BookClub logo

Copendium

Julian Cope's Expedition Into The Rock'n'Roll Underwerld (sic)

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 8 days ago 2 min read
Copendium And Some of My Records

Introduction

Firstly can I review, or at least give an opinion on a seven-hundred-page book when I have only read thirty-five pages? I most definitely can.

Some books just grab you from the off, and when you have experience of the author you know whether it is likely to be a worthy read.

The initial song is Julian Cope's "Try, Try, Try" from his album "20 Mothers" but I will drop a few more in too.

Before we start this is Julian's website with a few more of his excellent books, that are also in my library:

So "Copendium"

I had been putting off reading this for many years because of the sheer size of it. I have read books with more pages that seem to not take up as much space as this one, but this week I took the plunge, dived in, and have been completely hooked.

Julian's language reminds me a little of Dylan's "taRaNtula" but that is not a problem but the two column page format was the first surpise for me.

Pages from "Copendium"
Pages from "Copendium"

The book is a series of weekly album reviews of material and artists I am either just vaguely aware of or I have never heard of. The reviews give details of the albums, and release dates, although some are made up of tracks from other albums by the artists, but Julian's insights are entertaining and make me want to at least revisit and buy albums by these artists.

The audience for this book is probably niche so if your idea of music is a Spotify playlist of a talent show then this is not for you, but is a great read.

It covers decades from the 1950s with Lord Buckley and Tom Lehrer (whose songs took STDs, Necrophilia, Drug-Dealing, Prostitution, and Sado-Masochism as subjects so you have one included above) to the 2000s.

The sixties open with Blue Cheer and continue with Kim Fowley along with Henry Flynt, someone I have never heard of but did a stint with The Velvet Underground when John Cale took a break.

Julian describes the Blue Cheer lead guitarist, Leigh Stephens, as always sounding like he wants to give up, and if you listen to "Out Of Focus" above you might hear what he means.

Conclusion

I am thoroughly enjoying this book, but it is probably best for musical explorers and adventurers which a penchant for out there wordsmithery.

It certainly has my attention and my vote.

ThemeReviewRecommendationNonfictionGenreAuthor

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales & Poems

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudeyAnna

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Carol

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • L.C. Schäfer7 days ago

    I always enjoy when I dip my toe into your insights on musical things. I don't think I would have the level of appreciation that you do, and I already have six thousand books on my TBR pile!

Mike Singleton - MikeydredWritten by Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.