Writers logo

Nothing to Show for it

Therapy for Two Hundred

By Mackenzie DavisPublished 4 months ago 6 min read
19
Nothing to Show for it
Photo by davide ragusa on Unsplash

In my third grade gym class, a man called Mr. Flower came to teach karate. What he showed us was like a structured dance, rigid in its rules but flowing like honey throughout my little body. I adored it so much that I convinced my mom to enroll me in his program and to my surprise, she did. My sister joined too and we attended weekly. I’d learn the combinations, memorize them, and teach them to my friends. I felt like I’d found something I’d lacked, that filled me up. It didn’t take long to ascend through the belts (white, yellow, orange) and smash the more complex moves.

Then came the sparring.

I’d maneuvered so well through the wood splitting challenge, various combinations, and hitting the padded targets that I didn’t think there was anything else to learn. Karate was just little games and dances. Sparring? What even was that?

Oh. It was too many things. Bad, bad, bad.

The gear got me. Padding on every part of my body: the tops of my feet, my shins, abdomen, hands and forearms, and worst of all...the helmet. It was like a foam Lego head, sans face. I could not move normally, I couldn’t see great. And it was humiliating.

I tried it anyway. The combinations fled my brain, leaving a cacophony of kicking and punching. Doling them out was okayish, but taking the hits absolutely sucked.

I quit the same day.

Now that it’s been more than 15 years, I will accept laughter in response to this story. I clearly fell into an expected trapping of martial arts: I let my ego win. I couldn’t let myself lose. I couldn't see that in doing so, I would gain real confidence.

When the true purpose of karate came out to meet me, I ran away crying, surprised and even offended by its face.

                     

***

                     

My writing has borne little resemblance to this. So why am I blathering on like some granny hung up on past failings?

Well.

I don’t want to hold onto a toxic pattern. When something gets hard, I don’t want to think I can quit and still regard myself as some paragon of humanity. (Yes, this has been part of my ego problem.)

My shyness and social awkwardness, coupled with pride that didn’t want to fail (read: be publicly embarrassed), left me with an inflated sense of self-worth.

You read that correctly. “An inflated sense of self-worth.”

It’s absurd.

On the other hand, it’s protection. Or maybe just evasion? If I can convince myself that I’m great, I can convince other people. Then I don’t have to sit with how much I truly loathe myself because everyone says I’m the opposite…Ah, but only because I subconsciously conditioned them to do so.

(God, I feel hugely vulnerable putting this in ink. I can feel the fire coming back and singing my eyebrows.)

Enter, stage right, the hellish host of unforeseen psychological consequences:

  • imposter syndrome
  • inconsistent self-image
  • impulsively chasing new ventures
  • fighting the desire to quit
  • believing the worst about myself and those around me
  • no friends
  • etc.

You know the trope of the female boss who terrifies everyone around her into being a yes-man? There’s always a film about her. When someone (usually a sister or “best friend”) inevitably tells her that she’s a bitch, she begins to doubt her decision-making skills, abilities, and perceptions. She begins to ask those yes-men to be honest with her, and naturally, she doubts their answers. When the love interest is actually honest with her and she learns just how delusional she’s made herself to be, growth commences. Yay!

While I don’t think I’ve scared anyone into validating me, I do think I’ve become adept at excusing my own shortcomings and failures, convincing people that I’m right. They see my side before they see the objective situation.

I’ve tangled myself up in my own web, the spider that I am. And the flies got smart.

As a result, I never had to hone skills beyond sucking my own blood.

What a mess.

                    

***

                                 

Thankfully, there is beauty in all this.

I’m not that person anymore.

Do I still struggle? I can’t see how I’ll ever cease to. And that’s okay. I’m finally able to admit a genuine truth: That I’m nothing. To the world, I am nothing. How freeing.

And there’s something else, too. Perhaps the entire point of me writing this therapy session of an essay:

Through Vocal, I’ve found my public square. This is the place I get to see all my insecurities and toxins play out. If my hellish host is on a stage, that means there’s an audience below—cheering, booing, staring. If I mess up, I have to own it. If I’m embarrassed, I can’t just quit and pretend it never happened. Hundreds of witnesses will attest to the contrary if I did.

And, well, I’ve made friends. You know who you are. Thank you for holding me accountable like a real human.

                

***

             

Last May, I decided to take Vocal seriously. Initially, I did a “try and run.” I posted one story. After it got zero attention, I decided it wasn’t the place for me.

Months went by.

Randomly, I checked up on it.

Yep. No reads.

But then I started reading. I subscribed to someone. Then someone else. I left thoughtful comments and they replied to me!

The realization hit gently, yet with all the intensity of a lightning bolt: The golden rule.

Everything changed after that.

I became a published writer. I started making money from my work (not much, but more than I ever expected). And I became a part of a wickedly supportive community that actually understands my creative brain.

What I’ve learned in this eight month journey is that Vocal is not a place for selfishness. The platform thrives on sharing, uplifting others, and being positive. And if I’ve learned anything about fixing pride, it’s that celebrating other people’s success is the most healing thing one can do. I’ve seen my own desires fade away, replaced by the thrill of seeing my friends—my heroes—succeed instead.

Do I still want to win a challenge? Publish a book? Make a blog? See my work in literary journals? Of course I do. And I will. The difference is that I don’t believe I’m owed these successes because of some innate, superior quality. I’ll have to try and fail until I don’t fail anymore.

                  

***

                 

In 2024, my only goal is to continue discovering my humility. Winning a challenge, an award, a contest…It won’t matter if I choose to brag about it to the very people who made it happen. Nevermind that, I don’t want to brag.

The actual measurable version? I am going to read more frequently and connect with more creators. I am going to overthink less when I write. And finally, I will take a leaf out of L.C. Schäfer’s book and fizz. I’m overwhelmed, giddy, and terrified when I look at what I want to complete this year. But most of all, I’m excited to tell you all about it…once I’m done.

It is most poetic to me, seeing how I joined a martial art and then refused to accept the core characteristic said martial art—confrontation. It’s akin to my teacher’s name being “Flower,” I think. Something else was meant to bloom; something delicate. Were I in a place to be even more vulnerable than I already am, I might dive into what this might have been. But perhaps you can fill in the blanks.

                     

***

                     

If Vocal is my community, then there is very little space for my own ego. So here’s to seeing mine finally dissolve into the oneness that my mind ought to be. After all, a divided mind cannot think.

Thank you, Vocal and Vocalites all, for showing me that I am, with no trace of sarcasm, nothing. It means more than I can express.

VocalLifeCommunity
19

About the Creator

Mackenzie Davis

“When you are describing a shape, or sound, or tint, don’t state the matter plainly, but put it in a hint. And learn to look at all things with a sort of mental squint.” Lewis Carroll

Find me elsewhere.

Copyright Mackenzie Davis.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (18)

Sign in to comment
  • Joe O’Connor4 months ago

    Love the genuine vulnerability here, and the honesty about your own journey. If you find a tribe and a thing that brings you joy- that’s a lot! Great read and good for making everyone pause and think about how they perceive failure and success.

  • ROCK 4 months ago

    It's bold to be vulnerable; writing about anything seriously worthy genuinely feels as though we are tattling on ourselves, revealing parts of us that we may fear others might not see as valid. I think you keep me on my toes with your challenges and stories. I need a good kick in the tush. I am trying now to correlate chair yoga with karate. 😂

  • L.C. Schäfer4 months ago

    Thank you for the shout out, and I can't wait to see what arses you kick this year 😁

  • Cathy holmes4 months ago

    This is wonderful piece of self-awareness. I love karate story and how you weren't interested in the confrontation. I'm glad found the opposite in the Vocal community, and I'm happy you stuck with it. Good luck in 2024.

  • Loved all the self reflection. I found this really interesting. I’ve also felt similar ways. Expecting to get more reads just because I want more reads. But I think you expressed a lot of that perfectly, you should keep hoping for that but not leave because something has challenged you or not gone how you wanted it to the first time around. Excellent stuff!

  • Kenny Penn4 months ago

    This is a wonderful piece of self-reflection. I believe sometimes the only way to grow as a person is to strip away the lies you’ve told yourself and see you for what you are. You’ve got wonderful things to celebrate coming Mackenzie, I hope I can be there to celebrate with you

  • Being nothing is just so liberating! I have not achieved that yet but I'm working on it. I was introduced to the concept of nothing/nobody in one of Rene Volpi's pieces and it had a hugeeeee impact on me. Reading this piece of yours had the same impact too! You're sooooo inspirational! Also, I totally get that lighting bolt of realization because that's how I felt too when I started reading other people's stuff when I first joined! I'm soooo grateful to be part of this community and to be friends with you. I wish you all the best for all your goals! 🥰🥰🥰

  • You may be a nothing, but to me you shall never evanesce. My appreciation for you continues to grow with every word you write that I get to read. You are a very good writer, but more importantly you are kind & supportive of others. May 2024 prove to be a wonderful year for you, only to be exceeded by each & every year that follows.

  • Alexander McEvoy4 months ago

    This piece is so positive and full of light Mackenzie! I love the self discovery you’ve been through and I totally relate! I also tried a martial art when I was young, and I was always the kid who hated and ran from adversity. What didn’t come naturally to me was obviously not worth doing because, as the teachers said, if you’re smart you won’t have to try hard. It’s taken me a very, very long time to overcome that conditioning and I’m not always the best at it still. Trying to learn requires not already knowing the subject. Otherwise, it’s not learning is it? I also super related to your bullet list. I had a lot of the same issues. I’ve never liked myself, never once said a kind thing to myself except when fabulously drunk, and struggled to make and keep friendships as a result of my negativity. For the first time ever I’m actively working on cutting myself some slack and learning to, if not like then at least not loathe myself. Wishing you all the success this year in your personal writing journey!

  • G. Douglas Kerr4 months ago

    This is such a positive piece. Thank you for it. Also there is such a good horror story idea in this line: "... I never had to hone skills beyond sucking my own blood." Please tell me you write vampire stories and you will flush this out.

  • LC Minniti4 months ago

    I. Love. This. Everything you said was spot on. Especially the ego bit! We’re all guilty of that I think. Thank you for sharing, and for being such a positive part of this community, Your kind, thoughtful comments are always refreshing, encouraging, and appreciated. Sending you love and success this year!

  • Hannah Moore4 months ago

    Now I was with you, the wind behind, the vacuum in front, with you. And then... penultimate paragraph. What the fuck is this "ought" doing there? Your mind doesn't have to fit a narrative for it, screw that ought, experiment with all the experiences of strength and vulnerability and pleasure and recoil, sure, but "ought" will shoot you from the sky, where we all deserve to be.

  • A. Lenae4 months ago

    The truth you share in this, amongst the lovely and layered word-garden you always plant so seamlessly, is relatable and endearing. I admire your goals. I think anytime we intentionally clock our own egos, it's like hearing our own distinct voice without extra static. And your voice is phenomenal. "As a result, I never had to hone skills beyond sucking my own blood." Oof, loud and clear and right at the soul.

  • Lana V Lynx4 months ago

    You definitely have a lot to show and give to this community, Mackenzie. But being humble is a noble virtue as well. I hope you achieve your goals for this year and beyond.

  • Lamar Wiggins4 months ago

    👏👏👏 Very well structured and expressed. I absolutely loved the karate story, and yes, I did chuckle at you giving up because of the physical contact. The visual was priceless, yet, understandable. Ego is the culprit for many things not ventured in life. Best of luck to you this year, Mackenzie. Thank you for sharing this.

  • D. J. Reddall4 months ago

    Nothing, or given your exceptional insights above, nothing without other writers who love to read? Do they not depend on you in turn, and with good reason?

  • Suze Kay4 months ago

    Here’s to fizzing! Isn’t LC’s piece just marvelous? I referenced hers in my 200 entry as well. But back to yours - I also struggle with the concept of losing, or failing to try for fear of failing. I’m glad you’re putting yourself out there, on this platform and others. I’m very happy your voice is part of the vocal chorus. Can’t wait to see what you produce this year 💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.