Motivation logo

Yes Heather, There is a Writer in You

"Write me a letter challenge" for Heather Hubler

By JBazPublished 7 months ago Updated 7 months ago 4 min read
17
Canstock

I explained to Heather, I will unfortunately be indisposed and unable to participate in this remarkable challenge.

Her response to me was. “I sincerely hope that you’re able to participate as I was hoping for an entry from you.”

Now, I know what you are saying, ‘Jason, how can you look upon that cherubic face and say no?’

I understand, and while she may have written that sweet message to me, I believe her actual thoughts were: …. 'No excuse JBaz, get off your arse and write me a frigg’n letter.'

Either way, here it is.

Please, let me explain. I chose to write this in the style of one of the most famous letters in modern times.

During my interview with Heather, we discussed if we can truly become successful published authors:

Dear Jason,

I know you may feel unqualified to answer this question, but Cathy’s cat, Abigail, says that if JBaz writes it then it must be true. Sometimes, I feel that I am not a real writer. Please tell me the truth. Can I ever become successful?

Heather.

*********************************************

Heather,

I cannot tell you how many countless times this very question has crossed my mind, as I am sure it has with others who wish to pursue this fanciful dream of writing.

Is becoming a successful writer a question of skill or luck? That depends on your definition of success.

Writers have a gift, they imbue life into words. Make no mistake, stories have a heartbeat and breathe as surely as you and I. They are born from imagination, infused with a soul, and given freely to the world with one thought in mind, to flourish.

How boring would this world be without a poet’s heart, how dreary is life if no new stories should be discovered and shared. How stagnant would humankind be to never learn. Without imagination what is there? How many times have we lost the ability to speak yet magically find our words while writing.

Reading and writing have the ability to make one laugh so hard you cry, while allowing others to fall in love. Stories that frighten us in such a way, a change of shorts may be required. The all night page turners that captivate the reader, swearing they will go to sleep after this chapter. How can that be wrong when the power of words let emotions come alive.

How blessed are we to see wonder in a child’s eyes as they discover the magical world of flying dragons, or talking lions, zebras, and bears, oh my! The excitement they have when they add their ideas and thoughts to a story being read to them for the first time or the fiftieth.

When I worried that my son and I may have nothing in common, Lord of the Rings bound us together and let us create our own journey, our own fellowship, in which we have never looked back.

When despair and darkness overwhelmed our daughter, poetry showed her the light. The stories she read let her know, she is not alone. The gift of words returned our little girl to us. How can anyone deny the power in that.

The written word gives so much more than any of us will ever know, and asks for so little, other than to be set free.

How many people in their daily life, have jobs that offer this type of freedom?

Yes Heather, there is a writer in you, and in all of us who wish to be part of something incredible.

You can take a thousand nasty comments from critics, and a thousand rejections, and still that should not define you as a writer. Rejection is like a misplaced coma, or exclamation point! Does it count if incorrectly used?

No, do not let the opinions of strangers dictate your fate as a writer, for we are all human, we are all infallible. Do not let negativity defeat or mock you like some politically incorrect xanthous joke. Nor be fooled with false praise, well meaning or not.

Accept constructive criticism, for that is what good writers do.

JRR Tolkien, JK Rowling and Dr. Seuss never gave up, neither should you. Perhaps you are unfamiliar with their work, look them up, they did okay for themselves.

Not a writer? Ah, Heather, from this day forth let nothing stop your creativity or your passion to share your thoughts, your hopes and dreams, your wins and yes, your losses.

Share all you wish with the world and your work will live on, for as long as the Sun rises and sets. For as long as stars sparkle in the night sky. You are the moon, and we are but tides drawn to your pull.

Don't let anyone say you are not a writer. Believe in yourself.

Sincerely,

Jason (A friend, who truly wanted to do this).

794W

successadvice
17

About the Creator

JBaz

I have enjoyed writing for most of my life, never professionally.

I wish to now share my stories with others, lets see where it goes.

Born and raised on the Canadian Prairies, I currently reside on the West Coast. I call both places home.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Kristen Balyeat6 months ago

    Ahh, absolutely love this! What a beautiful and heartfelt letter! I am truly inspired after reading it. I especially loved the parts about your children! So glad you took the time to write to Heather- in doing so, you encouraged us all! 💫

  • Colleen Millsteed 7 months ago

    Beautifully written Jason and so very true.

  • Beautiful & encouraging. Though I'm pretty sure you meant "Accept constructive criticism" rather than "Except constructive criticism". (How ironic is that?)

  • Test7 months ago

    Well done, Jason! Such a kind and noble and supportive letter.🙏Pernoste

  • Veronica Coldiron7 months ago

    What a beautiful letter! Congratulations! Well deserved indeed! 🥰

  • Heather Hubler7 months ago

    I love and appreciate that you took this opportunity to be uplifting to the whole writing community, not just me. It speaks to your character and skill, both of which I greatly admire :) Thank you for these thoughtful, kind words, my friend. Loved it!!

  • This is beautifully uplifting. Well done!

  • Rejection is like a misplaced coma, or exclamation point! Does it count if incorrectly used? That was just so extremely deep and very thought provoking. Your letter was so uplifting! Instead of only Heather, I think you lifted us all with your letter!

  • Cathy holmes7 months ago

    Abigail approves. This is great.

  • Mariann Carroll7 months ago

    This such a heartfelt and heartwarming letter 🥳🥰

  • Hannah Moore7 months ago

    I see us all gathering under your flag here...

  • Babs Iverson7 months ago

    Brilliantly wriiten!!! Jason, your letter that you wrote to Heather provides sage advice!!! Loved it!!!❤️❤️💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.