Beat logo

No! I Don't Wish It Could Be Christmas Every day!

It Would Take The Excitement Away!

By Carol TownendPublished about a year ago 4 min read
1
No! I Don't Wish It Could Be Christmas Every day!
Photo by Kira auf der Heide on Unsplash

Music video courtesy of Youtube (Accessed by Author, dated 24/12/2022).

I do love the above song. I find it to be the perfectly festive Christmas song ever written.

I also love Christmas, even though I prefer quiet ones!

However; if there is one thing not on my wish list, it is wishing for it to be Christmas every day!

Wow! That would be like living in the middle of an apocalypse, and I had enough homemade apocalypses buying Christmas presents every Christmas when my 6 children were young!

One thing that I look forward to every Christmas is putting up the tree. If my tree stayed up because it was Christmas every day, Christmas would become boring.

Everybody would use Christmas as an excuse to party, instead of going to work or getting on with their careers!

Children would make more excuses up not to go to school, and while teachers might love that; I'm sure they would hate to not be paid because we broke the bank by making Christmas an everyday thing.

We have enough money problems in the world, without celebrating Christmas every day!

Also, can you imagine?

Those who like to party until it's over would be in bed recovering from a hangover all year, and our houses would become one giant mess because we'd end up not cleaning or tidying! The streets would be chaos, and we'd never get any peace, especially if you live where I do; people like a good party here just before Christmas, and all through the Christmas period.

If we had Christmas every day, our poor shop workers would need more than a pay rise in order to keep up with their customers, and the online system would break!

On another note; We'd all end up bankrupt because having Christmas every day means buying more food and more Christmas presents every day!

Poor Santa and Rudolph would never get any rest!

I've been brought up with families who make a big deal out of Christmas. They love their big parties and gatherings, and some go to extreme lengths to celebrate Christmas.

They do a lot of cooking and baking. Hell! I love cooking and baking too, but having Christmas every day is sure to make the washing up horrendous, you'd end up with triple amounts. You'd never be out of the kitchen!

Television advertising can be annoying enough in the run-up to Christmas, especially with all of the Children's toys and the latest gadgets, video games, and games stations they advertise.

Our children would give us a headache because they would expect a new game, toy, gadget, or game station every day of the year!

I don't know about you, but I have enough problems deciding what to buy as Christmas presents for Christmas. Children get fussier as they reach their teens, and choosing presents for adults gets harder as they get older!

I love the hustle and bustle of town at Christmas, and I love Christmas shopping though I hate crowds. The town is bad enough when the sales start, and in the summer when the holiday season starts; especially when you live on the coast!

Our towns would become a nightmare to navigate if it was Christmas every day!

The majority of us love Christmas. I love the excitement that builds in the last few months that come before Christmas, and I do love the countdown to both Christmas Day and New Year's Day.

However; my mind becomes frazzled, and it gets frightened at the thought of our government making Christmas an everyday thing!

I'd become a hermit every day of my life in order to avoid it.

Call me the grinch if you like!

I love the above song, but please save our sanity by keeping Christmas as a once-a-year event.

I really wouldn't want it to be Christmas every day!

Thank you for reading my story. You can read more of my stories in my profile, and if you'd like to keep up to date with my work, please feel free to subscribe so that you never miss a post!

Please be kind enough to leave me a heart so that I can see that you liked what you were reading. I also appreciate tips which are optional but are a great way for you to support my work.

song reviewshumanityfestivalsfact or fiction
1

About the Creator

Carol Townend

Fiction, Horror, Sex, Love, Mental Health, Children's fiction and more. You'll find many stories in my profile. I don't believe in sticking with one Niche! I write, but I also read a lot too.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.