Confessions logo

Drama of the Day

Today was... Yikes...

By Rene PetersPublished 10 months ago 3 min read
Drama of the Day
Photo by Eliott Reyna on Unsplash

Today was an interesting day with a decent amount of mental drama...

Backstory: In high school, I was in a small group of music nerd kids. There were four of us and three of us were really close, hanging out outside of school. Meghan, Alana, Julia, and me. Meghan, Julia, and I were inseparable for three years. Now, Meghan and Alana are not around Julia and me. They stopped talking to us after high school.

After a couple of years of not being in school anymore, I thought Julia hated me since we hadn't talked at all in so long. I found out that she no longer talked to me due to her Facebook being hacked and we didn't have each other's numbers anymore.

Onto the present day (starting yesterday): Julia's brother messaged me on Facebook since he was making a new account due to drama from an ex-girlfriend and not wanting to go through all his pictures of her on his account. We talked for hours last night and decided we would hang out today. He picked me up and after a bit, decided to call Julia and see where she was. His dad texted asking if he was going over today, which led to him asking about meeting up with her. He asked all his children who have moved out about going over so it made sense to meet up, especially since they are pretty close. They always have been.

For a while, I ended up with my high school friend. She wanted her nails done and I tagged along. We then went to her dad's house, where everyone had met up already.

This is where the mental drama starts... I kept finding myself looking at Julia's brother. Not just as a friend but wanting to tell him I wanted to kiss him. Well, who was going to drive me home? Him. I almost told him on the way back to my house but I couldn't bring myself to. He told me before I got out of the truck, "I'll message you as soon as I get home." He stuck to his word. Well, like word vomit, I told him through text about wanting to kiss him. I asked how he would have responded. He told me he didn't know and that he would have been shocked.

Apparently, because of his dad (a lot of disgusting drama there), he didn't realize that I looked at him more than I should have. It definitely didn't help that his baby mama (who he hates now because of the stuff she has done) was there too. Luckily, I don't think she noticed that I kept glancing over at him.

* * *

I'm a bit worried about what the future holds. I can be impulsive and he did say, "Next time, we'll go to the mall or something," which was his original plan until his dad texted him. It was originally going to be just us but in a public area.

Additional details: I did tell him, after saying what I nearly asked before getting out of the truck (through text), that I feel extremely guilty since he told me everything he's dealing with having to deal with the baby mama. He told me that there's no reason to feel guilty and that he's happy that I am being honest. It is even worse for me because of the fact that his sister and I are friends.

* * *

If anyone has any advice for me (as a lonely 22-year-old), I would definitely appreciate it in the comments. I am lost about how to deal with my own thoughts and emotions.

SecretsFriendshipEmbarrassmentDating

About the Creator

Rene Peters

I write what I know, usually in the form of poetry. I tend to lean towards mental health, epilepsy, and loss/grieving.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran10 months ago

    Kudos to you for being upfront and honest with him rather than you keeping it in. Because that would have eaten you alive and also it wouldn't be fair for him if you guys hang out and he didn’t know your intentions. Now that you've come clean, that's a huge load of weight of your shoulders. So now you wait and follow his lead. I know it might get complicated because of his your friends brother and he has a baby mama but hey, if it's meant to be, then it will happen. Sending you lots of love and hugs! ❤️

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Agree with Mother Combs!!! You were truthful with your feelings. Follow your heart but don't rush rush into a relationship. Life is about balance. Have you read Judey Kalchik's story regarding relationship/marriage? 💕♥️♥️

  • Let your heart lead you.

  • Mother Combs10 months ago

    Let him make the next move. You don't want to push him too fast.

Rene PetersWritten by Rene Peters

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.