Beat logo

Hanging On for Dear Life

31 years ago, a song from a silly 90s rom-com took hold of my heart. And it still does.

By Jonathan ApolloPublished 12 days ago Updated 12 days ago 6 min read
6
Johnny & Missy from 'My Boyfriend's Back.' They're not important to this story. | IMDB

I still remember the first time I heard “Hanging On for Dear Life” by Jennifer McGill… and the other first time.

The very first was way back in the early 90s. In the middle of a very late night, I was awake and bored enough to watch a movie that I recorded weeks before. The movie was My Boyfriend’s Back, a silly horror-comedy that most film buffs regard as the one credit the late Phillip Seymour Hoffman probably wished he could erase from his acting resume.

The basis for My Boyfriend's Back is pretty silly, but also very sweet: A high schooler dies protecting the girl he’s loved from afar for all of his life (trust me, the “silly” is coming). After arriving in Heaven and realizing he never admitted his feelings, he returns to Earth to ask her to the prom. He also becomes a zombie who must eat human flesh to stay active. Also, there’s a dream sequence where his penis falls off.

See? Silly but sweet.

Most of that doesn’t matter, though. The scene that does, however, occurs toward the end of the movie. Johnny, the zombie boy, decomposing from failing to follow through on eating people, finally makes it to the prom with the beautiful Missy. The two slowly walk to the gym floor for one final dance. A beautiful ballad plays as they hold one another. Johnny gets his wish and, of course, dies right there in the middle of the song.

A silly movie. A sweet premise. | Photo from IMDB

Don’t feel bad, though: He comes back again. I won’t say how – just watch the movie.

Anyway, do you know that first time you hear a perfect song that just sticks with you? I’ve experienced it more than once in my 40-something years, but I genuinely believe that moment in My Boyfriend’s Back was one of the first. There was just something so beautiful about it. The piano intro. The warm melody. The singer’s voice – my God, her voice. The few words I could make out kept playing in my head… “keep hanging on for dear life.”

I’m pretty sure I watched the credits roll and picked up the name of the song and artist, but it didn’t stick to my memory. Being all of 12 when My Boyfriend’s Back was released - or probably closer to 13 when it hit basic cable – that makes sense. Also, ADHD.

Fast forward to the early aughts (that’s the 2000s, for those confused). I was visiting Brian, one of my best friends, on Staten Island. I loved being at his place. We had loads in common, including our tastes in music, food, and boys. Also, his mom loved to cook and she was damn good at it.

One random Saturday, we were hanging out in his bedroom and I found myself going through his stack of CDs for the umpteenth time. I don’t know exactly what I was looking for – probably something related to Britney Spears – but a different disc caught my eye. It was one I had always wanted, but never had the chance to get my hands on… and I couldn’t believe he had it.

I carefully slid the case out from the crowded stack and looked at the cover with a huge smile. It was a copy of MMC, the only album released by MMC – the 90s iteration of the Mickey Mouse Club (sometimes referred to as The All-New Mickey Mouse Club).

The MMC album. Jennifer McGill is in front of JC Chasez and to the left of Rhona Bennett. | Discogs

About two seasons before Britney Spears, Justin Timberlake, and Christina Aguilera joined the crew, several cast members recorded an LP of original songs. I remember all the ads I saw in teen magazines when it first released, and I wanted a copy so badly. Sadly, there weren’t many record stores in the Bronx that carried the album and I could never convince Momma to venture outside the borough to check elsewhere.

I urged him to put the album on, laid back on his bedroom floor, and got lost in the nostalgia. I remembered a few songs from their live performances and “Video Jam” clips on MMC. I nearly screamed when “Goodbye Doesn’t Mean I’m Gone,” a classic R&B cut by the talented Rhona Bennett, came through his speakers. It was an old fave. Rhona had since gone on to become a successful actress (The Jamie Foxx Show) and singer. She’s now a member of En Vogue and is just as talented as ever.

But then, a few tracks later, something else that was familiar.

A piano intro. A melody. A voice… oh, my God, that voice.

“Brian,” I said as my voice shook. “What’s the name of this song?”

“Um… ‘Hanging On for Dear Life,’” he responded.

My heart caught in my chest as my mind raced back to that silly little zombie movie, and Johnny and Missy at the prom. I immediately recognized the singing voice, too.

“That’s Jennifer McGill,” I said to myself.

How did I not put this together before? You simply don't forget a voice like Jennifer's.

Jennifer was one of the few MMC cast members who stuck around through its entire run. The first time I heard her sing, I was floored – inside of this little white girl was this earth-shattering voice, one that could immediately move you to tears. She had done that to me several times, including with this awesome live cover of Queen’s “We Are the Champions” that I still love to this very day.

She did so again that day in Brian’s room, as I lay on the floor, hearing the song for the first time in years.

And she’s doing so right now as I listen to the song and share these words.

After the cancellation of MMC in 1994, Jennifer aimed for a pop career, not unlike several of her fellow Mouseketeers. Sadly, things never took off in that direction, but she found her path in life as an Inspirational Pop recording artist and Spiritual Leader. I suppose that journey makes sense considering the significant themes of “Hanging On for Dear Life.”

Co-written by Brock Walsh and Jon Lind, the touching song speaks of leaning on your faith and inner strength when life gives you proverbial lemons. Jennifer’s vocals, as usual, soar through the track and aim for your heart without warning.

“You keep hoping things will get better, that you’ll find a way through it all

You must hold on to what you believe when the sky’s about to fall

So, keep hanging on, the hands of time just keep turning around

There’s no telling where you’ll find the strength to climb

So just stand your ground

All through the night ‘til you can see the light

Keep hanging on for dear life…”

Jennifer re-recorded “Hanging On for Dear Life” in 2012 and 2017 as a thank you to fans who, like myself, never forgot the song or the meaning that has helped them persevere through life’s struggles.

Jennifer McGill in 2024. | Photo from Jennifer's Instagram

“Ever since [the song] was released on the MMC album, I've had many fans come up to me with stories about tragedy and loss in their lives, and how [it] helped them through the tough times,” she shared with The Entertainment Wrap-Up in 2012. “People remember that song and how it is forever connected with such monumental times in their lives.”

Jennifer also opened up about a more personal connection to the song that I can sadly relate to.

“My mother was also a huge fan of [“Hanging On for Dear Life”] and thought it was a great idea to include it on my solo album someday. Since her passing in 2003, I too have a tragedy and loss to which [the song] is connected.”

Since losing my mom in 2021, “Hanging On for Dear Life” has been instrumental in helping me deal with my grief. I’ve shed many tears to the song since then, but with each release comes healing. Momma often told me to rely on a higher power when times got rough. While I’ve never been religious, I believe the solace most find in their faith can be found in everyday things, including music.

When nothing else helps my hurt, I can always depend on a song or two to lift my spirits and guide me through hard times. I suppose with that belief, songs like “Hanging’ On for Dear Life” are reminders that when life gets you down, no matter how down you may be, you’re never truly out. Stand up again. Stand tall… and with all of your might, just keep hanging on.

poppop culturehumanityalbum reviews
6

About the Creator

Jonathan Apollo

I bang my keyboard and words come out. Sometimes, they're worth reading. Sometimes, they're even good.

40-something, M, NYC. He/Him/His. #TPWK

https://twitter.com/JonnyAWrites

http://www.facebook.com/JonnyAWrites

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Sasi Kala4 days ago

    wow lovely story!

  • Shirley Belk7 days ago

    Sorry you lost your mom. I love how she encouraged you to have faith and you found it through music. I don't remember seeing this movie or hearing the song. Great message and I read this on Mothers day....

  • Andrea Corwin 12 days ago

    What a great story! Loved all of it - how you did the intro and on to the end. Sorry about your mom. ❣️

  • This is really sweet and I really can relate to music helping you through rough times.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.