Beat logo

Music Blends

Genres Remain Fluid

By Chuck SadoskyPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
In the production zone...

What genre do you play? What genre do you write? What genre do you produce? I've responded to these questions hundreds of times: article questioners, interviews, written bios, song submittals, performance rights organizations, copyright forms, fan email; the list goes on, I know. What am I thankful for in all this? Drop down boxes and multiple-choice questions. Tech options and AI have their place.

There was a time, in my musician infancy, I could respond with a single word which would easily separate and establish a genre boundary for myself and to others. Ha. I was recently involved in a music theory course and a producer improvement course; these were refreshers for me I thought. During these courses I was presented with; more like I was drowned with the recent definitions of major music genres: 6, no 13, no 51, no 7; did I mention subgenres? Today we have a list of 1,300 minimum subgenre, and it is growing as I write, it seems like an international music industry pastime. Country Music alone as a genre has 41 subgenres. Why? Diversity, I guess. We have become enamored through the internet, its ever-growing music markets and marketing techniques and use of social media in an effort to help us find ourselves. For musicians this is not very different. Not a day goes by that I am not contacted with "the answer" of what will help me market myself to launch my music career.

My main musical influence was in guitar and went from classical to flamenco; then I had a hard rudder change to pop, rock, RnB, soul, the British music invasion, those pretty much filled my genre horizon. It was only in the recent pandemic year(s) that I took a leap into the writing and the producing of hip-hop and EDM, both of which are considered subgenres of RnB, well that's today anyway, I think. The leap was a challenge, but very rewarding.

I have never stopped being amazed at the growing number of musicians worldwide (roughly 9M) and the growing number of songs (approximately 90-100M). These music industry stats of course are from multiple online sources, so I really just share with you what I read. These are moving targets; I admit to no confirmations. The dominating thought here is the same as it was when I attended high school: everyone wants to be a musician (a subdivision of creatives I believe). I can only estimate the number of playing or active musicians I knew in 4-5 local cities or towns, in so many high schools attended, through a listing of students covering maybe 5 years (thank you Classmates): 38,000 students. In my own high school that may touch on 7,500 students with approximately 20% being "active" musicians (band members, solo artists, singers and song writers, recording and session artists) maybe 1,500, of course in various major well-known genres.

Over the years, decades now coming and going, I saw that number dwindle. Now I have a hobby type interest, researching with those "active" musicians that I have kept in touch with, scattered throughout the USA, I'll estimate 20%, maybe 300, of those above remain active. The most interesting observation for me is that nearly all of those I interact with wandered very little from those major genre(s) they first embraced. Subgenres were not such a relative topic.

The focus on music genre diversity within this past decade becomes a major measurement of reflection to me, so much so, that I observe we are even marching in step with and seemingly being driven by the impact of social media, not by the musician or the music. The message I believe, even in genre creation becomes to define oneself, or to separate oneself, to blend in or not to blend in, to be "fluid" I believe is the most recent description I've learned.

When you ask me today about "my" music genre, I most likely will have only a two-word response. Maybe three.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Chuck Sadosky

A move from the city to the suburbs made fitting in socially difficult for Chuck; playing guitar, surrounding himself in music and writing songs was his healing escape; which has continued through today.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.