Beat logo

5 indie songs to ignite creativity

Some hand picked songs that made me... well you'll see

By TestPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
5 indie songs to ignite creativity
Photo by NIKHIL on Unsplash

These are 5 songs I wanted to highlight from a playlist on Spotify named "Creativity Boost."

Alive by Julietta, Equanimous and Oliwa

A magical melody. It feels like pink smoke is blowing around my face and I can smell a strawberry scent that tickles my nose and ignites a feeling of bliss and ecstasy.

Maybe we'll be better off this time

Maybe you and me we can stay alive

Silver by Novo Amor and Tullett

We're your daughter

We're your ornery teeth

We're your author

We're your quarterly leave

Light and melodic. The male vocalist sounds sincere and harmonizes effortlessly with the music. There is no overpowering and he sounds like a gentle wind against the pattering rain. Subtlety is achieved but there is an intense deepening felt within the music. There has been an understanding of what mood they would like to be in each part of the song. There is a part where it becomes louder and more forceful. The mood changes into something with more will, conviction and strength. It starts to believe the words they were singing and the song which held so much beauty already, became more alive.

Scarlett by Holly Humberstone

Honest words and witty lyrics. The beat behind the vocals make me want to tap my head, the fast tempo beholds me and keeps me wanting more. Her voice is distinct enough to be a good contrast between her and the music. She doesn't need volume to be heard. Her voice has a nice suave feeling to it, unique and easy on the ear.

The Pines by Roses and Revolutions

With a voice like honey, her sound melts against the imagery of the pine forest I imagine. I definitely met her in the pines. It sounds sensual, seductive and her voice tantalizes and teases you into the song and holds you there. Even when there is no vocalist, the harmonious and magnetic music keeps you exactly where they want you. Music and words is a shakti experience and deep massage in my mind.

Mara by Jack Garratt

A beautiful ballad. This song pulls me in quickly with the addictive tempo and his voice has enough sincerity and truth to make me stay and want to listen. I imagine him to be smiling when he sings.

Oh, Mara, why do you stand there?

Storytelling in the song is feel-good and great company.

In this office - me alone with the laptop and the music playing on my tablet, the song sings:

You're with me in the dark

The song speaks to me and I love the name Mara. I looked it up and Mara means bitterness in Hebrew but the etymology which I always go off first is bitter or strong.

The part with the stronger power reminds me of him singing in a church. Preach! There is a great use of dynamics and I love the variety within the song. When he starts his more intense part, it sounds like the choir church joins him. Collaboration is the best part for me, they may have left it at the end, as it is the most engaging part of the song as well as the reason you'll listen to the whole song again. Unity is achieved. You'll be six minutes in heaven if you listen to this.

Hummed Low by Odessa

Was a full sun at high noon

And up rose a bright moon

Casting shadows

Like dancing sparrows

It sounds innocent, like they were sitting in a living room casually and busting this song out on a whim. It works, and they sound like they are enjoying themselves and are working effortlessly at making this sound authentic. They nail authenticity. I love the tribal sounds in the background, there is a consistent shimmering sound which adds a layer of magic and enigma. It beholds a spirit within the song that most people find it hard to capture, but when they do, it pulls people in and they want exactly what the song offers you.

playlist
Like

About the Creator

Test

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Test is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.