Writers logo

Cat Food and Coffee

Lifestyle

By LilyPublished 9 months ago 3 min read
3
Cat Food and Coffee
Photo by Daria Bannikova on Unsplash

This past Friday after work I had to make an emergency run to my grocery store. That morning I discovered I was running dangerously low on two very important home items: Cat food and Coffee. Thankfully we had enough to start out our day but I was definitely going to have to stop at the store before I got home. After an exhausting day at work I pushed myself to go to the store. I usually avoid going to the store and will either go early on the weekend or order so that it is delivered. But I knew I couldn’t wait until the weekend for the items and ordering only 2 things for delivery would be too expensive. After work, I went into my local grocery store, grabbed my two items and headed for the self-checkout. As I stood in line I couldn’t help but notice I was only holding two small items in my arms. The items were cat food and coffee. I don’t know why but the fact that it was cat food and coffee just made me smile. My life resumed on a shopping trip, just cat food and coffee.

I couldn’t help but realize that my living as a single woman with no kids has led me to this lifestyle. A lifestyle where an emergency is running low on coffee and cat food. I can’t say that I mind that this is my type of emergency. When I was much younger and at the age where everyone was starting to have babies I realized that not only did I not want it for me, I also realized I was not capable of taking the amount of pressure that comes along with raising a human being. As the years went on and I started working in the education system I realized that my destiny was to support and educate children and families rather than bringing up my own. I cannot tell you how many times I have seen grown men and women brought to tears with the pressure of raising their kids. Of course, when you’re a parent you will find the strength to push yourself and your kids to overcome obstacles. But for me it was a reminder that the strength needed to raise a child was something I felt I did not have.

At first my friends and family did not believe that I would be childless forever, especially because I love working with kids so much. When I was dating I was also very upfront with my partners about not wanting to have kids, which eventually made my dating pool very small. Now that I am older the pool has opened a bit because most of the men my age have either had kids already and are done or have also made the decision to not have kids. When I stop and look around in my life I realize that my lifestyle is a lifestyle that suits me. This is the lifestyle that I chose because it is as much as I can handle. My own little self, and my own little mind is enough to keep me anxious for no reason, so I cannot fathom more responsibility on top of that. Working and supporting families has been very rewarding and it has been enough to make me feel good about myself.

After I got home with my bag of emergency groceries I put them on the table and looked at my cat. I had successfully gotten our emergency shopping done and we were good to go for about another two weeks. The whole time I just kept thinking about how much effort it had taken for me to go shopping after work. The whole work day was spent being anxious to go shopping after work. I realize that this is all part of my mental health; my anxiety, my overthinking and on. I wish I could tell people, especially new people in my life, that the most I can handle in my life is cat food and coffee and have them understand precisely what I mean. But of course this is a hard concept to understand. For now, I realize I am living a lifestyle that I can handle and that is the most important thing to me.

Life
3

About the Creator

Lily

Writer, Teacher Assistant, creator and believer in the law of attraction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Phil Flannery7 months ago

    Know thy self.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.