Beat logo

7 soft tracks to transport you to India

Staring out the window, let your daydreams of India begin.

By TestPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Although my parents were born in Uganda, their Indian culture is as strong as their chai. With their spices of cinnamon, cardamom and sometimes ginger added to their tea brewing in milk and water, the aroma wafts through the house and I instantly get transported to magical India.

Indian chai combined with these tracks will instantly create an Indian sanctuary. With the lack of traveling nowadays, if India has been a desired destination, do not hesitate to start traveling even though you can't get there physically. Be transported with these songs swirling in your heart and let your tantalizing taste buds of the chai salivate its way to another world.

1) Heer by A. R. Rahman, Harshdeep Kaur and Gulzar.

This song stands out as I once went to a retreat with some of my Sufi friends and my sister came along too. In the evening, laughter and conversations could be heard and then music and songs were coming alive. One of the songs my sister decided to sing was this one which has a Sufi feel to it. I mumbled some lyrics that I knew under my breath, but my sister basked in the spotlight and she was fearless. In a room of about 12 other people she had never encountered, I was in awe.

2) Jashn-E-Bahaaraa by A. R. Rahman and Javed Ali

I find this song to be very endearing and I really like the voice of the singer. Although I don't know the Hindi language, I am moved by the sound of this melodic harmony. I am also a fan of the movie which is a historical love story between a Muslim man and Hindu woman. I love stories of overcoming differences through the power of love.

When I was 28 years old, I visited Delhi by myself and listened to this song on repeat in my hotel. Memories of those magical moments always remain with his song.

3) Phir Se Ud Chala by Mohit Chauhan

This soft melody from the movie "Rockstar" is a favorite. Although it is a pretty long movie, even for Bollywood's standards, the songs within it are extraordinary. With my love of Sufism, there are a lot of Sufi influences with the music which is probably why it tugs on my heart strings.

4) Titli by Chinmayi and Gopi Sundar

The title of the song means butterfly and the song moves like one too. It flies around and you chase it on a romantic and magical adventure. I love this song as my partner said to me once, "This is you in a song." I thought that was very sweet so that will stay with me forever.

I also love the traditional tones in the music, based on sounds originating from Southern India. It brings a very earthy and sacred feel to the music which I love.

5) Moh Moh Ke Dhaage by Anu Malik, Monali Thakur and Varun Grover

This song was a recommendation from a friend and I listened to it throughout my trip in India. I love the traditional singing style of the artist and her voice is so velvety and clear. I also love the movie which for Indian standards is unique, as it portrays an arranged marriage between a man and an overweight woman. Bollywood can be very selective with what beauty is so this movie is fabulous just based on the message they are trying to send out. It also highlights the stereotypes within India. There is also a male version of the song by an artist named Papon which is great also.

6) Tere Bina by A. R. Rahman & 3 artists

The drum beats and the male singer are like a heavenly match. They compliment each other and there is great harmony in the song. The female vocal is powerful and she has an extensive range which is impressive. Rhythmically, this song sends you far off into India and creates an ambience of tradition, ritual and ceremony.

7) Ghanan Ghanan by A. R. Rahman and co

This song is from the movie "Lagaan" an Indian classic. This song depicts a drought and the village becomes excited to see there might be rain coming. It is like a rain song and rain dance, Bollywood style. I like the harmonizing between the singers and the drum work. I highly recommend the movie, an oldie but a goodie.

Here is the list on Spotify for easier accessibility :)

playlist
Like

About the Creator

Test

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Test is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.