Beat logo

Breaking Boundaries: Inside the Evolution of DSTNCT Art Media

Creative Spotlight

By Tammy ReesePublished 17 days ago 5 min read
1

It's our distinct pleasure to introduce our readers to the owners of DSTNCT Art Media, Dennis and Tessa Cruz. With an exciting array of collaborations and ventures on the horizon, Tessa and Dennis are charting new territories in the world of fashion photography. From runway shows with BH Models to navigating the competitive fields of fitness and fashion, their journey is marked by resilience, passion, and a relentless pursuit of excellence. We're excuted to explore their latest endeavors and gain insights into their unique approach to artistry and entrepreneurship.

Can you share any exclusive news or projects that you both are currently working on with DSTNCT Art Media?

Tessa: DSTNCT Art Media is constantly growing and evolving right now. It is a very exciting and scary time for us as we navigate our way to finding where we fit in and how to grow our business. We recently started working with BH Models in Miami. The owner Alexy Mendez has been so kind and amazing to us. He has provided us some awesome opportunities like shooting Miss Hispanic, Miss Pre Teen Universe, and Miss Hispanic Teen International. Through him we have also shot our first ever runway show, a personal dream of ours. Since then, we have shot a number of runway shows and are looking to do many more: Miami Swim Week and Art Basel is on our radar.

Dennis, with your extensive experience in the fitness and fashion industry, what advice would you give to aspiring photographers looking to break into these competitive fields?

Dennis: In both these industries, as it pertains to photography, it's all about who you know! Networking and building trust and relationships will take you very far. Provide individuals, business owners, companies, and brands within these industries with as much value as you can through the quality and timeliness of your work. Don't rely solely on social media to find these people. Instead, start by going to local events and find out who's around and what exactly it is that they need. It's difficult, time consuming, and uncomfortable, and that's why it's a winning tactic: most people are not willing to go through that trouble. Also, it doesn't hurt to have a friend in PR like Katrina Hirtz of Kick Up Your Heels Entertainment!

Tessa, you've had a diverse background, from coaching indoor skydiving to now working in fashion photography and styling. How have these experiences shaped your approach to your current role as a stylist, model coach, and photographer?

Tessa: In all things I do, I want one thing to be apparent: my passion. Whatever it is I'm doing, I feel very strongly about sharing my passion with all those around me. When I was teaching indoor skydiving for example, it was very important for me to be a part of someone's experience. For some, it was a bucket list item and for others, it was a way to build on their skydiving skills, but it was always very special to me that I'd get to be a part of their journey.

Similarly, now that I get to work with models and help style them or pose them, I get to share my passion and be a part of their journey. I like to get people out of their comfort zone and give them a place to feel inspired. By getting someone to try a new outfit or hit a new pose, you can make them see themselves in a whole different way and maybe find a new, beautiful version of themselves they didn't know existed. I find too often people live inside their comfort zone and they miss so many new and awesome opportunities because of fear. I help people conquer that fear. I guess you could say I believe in giving people the best and most memorable experience. Whether that experience is flying in a tunnel or posing for the camera, I believe in creating memories that will last a lifetime.

What are some of the biggest lessons you've learned along the way in your career journey or within your company?

Dennis: We would both have to agree that success lies beyond that curtain of fear. More often than not, piercing through that curtain leads to opportunity, and sometimes that opportunity leads to reward. Fear is just an obstacle, and in life, the obstacles we face can show us the way towards our hopes and dreams. Therefore, we can use fear as our compass, instead of letting it deter us or hold us still.

How has 2024 been for the both of you professionally and personally? Have there been any significant milestones or challenges that have shaped your year so far?

Dennis: It's been extremely difficult, but extremely rewarding at the same time. Having recently immigrated to the USA from Canada and starting from zero all over again has forced me to make changes at a rapid pace, but it has also given me the chance to pursue all the things I've always wanted to do in photography but never did. I've had to step way outside my comfort zone in order to start making a name for myself in the arenas I wanted to take my work to.

Since we launched DSTNCT Art Media in August of last year, we have worked so hard through many hurdles and difficulties, but have started to make a series of small wins as of late. These small wins have slowly started to turn fear into confidence, and have opened my eyes to see where opportunities lie. Making connections with my fellow creatives and business owners in South Florida has been empowering and fosters much of the hope that I feel in my heart.

What have been some of the most memorable moments of your career together with DSTNCT Art Media, and how have you overcome challenges as a team?

Tessa: Last year we did over 40 photoshoots within the span of 6 days in Las Vegas during a fitness competition. We had the opportunity to work with some amazing individuals from all over the world. It was a monumental task. Stress and exhaustion got the best of us at times, but when it came time to perform, we had each other's back and produced some of our best work to that date. Last July, we went to New York to attend the Coco Rocha Model Camp. It was such a valuable experience for both of us, but especially for myself. Much of what I bring to shoots as a model and much of what I teach models comes from my experience there.

Learn more by visiting:

Website: https://www.dstnctartmedia.com/

Instagram: @dstnctartmedia

feature
1

About the Creator

Tammy Reese

Tammy is best known for her legendary interviews with Sharon Stone, Angela Bassett, Sigourney Weaver, Geena Davis, Morris Chestnut, Jeffrey Dean Morgan, Sheryl Lee Ralph, Laurence Fishburne, Omar Epps, Joseph Sikora, and more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Alex H Mittelman 17 days ago

    Well written! Thanks for the introduction! ♥️🇮🇱

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.