Beat logo

My Christmas Playlist

My favourite Christmas Songs on Spotify

By Chloe Rose Violet 🌹Published 5 months ago 6 min read
Top Story - December 2023
10
My Christmas Playlist
Photo by Cofohint Esin on Unsplash

“My idea of Christmas, whether old-fashioned or modern, is very simple: loving others. Come to think of it, why do we have to wait for Christmas to do that?”

― Bob Hope

Ahhh Christmas music. Either you hate it or you love it.

I have very fond memories from my childhood of going caroling with my group choir. I loved it. I can't listen to Christmas music all the time but I do have certain favourite songs that I enjoy playing throughout the holiday season.

Here is MY Christmas Playlist... I created it on Spotify. I hope you enjoy listening to it as much as I did creating it.

Last Christmas by Jimmy Eat World

Last Christmas, I gave you my heart

The very next day you gave it away

This year to save me from tears

I'll give it to someone special

I have always loved this song. This cover by rock band Jimmy Eat World is utterly phenomenal. It's a must listen in my opinion.

Wonderful Christmastime by Christmas Favourites

Simply having a wonderful Christmas time

The choir of children sing their song

Ding dong, ding dong

Ding dong, ding oh

I loved this movie called Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer (1998) as a child. They had this song in one of the scenes and it quickly became my all-time favourite Christmas song. I couldn't find a clip of the scene but I did find the movie on YouTube. I couldn't find it for years but when I was creating this post, I managed to find it again!

I Wish It Could Be Christmas Everyday by Christmas Favourites

Well I wish it could be Christmas everyday

When the kids start singing and the band begins to play

Oh, I wish it could be Christmas everyday

So, let the bells ring out for Christmas

This one is a favourite in my home. It's just such a sweet Christmas song.

Jingle Bell Rock by Bobby Helms

Jingle bell, jingle bell, jingle bell rock

Jingle bells chime in jingle bell time

Dancin' and prancin' in Jingle Bell Square

In the frosty air

I love this Christmas tune. It is so catchy and uplifting that it just makes me smile.

Rockin' Around The Christmas Tree by Brenda Lee

Rockin' around the Christmas tree

Let the Christmas spirit ring

This song is such a good, happy vibe during the Christmas season. I always think of the Home Alone scene when this song comes on at Christmas time.

The Chipmunk Song (Christmas Don't Be Late) - Remastered 1999 by Alvin & The Chipmunks, David Seville

Christmas, Christmas time is near

Time for toys and time for cheer

We've been good, but we can't last

Hurry Christmas, hurry fast

Want a plane that loops the loop

Me, I want a hula hoop

We can hardly stand the wait

Please Christmas, don't be late

This song always makes me think of my grandfather. We grew up watching this movie. Same with Frosty the Snowman. I don't think I have ever met someone who loves Christmas more than my Grandpa in all honesty. My kids love this song too. Well kind of at least. Different generation for sure.

Maybe This Christmas by Shane Dawson

These are the reasons

I hate the season

But Im a give it a try

Maybe this year I wont be sad on Christmas

Maybe Ill have a happy holiday

Replace my heartache and my pain

With mistletoe and candy canes

This Christmas could go my way

I know this is such an old YouTuber, but he really did save my life when I was a teenager and even to this day watching his videos online saved my soul. I love this Christmas song Shane Dawson released back in 2012.

This Christmas Life by Shane Dawson

There'll be dancin' and singin'

This Christmas Life

And the bells will be ringin'

This Christmas Life

No more heartaches from heartbreaks

This Christmas Life

Oh I,

Wish it could be mine

Like the song before this one, this is another beautiful Christmas song by my favourite YouTuber. It was released a year later in 2013. The holidays can bring some tough emotions up for some people and it's good to be able to express them. I love Shane Dawson, I truly do- even if he might be a bit scandalous.

Your a Mean One Mr. Grinch by Billy Golicki

You're a monster, Mr. Grinch,

Your heart's an empty hole,

Your brain is full of spiders, you have garlic in your soul, Mr. Grinch,

I wouldn't touch you with a thirty-nine-and-a-half foot pole!

Everybody loves the Grinch that Stole Christmas. By far one of my favourite Christmas movies besides Home Alone in all honesty.

Hard Candy Christmas by Ralph

Me, I'll be just fine and dandy

Oh, it's like a hard candy Christmas

I'm barely getting through tomorrow

But, still, I won't let sorrow bring me way down

This is one of my new favourite songs. I fell in love with this Christmas song. Like I stated above, the holidays can be a tough time for some people, but we can get through the hard times- even just a good Christmas cry can fix a few things.

merry christmas darling by Christina Perri

Holidays are joyful, there's always

Something new but every day's a holiday

When I'm near to you, the lights on my tree

I love Christina Perri. This song is super sweet and makes me think of my daughter.

Run Rudolph Run by Chuck Berry

Said Santa to a boy, "Child, what have you been longing for?"

"All I want for Christmas is a Rock and Roll electric guitar"

And then away went Rudolph whizzin' like a shootin' star

This song is such a classic Christmas song. I absolutely love this one. My kids do too.

Joy To The World by Nat King Cole

If I were the king of the world

Tell you what I'd do

I'd throw away the cars and the bars and the wars

This song makes me think of my elementary school choir days. I absolutely adore this rendition of the song. It's utterly beautiful.

Frosty The Snowman by Ella Fitzgerald

Ooh Frosty the snowman

Knew the sun was hot that day

So he said, "Let's run and we'll have some fun

Now before I melt away."

I LOVE this Christmas song. It is such a cheerful song and again, another one that makes me think of my grandfather. My kiddos love this one too.

_______________________________________

What did you think of my Christmas music selections? Which one is your favourite?

I hope to see lots of other playlists out on Vocal this year.

Happy Holidays everyone!

Chloe Rose Violet 🌹

Here is the list of Holiday Prompts that I had created down below!

featureplaylistlisthumanity
10

About the Creator

Chloe Rose Violet 🌹

Writing from the heart about love, life, music, mental health, and everything else in between. 💀🥰

•Follow me on Threads @rosefearless

•Like my new Facebook page ROSEFEARLESS

Purchase my affirmation cards here!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Mackenzie Davis5 months ago

    I really like your selections! Different from the usual. I'm enjoying "Last Christmas" right now, I prefer it to the Wham! version which gets annoying. Always like the oldies, myself. Ella, Nat King Cole, Bing Crosby, and Dean Martin are my top rotations. But yeah, the Grinch song is iconic, as is Bobby Helms and Brenda Lee. Kinda hard to skip those ones, lol. Great list!!

  • Cathy holmes5 months ago

    Lots of great tunes here. Well done and congrats on the TS.

  • Unfortunately, I worked at a retail Nutritionist for 5 and a half years. And I've listened to these songs played over and over again in a loop for more than eight hours a day every Christmas season. Lol, I kinda get PTSD due to that 🤣🤣🤣

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.