Confessions logo

100 Things in 20 Minutes

A challenge from Judey Kalchik

By Ruth StewartPublished 9 months ago 4 min read
7
100 Things in 20 Minutes
Photo by Tim Mossholder on Unsplash

So, how hard can it be?

Write 100 things in 20 minutes. This is Judey's challenge, but I want to give it a shot. Call me crazy!

Ready, set.....go!

  1. I don't know what to write
  2. a blank came on me, then!
  3. I think it's more scary than I thought!
  4. I love dogs
  5. Dogs are best
  6. or horses? Not sure
  7. I believe that beliefs are the force of us
  8. I think we need to change our beliefs to change our lives,
  9. I think we have beliefs from when we were young, and this shapes us
  10. they don't necessarily need to though
  11. with hard work, we can change them
  12. I have just realized that I might not have numbered these
  13. but I am going to go as hard as I can and get this done
  14. Paul built an enclosure for the pups
  15. we sat in the sun, watching them play
  16. it was a great way to spend a warm afternoon
  17. My mum is sulking with me
  18. I called her out on smacking her pup
  19. she is a rescue dog called Betsy
  20. She is a Jack Russell
  21. I had a Jack Russell before; her name was Judy
  22. I wrote about her
  23. I just remembered that
  24. She was truly my heart dog
  25. I loved her so much
  26. My dog is loyal, Mick
  27. He is a good boy, but it's not the same
  28. He has different qualities that I love
  29. Talking of qualities
  30. My younger son has good qualities
  31. sadly though, he is much like his mother
  32. which means he can be a bit arrogant and
  33. he believes that he is right
  34. and he knows almost everything because he is 16
  35. I have to go to therapy next week
  36. I have a new therapist
  37. well, I have had her for about 6 months or maybe 9
  38. she is very good, we do CBT work mostly
  39. reframing, she calls it
  40. it is working
  41. I had a different therapist before
  42. it was like talking with my favourite aunty every week
  43. except it cost a few quid
  44. this one is on the NHS, not private
  45. But she is excellent.
  46. I hope to get a few more sessions with her because that isn't guaranteed
  47. But I hope because we are making good progress.
  48. oh dear, I am nearly halfway
  49. and this doesn't feel like 50 things
  50. but I will continue; I hope it isn't too boring
  51. I bought some good books lately
  52. One is by Alexandria Stanwyck
  53. she writes here,
  54. she is great - her book is called "instead of therapy"
  55. and I have got a lot out of it
  56. and the other book is by Harmony Kent, and it's about prose, Polishing your Prose
  57. is the name of it
  58. I will have to sort out the spelling of some of these; it's dreadful
  59. Not the books; they were fine
  60. but this writing which is full of those red lines
  61. You know, the ones you get from Grammarly and Word documents
  62. telling you off for your errors
  63. oh, my time is going to beat me, I believe
  64. anyway, I have a sister called Becci
  65. I don't speak to her, or rather, she doesn't speak to me
  66. we have a difference in beliefs
  67. but I still really love her
  68. Grammarly doesn't like the word really
  69. but I do
  70. Anyway, Becci is brilliant
  71. she is one of those who should have been a stand-up comedian
  72. she would deal so well with hecklers
  73. she is super quick-witted
  74. I love her
  75. and one day, she painted her dogs toenails to match her own
  76. she loves to dance
  77. she paid the taxi driver to come into her house and take her shoes off for her
  78. because she was so tired from dancing the night away
  79. one time she wanted these boots
  80. they were from John Lewis
  81. They didn't have them in her size in London
  82. But they did in Glasgow
  83. so she flew up to Glasgow and picked up a pair there
  84. Slept the night at my brothers
  85. and then flew home again
  86. she still got them reduced even after flights
  87. oh my, it's quite tiring trying to write and write
  88. without stopping
  89. in hopes of writing 100 things in 20 minutes
  90. So there you are
  91. my family, Rachel with the twins
  92. Dominic, who is very successful
  93. Becci, who is also successful
  94. and me
  95. I am psychologically successful not so much in the normal way
  96. well, it wouldn't be me to be normal
  97. If my dreams came true, I'd have a horse
  98. Not to ride (too fat)
  99. but to groom and care for and watch and draw
  100. I love them so much
  101. I have thought about a companion horse, perhaps too old to ride
  102. so I can look after them and love them
  103. or two little shetlands to walk up the road
  104. I guess I am a little crazy
  105. But you know, who needs normal?
  106. Normal is a bit boring to me.
  107. I write stuff
  108. not always good
  109. but ok
  110. getting there
  111. It's good to improve
  112. and surely this needs some improving!

Family
7

About the Creator

Ruth Stewart

I'm a grandmother of four amazing grandchildren and a mum of three fabulous children. I write poetry mainly, also prose and the odd story. I live in Scotland, UK. For a secret link to watch me read my favourite poems click right here!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Judey Kalchik 9 months ago

    So glad Paul shared this one with me! It's grand!

  • Novel Allen9 months ago

    Cool vibes, I think that I will try it. I think that many will write of horses.

  • Paul Stewart9 months ago

    Yay - you smashed this and I loved the way your thoughts took you to places I kinda thought it would. family, kids and horses! :) Well done, babe! This was a fun and insightful read!

  • Becci actually paid a taxi driver to come inside and take off her shoes for her?! Lol! That's crazy and hilarious!

  • Cathy holmes9 months ago

    Yay. You did it! I was 4 minutes late with mine. Oh well. Great job.

  • Donna Renee9 months ago

    Ahhh I adore horses too! I don’t even want one to ride anymore though, just to look at and groom and walk around with haha. Maybe to draw, that would be a fun challenge 🥰

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.