Writers logo

Musings on the Misplaced Challenge

With the Misplaced challenge closed, here are my thoughts, my collated entries, and my recommended reads.

By L.C. SchäferPublished 3 months ago Updated 3 months ago 3 min read
16
Musings on the Misplaced Challenge
Photo by Maksym Kaharlytskyi on Unsplash

With the Misplaced challenge closed, here are my thoughts, my collated entries, and my recommended reads.

My thoughts

I thought this one was a lot of fun. I wrote four new entries for this challenge, and entered an oldie from last year that I thought fit the brief as well. Getting inside the head of a lost object was an easy one, which either means I nailed it, or I did it very, very badly. I liked that there were lots of ways to interpret the prompt. I hope Vocal give us more prompts like this one.

My entries

Here they are, oldest to newest. Grab a cup of tea and enjoy, I hope!

First up, Lost. This was one I originally wrote for the Aquarium challenge (remember that?) but I didn't finish it in time to submit. Then I tweaked it, and considered entering it in The Mystery Box challenge. I wasn't happy with it, though, and left it in Drafts. I eventually finished it up and published it in April last year. It's finally getting to be a challenge entry - third time's the charm!

Here it is:

+

The first new story I wrote for this one was L-O-S-T. I think it is obvious what this one is about! A spunky little dog who is "lost" but really doesn't mind it at all! This was a lot of fun to write, because so many stories on this theme are sad ones. It's also personal to me, because it's based on a real character who was an absolute pain in my bottom for fifteen years (but we loved him).

It's my longest story entered into this challenge. It's also the longest one I've published in a while, since most of my content so far this year has been microfiction.

Here it is:

+

Next, Thoughts of a Dead Person:

Another obvious one. This is centered around the idea that when someone dies, we say we "lost" them.

Here it is:

+

Next, A New Friend.

This one is about a real lost teddy bear (pictured), but the story of where he came from and where he ended up is completely imagined.

Here it is:

+

Lastly, Deliver Us From Evil:

If I have any shot (sorry) at all in this challenge, this might be my best one. But I am fully aware I'm biased about this, because I love butterfly effect stories!

This one is about a letter, written by a soldier, asking his girl back home to marry him. The letter goes astray, and their lives unfold very differently than they would have if it had been properly delivered.

Here it is:

+

My Recommended Reads

The Pick Up is light hearted and as descriptively written as you can expect from Hannah Moore:

Best line: the last one! Trust me on this and just read it all the way through.

+

Our Last Ride from Dana Crandell will make you feel stuff - go and read it!

Best line: The last one again, sorry.

+

More Than One Can Bear from The Dani Writer is dark and horrible but also exactly as eloquent and punchy as you an expect. Dani's voice is right there all the way through.

Best line: "I promise not to peek if you gives it a cwtsh" (purely because I adore the word "cwtsh").

+

Monkey by David Brandy is just a lovely story. David imbues Monkey with so much heart, and yours just beats and breaks right along with him:

Best line: "It starts to rain, which is good, because the tears break through."

Some questions

Did you enter? (If so, GOOD LUCK!)

How did you find it? What did you find fun about it, what was tricky?

Thank you!

For reading, for being here, for being supportive, for thoughtful engagement.

If I haven't read yours yet, please remember to leave me a link in the comments!

ShoutoutCommunityChallenge
16

About the Creator

L.C. Schäfer

Book-baby is available on Kindle Unlimited

Flexing the writing muscle

Never so naked as I am on a page. Subscribe for nudes.

Here be micros

Twitter, Insta Facey

Sometimes writes under S.E.Holz

"I've read books. Well. Chewed books."

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (17)

Sign in to comment
  • Paul Stewart3 months ago

    Glad to see that one by Hannah and Dana's getting some love and attention. Well done for another fine bit of curation, LC!

  • Great to collect these. Some excellent pieces for us to check out

  • JBaz3 months ago

    I will have to read your deliver us from evil. You have picked some wonderful ones, Dana and Dani Writer are wonderful

  • Denise E Lindquist3 months ago

    Nice! Thank you!❤️😊💕

  • Thank you for sharing this post with us, L.C. If you hadn't, I would have missed your early stories which were beyond my ability to describe just how wonderful they are. You have parts one & two for an incredible novel. I want you to promise that parts three, four & more are in the works.

  • Joe O’Connor3 months ago

    Great idea to do this! I read Deliver Us From Evil and really liked it- the war setting, the changed lives due to a missed letter, and the tone of wistfulness. I think the Misplaced Item prompt is great! It’s wide enough to give scope, but also makes for an original narration. I managed to write 2 stories for this challenge, one humorous and one a bit less so. This is my other one! https://vocal.media/fiction/the-drawer-of-missing-things

  • Scott Christenson3 months ago

    Nice compilation. I gave myself the challenge of writing the cleanest story about the most inappropriate object.😅

  • All your entries were awesomeeee! I don't think I've read all of the ones of others that you included here. I'd have to circle back for that.

  • Phil Flannery3 months ago

    I think for me, L O S T, about the naughty dog and Deliver Us From Evil, stood out for me.

  • Stephanie Hoogstad3 months ago

    I know I read your story “L-O-S-T”, but I have yet to read any of the others, so I’m going to have to take a look at them. I enjoyed that entry, so I’m sure that I’ll like the others that you wrote and any that you recommend. It’s cool that you finally got to enter “Lost” in a challenge. I’m curious to see what kind of story could possibly fit into the Aquarium Challenge, the Mystery Box Challenge, and now the Misplaced Objects Challenge. I found the perspective easy to slip into as well, so I probably also either did really well or really poorly. 😅 I entered two stories in the challenge. The first one, “Blue Bear”, I know you read. The second one, “The Selkie’s Skin”, became a Top Story, but I’m not sure if you read it or not. Here’s the link just in case: https://vocal.media/fiction/the-selkie-s-skin.

  • Atomic Historian3 months ago

    I really like this idea. I think I’ll do my own spin on the later part

  • Caroline Craven3 months ago

    Good luck! I think your Deliver us from evil was my favourite.

  • Donna Fox (HKB)3 months ago

    I love this LC. This was such a great way to get some extra exposure for a bunch of your entries as well as some that you loved!! I also agree, this was such a fun challenge! I had a lot of fun with it. It was kind of tricky to think of unique story lines but once I got the hang of it, I loved it!

  • Wow L.C. you've been busy. How's the story a day challenge? Are you still going strong?

  • Joe O’Connor3 months ago

    I’ll take a look at the Deliver Us From Evil story you wrote- the idea of butterfly effect scenarios is always intriguing!

  • Dana Crandell3 months ago

    Thanks so much, L.C.

  • Alexander McEvoy3 months ago

    I did enter :) Twice as it happens with Grey Man and Lost But Not Gone, I think you read them? Anyway, I absolutely LOVED your WW1 entry! I 100% think it’s a winner!!! This was a fun one for me, getting into the headspace of something lost was certainly hard, trying to give the inanimate thoughts is never easy. But it was a great time and I’m wishing you the absolute best of luck, LC!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.