Confessions logo

A Piece of Me

A look from within

By Cerina GalvanPublished 8 months ago 3 min read
4
A Piece of Me
Photo by Jared Rice on Unsplash

"You’re not good at anything" the voice whispered as I sat down to complete my work for school. It was nearing the end of the term and I was so close to getting my degree. I needed to stay concentrated but of course the voices I heard came like a daunting force inside my head. "I’m not good at anything?" I replied as I slowly started to sink into my chair. Not finding the words to write my research paper due that night. "I guess so I mean what I have succeeded in. Nothing. I mean what am I even great at? I’m a failure, if anything." I had let the voices torment me into believing I was worthless for a long time. Years had passed by and I still couldn’t get it out of my head. Memories of me not getting to play long term in basketball a dream of mine came pouring into my head. The jobs I lost, and the times I quit at something just ravaged through my mind. One particular memory of my coach telling me I had heart but couldn’t continue because I didn’t have enough skill. The whole I don’t have enough skill happened to me more than once in my life and this stuck with me.

This time. I had given up. I was truly and ashamedly exhausted from the countless times the voices made me feel small. It’s like they knew what to say to get me to belittle myself and I’d give in every time. I gave in to the voices way too much during this time in my life. They had this dark power over me. Like I believed what they had to say, as if they mattered.

I went to my mom, feeling suicidal, and she took me to the crisis center. After being taken in I was told I had suicidal ideation. This time I voluntarily went into the psych ward.

The first visit was brutal. I’m not entirely sure what set me off. Could it be the job I had, was it my relationship at the time? Was it school? Was it the conspiracy theories I listened to when I was bored at home? Was it stress? Was it all built up from when I was born? I couldn’t figure out what would let me down a path of self-destruction, mania, and later a diagnosis of schizoaffective disorder. Yet, I was determined to figure that out.

When I got out of the psych ward, I decided for myself I didn’t want to live this way anymore and I was going to have to do some self-discovery of my own.

When you look inside yourself, your thoughts, emotions, and soul, and try to understand yourself there you will find who you are. It’s an enlightening feeling and it takes a lot of time and work. I thought if I meditated for an hour, I would get this huge answer from God. But it took many times and you will keep finding yourself every day as long as you focus on it. Since the psych ward, every day I wake up and ask myself who am I? What do I want to achieve today? How can my persona help me achieve it? Every time I get a new answer and it’s this ever-longing answer. I mean it’s an elusive answer that is always questioned. There are days when I don’t want to be that version of myself out of fear. However, it has allowed me to fight back the voices and with that I’m grateful.

Bad habits
4

About the Creator

Cerina Galvan

I’m an active writer who dreams of writing tales that inspire people.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Kimmiekins48 months ago

    What an amazing piece <3 I totally relate to some of this and I am currently trying to find myself again and get out of this dark depression. Thank you for sharing your story.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.