Beat logo

Millennium Number Two

My Two Thousandth Vocal Story

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 2 months ago 3 min read
8
An AI Image By The Author

Introduction

For my two thousandth Vocal Story, I am going to be a little lazy and create a playlist of songs that reference the number two thousand. You may know some, and some you may never have heard of.

I am impressed with myself for having done this, and now of course, I will start thinking of three thousand if I am allowed to stay on Vocal. I do think that I am going to run out of things to write but I already have two more pieces planned after this one, so I haven't hit a dead end just yet, and to be quite honest I don't think I ever will. Ideas are as varied and plentiful as grains of sand on a beach, and there are a lot of those.

I was hoping to publish this before the end of February 2024 and, much to my surprise I have managed to do it.

The Rolling Stones - "2000 Light Years From Home"

The Rolling Stones meet the sound of Pink Floyd on this piece from "Their Satanic Majesties Request". This was filmed in 1967 and directed by Peter Whitehead, with Mick Jagger looking a little like Arthur Brown.

Pretenders - "2000 Miles"

This is one of those brilliant Christmas songs with those gorgeous descending guitar sequences. A Chrissie Hynde composition and she was always completely cool and an amazing and talented band leader. I know we shared 1999 in my last story but this one is a bit more varied and actually is a playlist.

Pulp - "Disco 2000"

This is one we played in Spoon and is a wonderful slice of growing up in Britain from Jarvis and his mates. An absolute classic, I love this song.

Silverchair - "Anthem for the Year 2000"

I will admit I do not know Silverchair, I know the name, but this is the first time that I have listened to them. It is heavy EMO and rather good. I will have to listen to them further.

This is Daniel Johns' dream of youthful rebellion against overbearing adults.

Kiss - "2000 Man"

Kiss are not a favourite band of mine but this starts off well. I always saw them as bandwagon jumpers but they have lasted the distance. The mask idea was a great idea because it meant that members could easily be switched if required.

Many of my friends love them and tell me their live shows are absolutely impeccable. Well, they made this playlist so I know Kiss fans will like this.

My favourite song of theirs is "I Was Made For Lovin' You" which they did with Giorgio Moroder.

Rita Lee - "Miss Brasil 2000"

It is amazing what you can find when you scour the internet, and this song by Rita Lee is another find, composed by Rita Lee and released in 1978, I love this. I assume it us sung in Spanish but is rather excellent and from the album Babilônia.

Atari Teenage Riot - "Destroy 2000 Years of Culture"

Some extreme metal rap, that is about as much as I can say. I think I have heard of Atari Teenage Riot, but this is the first time that I have knowingly heard them. You may have noticed that the music has veered significantly away from the mainstream. One more song methinks.

Michael Jackson - "2000 Watts"

We will finish my 2000 playlist with this song from Michael Jackson's "Invincible". Despite his later years' weirdness and obsession with how he looked, he was responsible for some amazing music, and i particularly loved the work he did with the Jackson Five.

Conclusion

Thank you for reading and listening. This concludes my two thousandth Vocal story

pop culturesong reviewspopplaylisthistorycelebritiesbands90s music80s music70s music
8

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer2 months ago

    Well done on 2k! What a milestone 😁 I can't imagine that you wouldn't be allowed to stay, so I wouldn't be concerned about that tbh 👍

  • Congratulations for not only hitting 2k pieces but also for making it before February ended, just like you planned!

  • Fun playlist. Congrats on 2,000. Michael Jackson's appearance in later life was due to a condition called vitiligo which causes white patches on the skin & sensitivity to light.

  • Lana V Lynx2 months ago

    Congratulations on your 2000th story, Mike! This is a huge accomplishment.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.