Writers logo

We Are Vocal Creators

What We Do And The Effects It Has

By Mike Singleton 🌜 Mikeydred 🌛Published about a month ago • 1 min read
Made Me Think

Introduction

I saw this meme on Facebook and it made me think about how think of ourselves as creators, our hopes, successes and what we may see as failures.

WE ARE VOCAL CREATORS

Not sorry about the shouty headline, and the use of Bob Marley's "Get Up, Stand Up" and the accompanying music for this piece.

We all would like to be successful creators, and for some that will happen, but so many writers, musicians and artists have to treat it as something supported by a day job. There are many who have made their millions and could just retire and do what they want.

We would love to have a form of income that meant we could indulge in the things in life that truly make us happy, and allow us to create a share all forms of art.

I believe that all financially successful people have either had big slices of luck or help from others.

While I continue to try and find ways to make that happen for me, as yet it still hasn't happened but I do feel that I have been reasonably successful in life, and on Vocal.

The thing is we may not become financial millionaires but the stories, articles and poetry we share on Vocal brings delight to readers, both vocal members and outside readers, and we should be thankful that Vocal's platform allows us to do that. I'm not sure if they have reached their millionth story yet but that should surely get an award.

Vocal provides us with a huge library, of stories, articles and poetry for all of us to read and if we are members, we can contribute too.

Conclusion

Think, every story that you share may cause joy and excitement, and may make you think and learn things.

This is an ongoing thing, and like me you may anthologise your work and produce hard copy books so that people can read your work when you are not online.

So keep creating and spreading the pleasure of your work throughout the world.

Thank you for reading.

VocalShoutoutPublishingInspirationCommunityAdviceAchievements

About the Creator

Mike Singleton 🌜 Mikeydred 🌛

Weaver of Tales & Poems

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎ ♫

X ÖŽ In ÖŽ YT (0.2m) ÖŽ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me Les ♥ Gina ♥ Heather ♥ Caroline ♥

Babs ♥ ROCK ♥ Dhar ♥ Cathy ♥ Judey ♥ Anna ♥

Daphsam ♥ Misty ♥ Melissa ♥ Ma Coombs ♥

Carol ♥

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (8)

  • Murali29 days ago

    I love the picture you chose here.

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    Yes, it does make me happy that people are happy when they read my stuff. Like what's the point making money from writing if no one actually likes it

  • Ameer Bibiabout a month ago

    Beautiful writeup and ending is superb. So keep creating and spreading your content to make others happy, get something to learn or at least to think. Such insightful works are not being done by ordinary people. Only real creators at heart can do this. As you are.

  • Judey Kalchik about a month ago

    Great music choice to accompany, as always, Mike!

  • Christy Munsonabout a month ago

    I agree wholeheartedly. I was having this conversation just the other day. I am a prolific creator--writer, jewelry designer, wand maker, painter, etc.--and but a lot of other people's standards, I am "unsuccessful." Here on Vocal, I've not won a single official challenge. My stats show approximately 2,600 reads and 115 subscribers, and let's not even talk about the tiny change purse of a wallet... But that's what others might think. Not at all what I think. Am I disappointed when I enter a Challenge and do not win? Hell yes. Especially when I worked really hard on the piece. Or when a piece received a TS and still wasn't in the Runner's Up list. But I am not on Vocal to get "wins" of that sort. The wins as I see them are the reads! It is beyond imagining to me that my words have been read at least 2,600 times (we all know the counting mechanism isn't working optimally but I'll not go there). That is a HUGE number for me. HUGE. To think that something I wrote effected, impacted, touched, spirited, championed, mattered to someone else -- one other person -- is the win in my book (bad pun intended, not sorry). Would I like to be a millionaire from my writing? My wands? My jewelry? My paintings? Of course. But that's not how life works, or it isn't thus far. I think about walking away from Vocal (or at least Vocal+) from time to time, but then I remember all this platform gives me. Complete strangers are reading my fiction. All I have to do it put it out there. Might not be everyone else's idea of success, but it brings me joy. And then, I get to be a reader too!!!!!!! How freaking cool is that?!!! Loved your article. And awesome music selection as always.

  • Kendall Defoe about a month ago

    Always be your best audience!

  • Gerard DiLeoabout a month ago

    Write for yourself...and everyone else who you get to see things a unique way.

  • Anna about a month ago

    Your kind words are really inspiring! Thank you for motivating a lot of creators here!😊🫶

Mike Singleton 🌜 Mikeydred 🌛Written by Mike Singleton 🌜 Mikeydred 🌛

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.