Writers logo

Uncle Ben’s Sun-Ray Club

love at first pencil-mark

By Marie WilsonPublished 11 months ago 3 min read
Runner-Up in Writers Challenge
Uncle Ben’s Sun-Ray Club
Photo by Jacob Dyer on Unsplash

The topic was “How I Spent My Summer Vacation”. Boring, right? Unless, like me, you'd had the most enchanted vacation of all time.

I was a nine-year-old blossoming wordsmith when a kids' writing contest was announced in The Vancouver Sun. It inspired me to set pencil to paper to conjure the magical time I'd had at Disneyland a few years prior.

The theme park was three years old when we visited. And I was five.

Disneyland in the 50s

The summer I was trying to write the Disneyland story, we were staying at my aunt’s beach house in Powell River, B.C. Sitting on a log, with a backdrop of ocean waves swishing ashore, I fell in love with the pencil scratchings that brought my experience to life.

By Eduardo Casajús Gorostiaga on Unsplash

The highlight of our adventure had been Tinkerbell flying from Sleeping Beauty’s castle to the Matterhorn. I searched for adjectives that could convey the thrill I felt in my five-year-old heart as I watched the glittering fairy soar through the dark of night, illuminated by a spotlight.

But: How do you put goosebumps onto a piece of paper? How can graphite accurately express awe? Can words really sparkle like stars and fairy dust?

By Skylar Sahakian on Unsplash

I did my best, but there were problems: like, I wasn't sure how to spell "Matterhorn". Eager to get on with my tale, I put an “M” followed by a blank space. I planned to ask my mother the correct spelling later, then fill it in. Another problem: Where did one find a postage stamp and an envelope in a land of seashells and barnacles?

The contest deadline loomed and I had to finish my masterpiece and get it into the mail. My mother would know where to get the postal supplies but she was busy shucking oysters.

By Ben Stern on Unsplash

Finally, with her mollusk stew bubbling on the stove, she got me what I needed. I folded the piece of foolscap that held my treasury of words and slipped it into the envelope. I licked the stamp and afixed it. I dug the contest announcement out of my suitcase and copied the address onto the envelope: "Uncle Ben's Sun-Ray Club" it began.

That year it cost 4 cents to mail within Canada

I walked to the mailbox down the road and triumphantly put my story into the slot. On my way back to the beach house I was suddenly struck by the fact that I’d forgotten to put the missing word in.

I fretted and I cried. And then I accepted that all the focused imagination I'd put into my first attempt at completing a meaningful story was for naught. (The copy I wrote out and mailed was the only copy of my work.)

By Annie Spratt on Unsplash

But - I won the contest! It netted me $1 in prize money and publication in The Vancouver Sun. To my delight, they had filled in my missing word - this was my first brush with good editors.

Since then, HarperCollins has published my novel, "The Gorgeous Girls", (they also have good editors) and I’ve made a little bit more money with my scribblings for magazines and newspapers. I've also won or placed in a few writing competitions, such as: third place in "Thrift Finds" here on Vocal:

I still write about the magic of existence, making art, the power of sparkles, falling in love, fairies in all their guises. But now, aware of the world’s injustices, I conspire to turn haters into lovers with my words: eg. this piece, which was honoured with Top Story this past June:

It isn’t easy, putting love into words, but it’s what motivates me to keep on writing, and so long as I love doing it, I'll continue.

And, I'm also a better speller now, although I confess that I had to Google "Matterhorn" just to be sure I had it right for this story.

*

Thanks for reading!

Achievements

About the Creator

Marie Wilson

Harper Collins published my novel "The Gorgeous Girls". My feature film screenplay "Sideshow Bandit" has won several awards at film festivals. I have a new feature film screenplay called "A Girl Like I" and it's looking for a producer.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (14)

  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock4 months ago

    Congratulations on your early & continuing success, Marie.

  • Kelsey Clarey9 months ago

    Congrats on the runner-up spot! This was a great read. I loved this bit especially: "How do you put goosebumps onto a piece of paper? How can graphite accurately express awe? Can words really sparkle like stars and fairy dust?"

  • Gerald Holmes9 months ago

    Congrats on your win. Loved your story

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    Congratulations on the runner up win!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Sahar Elhallak10 months ago

    Beautiful piece 💜

  • Naomi Gold10 months ago

    Aww, I loved this so much! God bless editors, haha. “But: How do you put goosebumps onto a piece of paper? How can graphite accurately express awe? Can words really sparkle like stars and fairy dust?” That’s every writer’s struggle in a nutshell. But you make it look easy! Congrats on a most magical Top Story. 🥂✨

  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    Wonderful piece. Congrats on the TS

  • Aaron Schwartz11 months ago

    Congratulations on top story! Wonderful writing. Inspiring.

  • Alex H Mittelman 11 months ago

    Good story! Also congrats on top story!

  • Dana Crandell11 months ago

    A marvelous and triumphant story! Congratulations on your wins, and thank you for sharing the beginning.

  • Test11 months ago

    Marie, this was a wonderful story! This sentence brought a smile on my face: "But now, aware of the world’s injustices, I conspire to turn haters into lovers with my words" This is so poetic!

  • Shirley Jane11 months ago

    This is a beautiful story - Uncle Ben's Sun-Ray Club brings memories of a quieter time on the Lower Mainland - wonderful that they placed you FIRST! What a treasure a copy of that winning story would be - I am lucky to have a small collection of your teen-aged letters (written on mandarin orange paper, faded now.....) -

  • Mother Combs11 months ago

    Great storytelling

  • Babs Iverson11 months ago

    Fabulous storytelling!!! Loving it!!!♥️♥️💕

Marie WilsonWritten by Marie Wilson

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.