Beat logo

Meghan’s Melodic Playlist

Melodic Milestone Playlist Challenge

By Meghan LeVaughn Published 12 months ago Updated 12 months ago 7 min read
4

Hello everyone!

I'm looking forward to this! This is the most important exercise for me about this challenge by sharing the music that has shaped my life, lifting up my mood, expressing my feelings/emotions, battling my struggles/pain, seeking amazing adventures, and celebrating my moments, and so on… Creating our own music playlist is always one of the best coping tools and very fun creative tools as well.

Music is always part of my heart, mind, and soul whenever I need some coping time mentally and need some space peacefully. I have over 100 favorites; but unfortunately, it's very hard to pick. So for now, I have to pick some of my favorites-at least 15 or 20. They are mostly mellow, but some are rock and some were pop/funk.

Here are my playlist –

“Let it all go’- Rhodes/Birdie

It's hard to let go. It's still hard to move forward. This is one of the prettiest and most powerful songs I have ever heard. It inspires me for many reasons including my mental health. Sometimes it's still hard for letting it go because there are some feelings that it's very deep. I'm trying. But my vicious cycle is not. I still hope things will get better.

‘Dirty Paws’ by Of Monsters And Men

It is one of my top favorites of this group. I teuly adore Of Monsters And Men and their music! It was released from 2011. I thought about what an incredibly sounds with pure adventurous in this music can be. It's also one of the songs that helped me to escape from the reality of darkness like Peace vs War/Nature vs Corruption/Generiost vs Greed/Hope vs Bleakness, etc.

‘Someone save my life tonight’ Elton John

It was made in 1975. This is one of my favorites from Elton John! I felt inspired by ‘someone save my life tonight’, because of escaping the dark things, dealing with suicidal and intrusive thoughts about if I'm still living in the wrong environment, worst lifestyle, surrounded by toxic people, and abusive relationships in the future. I kept wishing that there was the right person to understand me for who I am. “Butterfly..’ is my major symbol of transformation but also freedom.

“Breaking Down’ - Florence + The Machine

I always love this song! I also love Florence Welch! I have serious issues including finding the right support system for mental health, political corruption, ‘skeletons behind the closet’, boundaries, true colors, fighting for human rights against racism/sexism/homophobia/transphobia, etc When I have terrible breaking downs/meltdowns when things are getting too overwhelming, or too much-my brain has begun to extremely overloaded.

‘Summertime Sadness’/‘Young and Beautiful’ by Lana Del Rey

I thought about these songs so much more than just one subject or a topic. Those songs were released in 2012. I adore Lana Del Rey and couldn't stop listening to as many of her songs as possible. "Summertime Sadness" and "Young and Beautiful" spoke to me about my comfort, self-worth, self-image, loneliness, deep seasonal depression, anxiety, and stress relief.

“Shake it out’ by Florence + The Machine

Just like ‘Breaking Down’, ‘Shake it out’ is one of the best songs I ever listened to. It heals my heart, mind, and soul. I've always have been difficult to dealing with my darkest moments and hellish reality since I grew up as a ‘special ed’ child. It's one of the songs that really cope with mental health and other issues I struggled with as much as I can. I know I could at least try.

“Wish you were here" by Pink Floyd

this is one of my family’s top favorites the whole time. I adore this song too! I thought it was one of the most beautiful songs Pink Floyd had ever made. It also reminds me of my mom or maybe myself when using it as the ringtone for my dad during the divorce. This song is like the feeling of losing someone in our hearts, whether the loss of a loved one, moving to a different state, separation, divorce, long-distance relationship/friendship, & breaking up.

‘High Hopes’ by Pink Floyd

It was made in 1994. This is even most beautiful, peaceful; but even with powerful rhythms & lyrics. This music is giving me some hope. I know it's not one hundred percent perfect or overly successful- but, that's ok.

I also learned that according to the article about lyric meaning- ‘The lyrics of Pink Floyd’s “High Hopes” are based on the idea of a childhood being a more fulfilling era in life.’

Read more at: https://www.songmeaningsandfacts.com/pink-floyds-high-hopes-lyrics-meaning/

I think that sounds about right. So it's my lifetime between my childhood and even my adulthood is still challenging due to the dark reality I went through from ableism to bullying to isolation to divorce to disconnection to shame to seek help and to find hope.

“Purple Rain’- Prince

It was made in 1984. I adore Prince! I always love this song and yes, I love purple! Incredible work! I thought about this song about grief-stricken connections like relationships, friends, & family, even ourselves. I know I haven't had much experience with romantic attractions/relationships and not much positive attentions in decades, even in my teens. I still have a hard time seeing myself as a lover/partner because of many reasons including my trust issues and dealing with my parent's divorce.

‘You make loving fun’- Fleetwood Mac

I am obsessed with this song, especially ‘The Chain’. I thought about this song because I learned that having a good relationship should have fun, not just romantic things, but I mean having a good connection with others you can trust including your friends who make us happy without being toxic and judgemental. When I thought about “Don't Break the spell’- I think it’s sounded more like Don't break boundaries, promises, and trusts.

“Imagine’ by John Lennon

It was made in 1971. Yet another of my family's top favorites! We love the Beatles! And we love John Lennon. I couldn't stop thinking about the lyrics of this song -because we deserve peace, inclusion, connection, and compassion more than trauma, greed, war, and hunger- just like the song “Dirty Paws’ from Of Monsters And Men.

“Wash the Pain Away’/Love Not War’- Katie Gray

I truly adore Katie from the bottom of my heart ever since I became a fan of HELLSING in high school. She's one of the most beautiful people with a compassionate soul I have ever met. She's a terrific actress, a lovely singer, a wonderful author, and an amazing coach. I thought about each of these songs deeply especially when Katie taught about empowering our hearts and our deepest wounds from 15 steps by heart to the wound to the pain to the need for protection to defense to suffering to realization to observe to feeling to connect to release comfort to love to be empowered. Just like John Lennon’s ‘Imagine’, we need love and war is still traumatizing me and even others I cared about.

‘Silver Streets’ by BRAVES

It was made in 2015. I couldn't be more grateful how I really enjoyed this. The songs were from the band called BRAEVES. I've been enjoying recently months, especially the lead singer(now Voice Actor) Ryan Colt Levy who brings up a remarkable voice between performer & music. Ryan is truly one of the most kindhearted people with delightful personality I ever met from three conventions so far. When I thought about this song, I listen when I'm in a good mood and using my imagination with good things especially when I'm on a road trip, etc. It's like I'm in an adventurous, happy place. But sadly, when it came out of nowhere like from my intrusive thoughts, I lost it. It's like I'm already lost in the woods or the dark lonely night. I had a hard time when I felt down and had trouble listening to this song. Then, whenever I take the time, I have a chance to listen more as I can. Yes, all of the songs from their music is fantastic. I recommend it! Like everyone said that I keep thinking thought about important things -take one step at a time. One day at a time.

’1-800-273-8255’ by Logic

I truly love this song. This same feeling from Elton John’s ‘Someone Save My Life Tonight’-I had a hard time surviving a lot of serious personal issues including betrayal, ghosting, breaking boundaries, disconnection, growing up in a mostly conservatives area, having perfectionist issues, being trapped in the ableist society, having toxic shame/positive, having a hard time being a woman from horrific patriarchy, being shamed because I'm queer/aro asexual, and so on. This song also helps me to stop crying, sing alive, and comfort as much as I can.


I know the battles for my mental health are always not easy. I know I haven't recovered a lot because there are so many ups and downs no matter how big or small it is. I wish everyone including people I adore should understand me more, but just once...

indiesong reviewspop cultureplaylistlisthumanityfact or fictionartalternative70s music
4

About the Creator

Meghan LeVaughn

I'm Meghan. I’m almost 36. I always love to be creative and using my imagination since I was a little girl. I like stories & love to share my inspirations, journeys, etc.

www.twitter.com/MegsDreamDesign

www.instagram.com/meghansdreamdesigns

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • D. ALEXANDRA PORTER12 months ago

    One of the reasons I enjoy Vocal is I get to meet people who live different lives but share common joys and struggles. Your playlist helps me do that. Thank you.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.