Beat logo

For the Omies

A Meditation Playlist

By Mel BrunsonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
For the Omies
Photo by Manja Vitolic on Unsplash

Hey Omies.

Sometimes I forget I’m human. In the magical and mundane senses. This compilation of music tickles me where I’m lost. Yes, tickles. Because while it's uncomfortable. And awkward. It's all in good jest from the universe.

Stars have songs, too, apparently. If we speed them up, I wonder if they sound like anything on this list.

Jhené Aiko- Trigger Protection Mantra:

Heavy is a word I shy away from, in relation to my body. But slowly. I feel weighted enough to step on the ground and

Move forward.

I melt on the floor of my room, when I finally listen all the way through.

Surrender unearths gravity in my center. My core submitting to natural laws, pulling the rest of me closely to it, until my body feels real, and buzzing.

Silver Mt. Zion- 13 Angels Standing Guard 'Round the Side of Your Bed:

In the womb of my closet, headphones hovering over my head like a halo, I felt them. Angels seeping like milk tea.

As soon as I’d chosen this track for my free style, I knew I was inviting them anew.

I couldn’t feel their emotion. Only presence; my body dyed their golden hue.

It was as intense as the first time I heard the song. Complete immersion into Something I Never Felt But Trusted Nonetheless.

I acknowledged them for a moment. We made what humans would consider eye-contact, and I lifted my voice into the lurching synths, attempting, for the sake of my visitors, to believe the words given to me.

Raw Power bursts from bloom.

And Angels wait everyday to be remembered.

Reviving the connection leaves me feeling lost in a world I pretend to have a hold on. My upturned hand exposed. Reason understated to rhythm.

Priority muted to pulse.

Emeli Sandé- Selah:

Some songs, I think, are burdened by words.

This one? Enlightened.

Every space is intentional. And that’s what it gives me: space. Even though her feelings are her own, Emeli Sande found a language that felt as personal as the only picture left, the face saved from a fire.

From the northernmost point of her voice, a star told me they believed in me. I still wonder how it embraced my skepticism so tight it became a sharp, glistening diamond. Truth, by the time this gem found me, had dulled into a glare.

She

gently lowered the flags I’d tangled into knots

--stakes high up, to Determine What’s What--

and called me Universal.

Tim Hecker- Boreal Kiss Pt.1:

First of all, I’m a sucker for any song with a Part 1, 2, infinity. Everything about the track, from the title (“Boreal” by itself is just a cute thing to put on your lips) to the soundscape makes me smile. How does it name itself after the Arctic and sound inviting enough to swim in? How does it center me stilly, and still I feel silly? A nomad lives in me. An embodiment of play and wandering, wide smile open to the world and back free of luggage. They catch the day in that mouth. They carry no Compelling Argument for Existence. They just are. Light as the notes, their feet find footing on the slimmest clouds, the fleeting twinkles of far away stars. This song sounds like something I could create.

Thanks, Omies.

Enjoy, and remember to tip your angels.

humanity
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.