Confessions logo

Discovering My Identity

"To be yourself in a world that is constantly trying to make you something else is the greatest accomplishment."

By marion scottPublished 11 months ago 3 min read
Like

Recently, I have gone through many changes in my life. I almost lost my best friend in this world and then I actually lost my adopted grandmother. The past few months have been challenging to me and have been ones of great reflection.

I suppose death has that0kind of effect on us sometimes and will prompt us to question who we are as a person, what we are leaving behind, and what people will remember about us when we are gone.

It is not the first time I have found myself asking these questions and searching for answers on my own identity. All my life I have been seen as someone's sister, someone's daughter and mostly as someone's mother. While all of those contribute to who I am, I have started asking myself, "If you set those aside, who am I as a person, as myself? What makes me who I am?"

I don't have the answers, though I am excited to search out who I want to be and I have arrived at goals that I want to complete and those are who I want to be remembered for when I finally go. (I do not plan on dying until I am a very very old lady--gotta play lots of pranks and shenanigans as an old woman, just saying).

So tonight, I would like to become a famous published author and a successful businesswoman. I want to be a role model for my children so that someday they look at me and say to others, "see, it didn't matter how many times someone knocked her down. She got up and showed them what she was truly made of."

I want to be a woman my children grow up to be proud of and brag about to their friends (although my two oldest do that now so I think I'm halfway winning that battle already).

I want to show my children and those around me that we choose we are, and what we do with our life. We don't have to let people or their actions define us or where we are going. I'm not naive--I know that some of those actions can contribute to what kind of person we become and may change what kind of path we take in life. But ultimately our destination and the path to it is one we choose ourself.

I am one of those people who love to plan things out and for half my life I was not the woman who did anything spontaneously. I actually find it really hard as a mom to be spontaneous. And don't even get me started on those kind of people who cancel or change things last minute!

I know who I don't want to be and what kind of things I don't like. I think that's half of the journey in finding yourself. If you can eliminate the characteristics you don't want to be seen as, you can start focusing on the positive things.

This week has been the perfect example of this for me. I have been judged and shamed for being a working mom, as if I am doing something wrong by providing for my kids.

I cannot begin to explain the hurt, frustration and anger I have felt at this snap judgment--especially by someone who hasn't truly taken time to know me as a person and who I am.

I am so proud of myself for surviving all the stuff I did from a violently abusive husband. My current employment works with all of my injuries from those 5 years: the dozen concussions, 7 times when my ribs were broken, a back injury made worse and the permanent nerve damage in my arm which causes unbearable pain most days and I just have to deal with the pain.

I have not once let those injuries dictate who I am. They do however dictate what kind of employment I can have, as my physical abilities are not anywhere near what they have been in the past.

Hurt and shamed for who I am tonight, I still stand tall and proud for being a hard-working woman and for showing my kids that you can still build a life no matter what is thrown your way. Tonight I am a proud mother. I am proud of myself, even if others aren't. Tonight this is who I am and I am Me.

TabooHumanityFriendshipFamilyEmbarrassment
Like

About the Creator

marion scott

I am a single mom and have a business I have slowly started working towards launching and successfully maintaining. I am 32 and I have 5 kids. I love writing and have over a dozen projects in the works at the moment. Check out my page!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.