Beat logo

Mariann's Candy Box Playlist

My Friend Mariann Suggested I Did A Candy Box Playlist..... This is It

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Top Story - April 2023
43

Introduction

My friend Mariann Caroll suggested that I did a Candy Box playlist after reading and listening to my "Temptation" playlist which you can be tempted by below.

Most people love candy in some form and I am certainly addicted to chocolate despite being diabetic. I have periods when I don't have any chocolate but I am always tempted back for one reason or another.

Last night I was out walking and needed a quick sugar fix so went to the local shop to get a Twix but there was no one serving, lots of staff chatting in the shop but none behind the till, so I didn't get one, so my chocolate fast was unbroken.

Now we can start on our musical sugar fix and hopefully, there will be one or two tunes that will be sweet enough for your sweet tooth. Def Leppard's "Pour Some Sugar On Me" and "Sugar Sugar" by The Archies got slight considerations, but it has to be real things that you expect to find in a candy box not components of candy.

So open the box and find something you like. My mum's favourite was coffee cream but I have never been too enamoured with that flavour.

The sweets obviously don't have to be chocolate so you will get a varied selection in here.

The Beatles - "Savoy Truffle" from The White Album

When Mariann suggested the Candy Box playlist this list of chocolates from The Beatles immediately sprang to mind to kick off this particular list of songs. The thing is when you open a box of chocolates or candy one is never enough, is it?

Mike Harding - "Uncle Joe's Mintballs"

Mike Harding is now a respected Folk performer and DJ on the BBC.

I saw him many times in my youth and he is very North of England based, sometimes funny and sometimes serious. He lives in Settle where I holiday a lot and have met him a couple of times.

This song is about the medicinal purposes of some local confectionary.

Bow Wow Wow - "I Want Candy"

A great take on the Strangeloves original by the band put together by Malcolm McLaren in 1980. McLaren recruited members of Adam and the Ants to form the band with then 13-year-old Annabella Lwin on lead vocals.

I love the updated Bo Diddley riff on this song and the cover of the album caused a lot of controversy because of the age of Annabella Lwin.

The 1975 - "Chocolate"

I love the sparse guitar riff on this gently relentless tune.

Tom Waits - "Chocolate Jesus"

Tom's idea of ideal confectionary for Easter, not to everyone's taste, but it is to mine.

Shanks & Bigfoot - Sweet Like Chocolate

Some chocolate that you can actually dance to as well as enjoy it's sweetness.

The Chordettes - "Lollipop"

Trying to add a little sweet variety into this playlist, going back to even before I was born, but it is a fun song.

Millie Small - "My Boy Lollipop"

From 1964 this is the first record that I remember my mum absolutely loving, and one of the earliest brought to these shores by Chris Blackwell who went on to bring us Island Records.

I don't know about you, for me this has not dated at all, even though this was released about thirty or forty years before a lot of my Vocal friends were even born. If you haven't heard this, listen, I guarantee you will love it.

The Drifters - "Sweets For My Sweet"

This was covered by the Searchers with more emphasis on the guitars but I do love the original, especially the vocals and piano line. I was four when this was released.

I'll finish the playlist here, so you have a small box with nine different musical candies to enjoy.

vintagesong reviewsplaylistlistcelebritiesbands90s music80s music70s music60s music
43

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (23)

Sign in to comment
  • Kristen Balyeatabout a year ago

    This was so awesome and such a fun idea! Lots of new songs for me to explore. Fantastic job, Mike! I really enjoyed this!

  • Karthick about a year ago

    nice

  • Ash Taylorabout a year ago

    Mike, have you heard of a Facebook group called oddly specific playlists? This playlist you've made (which is fantastic by the way) really makes me think of it - in good ways I promise! You've inspired me to come up with some more niche playlists. Right now the only one I have is a food themed one for dinner at a friends place where all the songs are about food.

  • This was so amazing! Congratulations on your Top Story!

  • Grz Colmabout a year ago

    What a fun idea 💡! I particularly enjoyed “the drifters” one growing up as my parents had it on frequently. I seem to have way too many cavities from my naughty sweets consumption. Maybe I should play more sweet music instead! 🎶 😃✨🍫🍬

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Congratulations on T S!!! Definitely a sweet beat treat!!!💖💖💕

  • Brenton Fabout a year ago

    Anything with Tom Waits!

  • Loryne Andaweyabout a year ago

    This was a fun musical romp! Now, I want chocolate. Congratulations on your Top Story!

  • Congratulations on your Top Story 💖🎉😉

  • Alexis Wellmakerabout a year ago

    You have excellently blended my two loves - candy and music. This idea would be a hit at parties. What a cool concept!

  • Ahamed Thousifabout a year ago

    Wow!!! Amazing Work...

  • Shane Dobbieabout a year ago

    Fancy a Twix now. And some tunes on the hifi

  • Dana Crandellabout a year ago

    Congratulations on the Top Story. Saw this one coming.

  • Melissa Ingoldsbyabout a year ago

    Great song selection! Congratulations on top story brother!

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    Congratulations it made Top Story 🥰🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Congrats on the TS

  • Nice💖✨

  • Sweet! (Betcha didn't see that one comin', did ya?)

  • Denise E Lindquistabout a year ago

    Fun, fun!!😊💕

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    Fun playlist, enjoyed this.

  • Dana Crandellabout a year ago

    This was a fun playlist and I discovered a couple of new tunes. Well done!

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    That was fun. Nicely done.

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    That Mike, this was a very fun playlist , this was the best candy box surprise ❤️🥰

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.