Journal logo

"Anniyan and Ghajini – carved my childhood very deep, till now."

Movies changed my life

By Sanjith SPublished about a year ago 3 min read

I had spent my whole childhood watching movies. Not many films, a few films but many times. I still remember, in those days, we had 2 in 1 movie CDs (two to four movies in one CD) which made my days very cheerful and gleeful. And I still safeguarded hundreds and hundreds of CDs till now, considering those are my precious assets. Now, I'm here to share my experiences with some movies that I've watched infinite times. But in this post, I like to share that only one, remaining will be released day by day.

As I was born in Tamil Nadu, obviously, my first experience would be Tamil movies. The two movies which influenced my character and my own conscience that scared and scarred me inside till now were "Anniyan" and "Ghajini ." Both were released in the same year,2005, and I had enjoyed both the movies in the theatre. I was three years old. Anniyan was my first experience, and then Ghajini. In this post, I would like to start with Anniyan.

Anniyan is an Indian Tamil-language psychological action thriller film written and directed by Shankar. I remember how I was scared and cried while watching the movie. Even though I got frightened, I loved it to the core. Also, my mom took me for the second time. The main reason I watched this movie multiple times was the characters in the film. It's basically an alter ego theory concept, where protagonist Mr. Ramanuja Iyer suffers from multiple personality disorders and develops into two different characters, i.e., Mr. Remo and Mr. Anniyan. (It's not going to be a review on this movie). In fact, at that time, I didn't even know the meaning of this movie's title and also why there named that character "Anniyan ." Till the 11th standard, I thought that personality's name was "Anniyan," so the movie's title was also Anniyan. Why I'm saying this is because, for many years, I've concentrated only on the story, scenes, dialogues, and characters repeatedly. "Anniyan" is an ancient Tamil word, meaning "the stranger". So, here comes the connection between the name, title, and character. Dir. Shankar excellently cast his characters; all of them lived their role. All of them, in a sense, Vikram, Sadha, Vivek, and Prakash Raj, really nailed their performance and kept the audience very engaging throughout the movie.

If anyone asks me who the film's real hero is, I won't say it's either Shankar or Vikram. I would say its writer of the movie, Mr. Sujatha, because of his magnificent and supreme dialogues, not only in this movie, like Shankar's every movie from 'Gentleman' to 'Sivaji'. There's my favorite dialogue; the Anniyan character admits the murders he committed when he appears with the mask and the press at the Nehru Stadium. There, a reporter will ask, “Ivlo chinna thappuku, ivlo periya thandanaya?”, where Anniyan will reply,”Thappu enna banniyan size ah? small , medium, extralarge uhnuh…”. Not only the severe conversations but in the scene, where Ramunujam Iyengar aka Ambi argues with TTR of the train for the unhygienic food supplied, "Sambar ngra perla manja thanni, Rasam ngra perla komiyam, idhenna Appalama? Kerchief ah?". Other than the characters Ambi and Anniyan, there's another one who really stole the show, that is, none other than Mr. R-E-M-O. This character was really lit. I would clearly elaborate everything about this movie in my review blog. Now I'm sharing only what I personally liked the most. There will be a scene of CG showing how the hell would look with Harris Jayaraj's background score and "Garudapuranam" concept; these things played a vital role. Also, the songs were not one or two; everything was stupendous. I love “Kannum Kannum nokia” ,”R-E-M-O”,”Andangakka Kon…” to the core. When I was studying 9th std, I again bought Anniyan movie CD (5.1 surroundings) and relished it. Even to show my dedication, I called my mom to watch me while the scenes were kept running on mute, and I was giving exact prompt on it. The best part was her look on me for three seconds, without blinking, indicating that she made a mistake before 2002, and now she's suffering. (My DOB(20/01/2002) LOL. I think I almost covered all the things I remembered. If I left something, it would be covered in the movie review and be posted within a few days. And my experience on Ghajini will be shared tomorrow. Until then, bye! Bye.

Yours,

Sanjith

humorsocial mediamovie reviewheroes and villainscelebritiesart

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    SSWritten by Sanjith S

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.