Art logo

"Anniyan and Ghajini – carved my childhood very deep, till now." - me (Part – 2)

Movies changed my life

By Sanjith SPublished 10 months ago 3 min read

Why was the year 2005 a miraculous and remarkable one for me? The release of Anniyan, Chandramukhi, Ghajini, and their theatre experiences made 2005 an astounding one. So, after the incredible experience of Anniyan, I set my foot on Ghajini. Ghajini is again in the same genre as Anniyan, a psychological action thriller directed by A.R. Murugadoss. First of all, while thinking back to Ghajini, the first thing that comes to my mind is "Sanjay Ramasamy ."Though the character's name doesn't suit the physique and appearance of our protagonist Surya, his performance and the character sketch made the name" Sanjay Ramasamy" an iconic one. I still remember, when I was small, my neighbors used to call me Sanjay Ramasamy as my name was Sanjith. While watching the movie, my mom will tell me that this is one of the most essential films and the turning point for Surya, even I too felt that because there's a before and after effects of Ghajini. Before Ghajini, Surya's filmography primarily focussed on rom-com thrillers with the same typical character arch. But in Ghajini, his appearance, hairstyle, and many things were changed. In fact, I was obsessed with all of his outfits, peculiarly the red, green, and black long sleeve sweatshirts. Not only his screen presence but also his method of acting, which made the movie a blockbuster one. Like I said, I'm obsessed with his outfits and some things the character uses. When I was small, I had a craze for helmets, shoes, guns, and watches, etc. In Ghajini, Surya (amnesia character) uses a camera that produces an instant picture (for capturing the people he murdered). I desired to have one like that (not for taking pics of the corpse). Besides Surya, one more character elevated the movie to the next level, i.e., Kalpana (Asin). Her character's conversation and the way she says," Naan Sanjay Ramasamy ah love pannallappa", appear that she's vivacious. The pair, Sanjay Ramasamy – Kalpana, was unquestionably an epic one. The one I couldn't accept or digest till now was the scene where she's passing away without knowing that Surya was the Sanjay Ramasamy pretending to be Manohar for her. Also, he lives in her flat to remember and reminisce about his past times with her.

The apartment would also be ghastly and terrific, with a dark greenish look after her demise. One similarity between Anniyan and Ghajini was the music director, Harris Jayaraj, really nailed his part. His rom and haunting background scores for both Surya and the two villains were prodigious. I loved the background score, particularly at the climax shot when a small girl, while crossing the road, smiles at Surya, in return, the rigid Surya slowly smiles at the end, was a remarkable scene because no one would have thought that (amnesia character) Surya will grin. As I said, it's not either a review or an appreciation post, So I couldn't share everything about the movie. Recently, I watched Christopher Nolan's Memento. I was shocked after watching that because Ghajini Surya's (amnesia) character sketch was entirely copied from the protagonist of the Memento. Even the tattoo's font style of the Memento's protagonist was exactly plagiarized.

Still, the script was the director's (A.R. Murugadoss's) own variation because everyone knows "It's impossible to copy or even try to copy Nolan's screenplay ."Anyway, without inspiration, we can't do anything. The one thing that disturbs my mind is, "Why did the director title the film" Ghajini"?" In fact, before starting the blog, I searched for the meaning and found out that the title is a reference to Mahmud of Ghazni, Sultan of the Ghaznavid empire. I don't know whether that guy is a short-term memory loss patient so, they may keep his name as a reference to the movie. Because no character in the film was named" Ghajini ."But in the Hindi remake, which was released in 2008, one of the villains was named" Ghajini ."But I haven't watched it yet. So, this is also one of my favorite Kollywood movies that carved my childhood very deep, till now. Hence, this is like 'my moments' about the film, but not the review, the review of all my favorite movies will be shared in the coming days. Until then, bye! Bye.

Yours,

Sanjith.

Mixed MediaJourneyCritiqueContemporary Art

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Antoinette L Brey10 months ago

    I had never heard about this movie. Sounds good

SSWritten by Sanjith S

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.