Confessions logo

Back In The Game

Pursuits, The Shadow: My First Paycheck

By Z-ManPublished 17 days ago 3 min read
Like

Hello All!!

Yesterday, I became $170 richer than I have been these past several weeks. Put to the backburner are constant survey rejections and completions towards tedious $5 gains (for gas, and, for a far more debatable expense, in food), borrowing money once more in desperation when available survey and sometimes internet resources were held staunchly out of grasp, and, to the positive, a healthy territory of being unable to indulge in those things which seek to swallow my senses and draw them to lack and regret.

Although I have handled these relative weeks under an activated and maturing degree of personal mettle, there are those in my close family who I am sure to thank: and reaffirm my love for.

It comes as a relief in some ways to say that I now have a full-time job in fulfillment at a local retail store, as well as a forthcoming employment as a busser in the prelude and realization of the ramping summer season.

My next and current challenge, however, is to make the remaining $122 I have last until my next pay day on April 26th. It will be then that I should have close to a grand come in, which I can then use to get my account back into the positive and began to wrangle in my recent fallings-out with my debt responsibilities.

(Fortunately, I cashed my first, paper check right at my job--for nothing. I was really thankful for that.)

(Not to mention for the feeling of walking with money in hand again, and the displaced but substantial new feeling of unknown definition within.)

To recap--for integrity and responsibility's sakes--I will share my current expenditures (from my $170 surplus, not what I earned from surveys yesterday):

  1. $18.28 for food (peanut butter, fluff, bread, eggs [to share with my Mom])($150)
  2. $10 for gas and $1 for a scratch ticket (what I considered my "reckless purchase" for balance's sake)($139)
  3. $14 (rounded) for a Freschetta cheese pizza, cookies (to belatedly replenish my Mom's), and a strawberry rhubarb Culture Pop probiotic soda (to curb my soda and digestive wants, though it's lack of carbonation disappointed me)($125)

Nevertheless, I have within my possession now $122 which I must do my best to effectively aim and functionally disperse.

Which I may as well do here while I am at it.

So here are those things which I need to take care of--at one point or another--not including my larger debts:

  • Get a haircut ($20 or so)
  • Vacuum my car ($1.50, but not in cash)
  • Get new shorts for fulfillment and whatever I'd need for bussing attire ($?)
  • Update or recover my gym membership ($10 a month with lesser version...and $40 one-time fee if I need to open a new membership...)

They may seem perfunctory, of course, but tell me that when you've got nothing but survey's to keep you going--and I don't just mean gas for your car. Lol.

As for my outstanding debts: I won't explicitly list those, but to keep it general I will say that they total to the tune of several hundred dollars at the present moment, all compounded to a stauncher degree by my having lacked working phone service for the preceding month.

But, again, though it is obviously far less advantageous to not having a standing residence to comfort my daily needs, I don't mind the car life beyond the pressing needs of insurance, proper hygiene, and daily residences (though I have plenty of options for that--even since the last time I was homeless a year and a half ago).

*

Anyways, that's something of a snapshot of where I am now. I still have substantial help (at least the openness to), despite having effectively burned (or, more accurately, forced out of service) some bridges with certain aspects of my familial relations. I also have at least a few beautiful women in my orbit, though I have never felt financially stable enough to take them or others out, despite my either reciprocated or non- interest. Above all else, those opportunities are, among other things, what inspires me to keep moving.

I hope you stay tuned for more.

Moreover, I hope these words helped you in some way, or at least saw you on a tangential path towards one day finding some sort of solace in what I have to offer.

Au revoir, my family and friends.

- Z

FamilyTabooHumanityBad habits
Like

About the Creator

Z-Man

\m/,

Hello all! I am an aspiring vocalist, filmmaker + writer. I hope you gain something personal + inspiring from my work here. You are also welcome to subscribe to my YouTube Channel: Ad-Libbing With The Zman.

Thank You!

Zach

B']

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.