Beat logo

Can We Kick It?

A Playlist to Get You Moving

By Jen E.Published 4 years ago 3 min read
1
A Spotify playlist to pull you away from the screen & get you moving

Can I Kick It?

A classic & instant mood booster, “Can I Kick It” set this playlist into motion. Housebound by Covid-19 in this strange quarantine season, I needed something to shake off the creeping lethargy & laziness. My Google Home Mini became more acquainted with, “Hey Google, play music” requests, and the song played serendipitously and deejayed an impromptu (and very solo) dance party in my living room. The playlist grew as I uncovered new & old favorites, and became 1.5 hours of pure, groovy, body swayin’ joy.

Are you listening yet? Just press play up there.

Make Me Feel

While the days feel full with virtual meetings & deadlines, this quarantine has unquestionably opened up space: space to cook new recipes, to take afternoon walks outside, and to string together music playlists.

I felt like I was 14 years old again, downloading songs from Napster & Limewire and painstakingly burning them onto a CD. Back in those days, I took it to the next level with custom labels -- the hand control it required to put that bagel shaped sticker onto the CD was no joke. And then came the jewel cases and personalized jackets with lyrics & artwork photoshopped together. Yes, I was that person. No shame.

The following decade & a half feels like a blur with haphazardly Shazam-ed songs in restaurants preceded by, “Oh I like this." I relied heavily on Spotify’s curated mixes to keep me going when I needed music. Sometimes, admittedly, I felt a frantic disappointment when I jumped from one playlist to the next in search of the “perfect” one. During those times, I made a mental note to create my own, but it seemed to always get buried in the long lists of to-do’s.

Lot To Learn

With this precious “extra” time & space gifted to me, I began listening to more music. (Two favorite go-to’s on Spotify: The Lindsey Lomis Radio & Alternative R&B Playlist.)

I discovered the joy that is Bren Joy’s “Upper East Side”, a song that feels like sunshine & gospel, delightfully sprinkled with the f-word. Don’t know how I made it these past years without knowing the soulfulness of Kevin Garrett. My love for Lizzo became official as I added her songs, an album of self-love anthems for this generation. I rekindled my admiration for the greats like Janelle Monae & Erykah Badu; “Love of My Life” is forever a mood.

I embraced the vibe-y pop of Shawn Mendes & Normani; somehow “Lost in Japan” felt right at home and I will never forget Normani’s jaw-dropping, mic-dropping release of “Motivation”. An energizing playlist isn’t complete without Bruno Mars, Cardi B, and Chance the Rapper. And who could forget how Aloe Blacc lifted our spirits with “Love is the Answer” & a new favorite “Brooklyn in the Summer”?

I’m grateful for the new gems I’ve uncovered, both old & new: Biz Markie, Emotional Oranges, Forrest, Masego, Anderson.Paak, a new K-pop favorite pH-1, and last but not least Luke Christopher with “Lot to Learn”.

Shut Up & Groove

This playlist has been keeping me company on my neighborhood strolls, putting a pep to each step. It fills the home with good vibrations; keeping my hips moving, head gently nodding to the beat. Vacuuming & washing the dishes become more bearable as the rhythms make time pass quicker. And on the days I wake up groggy & perhaps a little defeated, the music can easily transform my mood by nudging a small smile onto my face. Best case scenario, it brings on a few stank faces as I two-step into the kitchen.

Hopefully this playlist will do the same for you. My bigger hope is that as life returns to a new normal, the music will join us on the happy reunions with our loved ones: road trips with the besties, Saturday hangs in the backyard with the barbecue grilling, and late nights flowing with wine & cheese. Until then, I hope that these songs start a little solo dance party in your living room.

playlist
1

About the Creator

Jen E.

Am I too old for this?

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.