Beat logo

Tijuana Brass: A Collection Of Christmas Favorites From My Childhood.

Music That Brings Christmas Home

By Carol TownendPublished about a year ago 3 min read
2
Tijuana Brass: A Collection Of Christmas Favorites From My Childhood.
Photo by Max Beck on Unsplash

Christmas is my favorite time of the year when it comes to music, and Brass music is certainly something that wins my heart at Christmas, especially when bands add upbeat rhythm, the sound of Christmas bells, trumpets, and trombones to the mix.

Tijuana Brass does just that. The Band itself is known as The Torero Band.

We get funky upbeat Christmas tunes made from Carols that we would normally sing rather than dance to.

Christmas is not just about drinking until we have a hangover the next day, or lounging about in bed all day. It's not just a religious theme either. It's about reflecting and remembering all those happy and even sad moments that the past years have brought. It's about sharing love with our families and celebrating family life.

I don't know about you, but for me, Christmas is also about having those cheerful and warming tunes that I like to dance to while I'm baking and cooking the Turkey in the oven.

No! I haven't burnt Christmas dinner yet, though I did manage to burn the Christmas pudding during a very merry family Christmas one year!

Anyway, back to the music...Ahem!

Tijuana Brass in my playlist is music from the band known as The Torero Band which imitated the songs. I couldn't find the original band's songs but this band plays them just as well.

The band plays a variety of Christmas songs which were songs that I not only sang in the school choir but also remember many happy Christmases listening to with family at home.

Tijuana Brass was formed by Herb Alpert who defined adult contemporary pop in the 1960s. He also co-founded A&M Records.

He was regarded as one of the most influential men in the business of music for many decades. Herb Alpert has quite a substantial history in the world of music and more. He became extremely famous for his music which is still listened to in many countries today.

To find out more about Herb Alpert and his talented work, please click here

The music will take the winter chill and frostbite away at Christmas by warming your heart with festive, warm, brassy notes that have been cheerfully orchestrated in order to provide you with all the festive cheer that Christmas can bring.

Tijuana Brass is still a very important part of my life. I played it at Christmas when my children were young because it brought warmth, joy, and cheer into the house which reminded them and us that it was Christmas. I still listen to it with my husband even though we tend to enjoy a quieter Christmas nowadays because it still brings much-needed Christmas joy and cheer into our house, and brightens up those days when memories become too much, leaving us feeling down.

The Christmas songs have a Nativity feel to them, and they were played in my hometown by a band performing outside the Town Hall when the Christmas lights were switched on, this created a cheerful atmosphere in the town where everybody was trying to enjoy welcoming Christmas on those freezing cold nights in the U.K. when it used to snow!

We don't see much snow in Dorset where I live often, and it doesn't stay long when we do get it.

When listening to some of the Christmas songs in my Tijuana Brass playlist, you can almost see the story of Christmas such as the Shepherds watching their Flocks, The Star of Bethlehem, and a child being born.

Christmas wouldn't be Christmas without its little reminders of the story of Christmas itself.

You can picture a warm fire with a beautifully garlanded mantelpiece and a beautifully decorated tree, or snow falling outside a window. You can even picture a snowy Christmas without the snow when you listen to the Christmas songs of this brilliant band.

They certainly understood what Christmas was supposed to be about.

If you love the cheerful sounds of Brass at Christmas, then feel free to check out the playlist that I have put together below, which features some of my favorite Tijuana Brass Christmas songs.

Enjoy, and have a merry Christmas.

industrysong reviewsplaylistinstrumentsbands60s music
2

About the Creator

Carol Townend

Fiction, Horror, Sex, Love, Mental Health, Children's fiction and more. You'll find many stories in my profile. I don't believe in sticking with one Niche! I write, but I also read a lot too.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.