Beat logo

Radiohead and Zen

My personal playlist

By michelle stuartPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
Radiohead and Zen
Photo by James Owen on Unsplash

When I sit down to meditate, there is one playlist I go to frequently, my personal Radiohead and Zen list. I believe in embracing the light and the dark in meditation. Allowing myself to feel all my feelings allows me also to set them free. There is something about Thom Yorke's voice that lifts me into a different realm where I can be present and mindful. I am truly in another place when the intricate beats and rhythms start in on one of their songs. I can feel my breath slow down, my body relaxing, and all of the tension that I have been holding in my body starts to release into the supernatural sound of Radiohead. The emotions I feel when listening can release me from anger and sadness and change my day's trajectory. It isn't just Thom's voice or the music itself; it's also the lyrics. In meditation, we aren't meant to hold on to any thoughts, but acknowledge them and let them pass. When it comes to Radiohead though, I like to pluck the words flowing into my ears and devour them whole, like a drug.

In the song, "I will"- from the album -Hail to the Thief, Thom's voice comes in on a double track where he is harmonizing with himself, exploring all four octaves, creating a beautiful and haunting tone. The most zen-inducing lyrics are "little babies eyes, eyes, eyes....little babies eyes, eyes, eyes....." Deep calm always ensues when this song is played.

In The Song, "The Gloaming", from the album - Hail to the Thief, the sound comes in as an intense rhythm that puts you into a instant state of focus and calm, allowing you to settle in for the ride. Thom's voice then comes in, moody and taunting, carrying you through your darkest feelings. The most zen-inducing lyrics from this song are" When the walls bend, when the walls bend, with your breathing, with your breathing..." These words are repeated and start to feel like a mantra.

In the song "2+2 = 5", another epic song from the album - Hail to the Thief, there is a beautiful electric guitar riff that sets the mood. This song has a quicker beat, while the chorus is an angry and emotional anthem. This track is a great release for me, allowing me to work through my anxiety. Sometimes you have to scream to get to the other side. The most zen-inducing lyrics are "...It's the devil's way now, there is no way out, you can scream, and you can shout, it is too late now..."

In the Song "MK 1", from the album - In Rainbows (disk 2), the only thing you hear is Thom singing a beautiful melody that feels like it must be a celestial experience. I am sitting and worshiping at the feet of Radiohead. The track is only 45 seconds, but it is very lovely. There are no lyrics in this song.

In the Song "No Surprises", from the album - OK Computer, it opens with a beautiful piano melody that reminds me of a childhood nursery rhyme, and the drums in this song are very soothing. Thom's voice is subtle and calming. There is such ease in the way he uses his voice to express deep emotions. The most zen-inducing lyrics - "...This is my final fit, my final bellyache with no alarms and surprises, no alarms and no surprises, no alarms and no surprises, please...." This is the perfect song for when you are fed up and need to let that go.

In the Song "Weird Fishes", from the album - In Rainbows, there is a desire to get up and move, and I often do for this one. There is no steadfast rule that you have to sit in meditation, sometimes you want to express yourself with your body, and this is the perfect song to weep and sway to. Most zen-inducing lyrics - "why should I stay here? Why should I stay? I'd be crazy not to follow, follow where you lead, your eyes, they turn me..."

Here are some additional Radiohead songs that I reach for if I need a quick mediation.

In the Song "Nice Dream", from the Album - The Bends most zen-inducing lyrics - "...nice dream, if you think you are strong enough, nice dream, if you think you belong enough, nice dream ..."

Song - Bullet Proof - Album - The Bends - most zen-inducing lyrics - "..wax me, mold me, heats the pins and stab them in, you have turned me into this, just wish that it was bulletproof..." - and Thom sings like a heavenly creature.

Song - Pyramid Song - Album - Amnesiac - most zen-inducing lyrics "...all my lovers were there with me, all my past and futures, and we all went to heaven in a little rowboat, there was nothing to fear and nothing to doubt..."

Song - Everything In Its Right Place - Album -Kid A -most zen-inducing lyrics - ".. . everything, everything, in its right place, in its right place, right place..."

Song - Sail To The Moon - Album - Hail to the Thief - most zen-inducing lyrics "...I sucked the moon, I spoke too soon, and how much did it cost? I was dropped from moonbeams and sailed on shooting stars..."

Song - There, There - Album - Hail to the Thief - most zen-inducing lyrics"...just cause you feel it, doesn't mean its there, just cause you feel it, doesn't mean its there..."

Song -Daydreaming - Album - A Moon Shaped Pool - most zen-inducing lyrics - "...this goes beyond me, beyond you, the white room, by the window, where the sounds goes through..."

playlist
Like

About the Creator

michelle stuart

Just a girl with a head full of dreams

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.