Confessions logo

All Tomorrows Parties

I Will Not Let Dark Thoughts Drag Me Down

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 10 months ago 3 min read
8

Introduction

This morning I was in a dark place and wanted to write about it, but I always feel that if I write something like that it is wrong. To combat this I look for positive things to share with people and to try and generally be uplifting for myself and all my friends.

So I Look For Things To Lift My Spirits

Today the sun is shining and the weather is good. I am listening to a 5CD box by The Velvet Underground called "Peel Slowly And See" and a reference to the peelable banana skin on the band's debut album designed by Andy Warhol. I still can't get over the fact that his name appears on the front cover of the band's debut album and their name doesn't. The music is great and the skin peels back to reveal a pink banana, not suggestive at all.

Velvet Underground Unpeeled

Image taken from here

As you can see I am already in a fun place with good music and suggestive album covers.

My biggest spirit lifter is chatting with people, especially good friends and later today I may visit my friend Natalie for coffee and later in the day chat with a few close friends about anything that takes our fancy.

Basically, my thoughts are that doing things you like and feel are good pushes away the potential dark and bad stuff.

I have written a poem to push away my bad thoughts and later will pick up my guitar and play something and maybe wander about on my piano.

I will go out for a walk and photograph my feline friends and share them with my friends around the world and put a smile on their faces.

While I am aware of how lucky I am to be able to be almost self-sufficient, I really do need human contact to inspire my creativity but I never want to pressure people into interacting with me, I just hope that they will.

Ironically I do not like being forced into doing things, it's why I find gyms very boring but walking fine. So when I see someone saying "Read My Story" that is an instant turn-off for me, usually because your read is never reciprocated. I usually retry people every now and then but the result is still the same.

I don't think most of my Vocal friends see me as a creator (around ten of them definitely do) but just as someone who reads and comments and does some administration, nothing else. Against that, I get a lot of reads on Vocal so someone is reading my work but not actually commenting on it, so I am very successful. I sometimes think that situation works against me because people think that I am successful enough, therefore, I do not need their patronage.

If you take Twitter and Instagram, I have 800 followers on each of those, but have not got a clue who most of them are and probably actually interact with maybe four or five. My Vocal Subscribers are nudging towards the Number Of The Beast and most days I get 10% of that in reads but I don't know who many of them are because they do not comment or are not on Facebook.

Conclusion

I hope this confessional is not too dark or depressing. As I write these words "White Light/White Heat" has just come on the player. It is rough as hell, but the great thing about records like this is that anyone who hears it will feel that they can make a record and that is what is so great about listening to the Velvet Underground.

I am feeling very good after listening to this as "The Gift" starts playing some brilliant black humor, seven minutes of it. A friend had this album for over a year before he realized that there was a dark story being narrated in the left-hand speaker of this song. I know someone who will love this. You can listen to all eight minutes of it here.

SecretsHumanityFriendshipCONTENT WARNINGBad habits
8

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Grz Colm10 months ago

    I think the last post I read of yours Mike had a poem and you singing! So if that is not a ‘creator’ I don’t know what is! 😃 I like how you can always turn your feelings and thoughts around ! It’s admirable and inspiring. ☺️

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Impressive and courageous confessional. Take care, my friend!!!♥️♥️💕

  • I see you as a creator and a brilliant writer/poet! Also, coffee with Natalie sounds so lovely! Hope you had a good time!

  • That was my first thought on the album cover! I guess debased minds think alike as well.

  • Naomi Gold10 months ago

    That’s an iconic album and album cover. I did my own naughty banana art as a photographer. I am an introvert who spends a great deal of time alone, but like you said, chatting with people lifts my spirits and inspires my creations. So I have a good balance of chatting with people, online and off, with that time alone to imagine and create. “I sometimes think that situation works against me because people think that I am successful enough, therefore, I do not need their patronage.“ I feel you so much on this! Yes, people will purposely not praise you if they see you doing well. I even had an ex admit to me that he did that. He was a photographer. He never praised my photography or modeling. I asked him why, and he said, “You already hear good things enough from other people.” So sad that some don’t want to give credit where it’s due, because they’re insecure and competitive. I’m at work and my air pods are charging, but I will listen closely to that 8 minutes later today.

  • Dana Crandell10 months ago

    I appreciate you as a creator and I'm not one to be turned away by writing from a dark place. I'm glad you have your outlets, though. My guitar is one of my go-tos, as well. I wasn't aware of that album cover, but it's pretty cool!

  • Rob Angeli10 months ago

    See, Andy Warhol knew that peelable banana would be the solution! Keep up the good work...I feel for you, though...

  • Lilly Cooper10 months ago

    It's good to have an outlet and get things off your chest ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.