Writers logo

36 Hours

2016

By Dejanira RisticPublished 9 days ago 1 min read

I managed to weave my way out of the Beacon Theatre on Broadway, follow the street lights past West End Ave., and cross Riverside Dr without fearing the shadows of New York City. A man was playing the saxophone by the Henry Hudson Parkway, the acoustics he created under the bridge stopped me cold in my tracks and transported me to a romantic film. A newfound longing to have somebody next to me appeared in the pit of my stomach and I lost myself in the cast of the low lighting. The perfectly placed human being sharing and creating one of the most critical moments of my life was a stranger I would never see again. I picked up the pace when I heard a splash signaling the waterfront past the H. R. Greenway and within seconds, I saw the horizon open up before me. The lights and the noise of the city fell behind, the full-moon played hide-and-seek with the skyscrapers to my left, and the sound of the breeze closing the night from the right created peace I'd been searhing for and a kind of love I never knew existed. The wind swept up courage from the Upper West Side and blew it through my hair; it was only then that I know how to celebrate a magnificent night.

Life

About the Creator

Dejanira Ristic

NYC

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Dejanira RisticWritten by Dejanira Ristic

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.