Writers logo

Am I a writer?

Journal

By LilyPublished 7 months ago 3 min read
Top Story - November 2023
24
Am I a writer?
Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

“Am I a writer?” I ask myself this question often. Too often. Why do I second guess myself on something I love doing and have done since the age of 10, for what reason? I have no idea. There is no real point in asking if I’m a writer or not because the truth is I have never stopped writing for most of my life. Perhaps what I’m really asking is if I’m good enough to call myself a writer. I know I am comparing myself to the writers I look up to and for that reason I feel I cannot call myself a writer. But as these thoughts go through my head I cannot help but continue my writing journey, writing is part of my life and something I have needed to do my whole life.

When I was in third grade I wrote a short story and my Teacher was so impressed she had me type it up on a computer. Back then computer labs were barely starting to come to schools so this was a big deal. Before that my Dad had bought me a typewriter to do most of my writing. My Teacher also got one of the students in my class who was good at drawing to illustrate my story. I still have that story and sometimes share it with the kids I work with. I remember my Teacher telling me to keep writing because she thought I was good, which I did. However, as I grew up my writing changed as well as my outlook on myself. At times I would write something only to read it and destroy it. This happened mostly during my very dark teenage years, still I kept writing. This is what I try to keep in mind when I ask myself if I am in fact a writer, the fact that I have always written makes me a writer, right?

Another reason I feel I question myself is because I have seen so many artists being very vocal about their incredible belief in their own ability to perform. This is something that as a writer I tend to struggle with. I rarely call myself a writer out loud and have only shared my writing with a few people. Imposter syndrome? Perhaps. But still I keep writing, this is the thing that never changes in my life. No matter how I’m feeling, writing seems to always be happening whether in my head or on paper or computer screen.

I know that the very question I’m asking myself is stupid and not important. Why label myself as something? For what reason do I want to classify myself as something and not only that but measure the success of my writing as either good or bad? Writing makes me happy, writing is the most natural occurrence in my life, and the most constant thing in my life therefore I should accept it and love it. Writing is part of me and will most likely continue to be until the day I die. Why should anyone question themselves on something they enjoy doing and that is not harming anyone?

Lately I have been pushing myself on this site to publish my stories no matter how they seem to me when they are done. I have also not re-read them out of fear that I will delete them as I have done to many of my stories. I realize that I am highly critical of my writing and will at times delete stories I love because I feel that the writing is not good enough, I feel that the quality is not there. I don’t want to do that anymore, besides the only way to get better is to practice so deleting my work is no longer an option. This is definitely a work in progress. I am not perfect and being hyper-critical to my own work is a bad habit that I need to shake off.

Still, the question pops off in my head at least once a week if not more. I also keep writing and putting words down every single day. I cannot stop myself from writing nor do I want to. The joy I get from creating something new or simply writing about things I go through is unlike anything else I can get in my life. I guess I should really work on not erasing the question from my mind.

LifeProcess
24

About the Creator

Lily

Writer, Teacher Assistant, creator and believer in the law of attraction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Samyak7 months ago

    Thank you for writing this. You are a writer, and I believe by reading this I have also come to accept myself more as a writer.

  • Phil Flannery7 months ago

    You are a writer. If you are using this site, you are a published writer. If you have received payment for it in number of reads, or tips or challenge wins, then you are a professional writer. So it's too late for you to back out now. I write when I'm inspired and I have only been at it these past three years. It seems you have more experience than me, and I'm old. Don't be too critical of your work, because it is from your point of view and no one sees things from that angle. It's very important to be able to see the world through other's eyes. Writing give us that. We all have doubts, but push through them, it's worth it.

  • Kendall Defoe 7 months ago

    If you write, you are a writer. A teacher once shared my work with another teacher because he was very impressed with it (I was in Grade Four or Three). It matters... And you should read Rilke's 'Letters to a Young Poet' to get your own answers... Great piece! And you should read more...or...

  • Raymond G. Taylor7 months ago

    Evidence m'lady: You have written this article and published it on Vocal, you have won a deserved top story slot (congrats) and, most importantly: "I cannot stop myself from writing nor do I want to. The joy I get from creating something new or simply writing about things I go through is unlike anything else I can get in my life." We should always ask ourselves questions but seems to me the answer to this one is emphatically yes. Keep up the good work.

  • Miss Catherine7 months ago

    You are not alone in this. I doubt myself all the time and worst of it all is when I experience writers block. You are a writer don't doubt that.

  • JBaz7 months ago

    Lily, you are not alone in this thought or doubt. If you put words together to create something , then you are a writer. Are you a writer isn't the question it, the question you are asking is am I reaching my goal as a writer, and everyone's goals may very. I do not do this but - I am leaving a link to something I wrote for the Heather Hubler challenge. you may want to read it as it addresses this thought. https://vocal.media/motivation/yes-heather-there-is-a-writer-in-you

  • As a freelance Writer, I am pursuing an engaging professional journey. Beyond my writing endeavors, I have a passion for profound appreciation for the beauty of all living creatures, and an innate enthusiasm for connecting with exceptional individuals such as you! Please count me here.

  • Manisha Dhalani7 months ago

    I ask myself this all the time. You're a really good writer, Lily. Please don't stop :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.