become fluent.

I started to approach my singing in a new way. Instead of just trying to hit the right notes, I focused on the emotions behind the music. I listened to recordings of the greats, trying to understand how they conveyed feeling through their voices. I started to pay attention to the lyrics of the songs I was singing, trying to find connections to my own experiences.

It was slow going at first, but I started to see results. I found that I was able to connect with the music in a new way, that I was able to tap into something deeper than just the notes on the page. And as I did, I started to feel something else - a sense of confidence and joy that I hadn't felt in years.

But even as I started to find my footing as a singer, there was still something holding me back. I had always been a shy person, and I found it hard to connect with people outside of the music world. I felt like an outsider, like I didn't belong.

It wasn't until I started performing in a local coffee shop that things started to change. I had been hesitant at first, worried that no one would show up or that I would embarrass myself. But as I sang my first song, I felt something shift inside of me.

It wasn't just the music, although that was certainly a part of it. It was the connection that I felt with the people.

check it out for more stories :

https://a4f5bz2m-isdfk8kmiuax5w9fv.hop.clickbank.net

ChildhoodWorkplaceFriendshipFamilyEmbarrassmentBad habits

About the Creator

Abhishek Vijayan

hey , I am a freelancing editor and writer.

In this account I will post videos and posts which have me intrested and invested in them.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    AVWritten by Abhishek Vijayan

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.