Wander logo

Wild Horse Mesa

San Luis Valley, Co

By Lottie RosePublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

The San Luis Valley, just north of the Colorado and New Mexico border runs along the 38th parallel in the United States. This area, nicknamed the “Mysterious Valley” is known for its paranormal activity and unexplained phenomenon(much like the rest of the latitudinal line is world wide). It is home to a band of wild and abandoned horses, who can be seen stopping traffic most times you drive through.

Spread into 9 different bands, most of the horses are descendants of the Spanish conqusitadors. Around 150 total wander across the private lands they call home. In Colorado, there are just under 1000 horses left on public lands. With plans to remove all but 550, it’s gut wrenching to think that one day this beauty could be removed altogether.

I grew up just south of where this photo was taken near Taos, New Mexico and am always struck by how breathtaking it is to see such a sight. Also known as the San Pedro Mesa, the low amount of traffic along this road makes for an excellent opportunity to stop and get acquainted with the horses. While they are still wild by nature and will not let you touch them, often times I have been close enough to absorb their energy. I try to make sure to leave towards the end of the day to capture them in their best light. Surrounded by both a desert landscape, and the Sangre de Cristo Mountain Range, there truly is no other place like this in the world.

Growing up I didn’t appreciate the beauty of this area. It was only when I moved away to the city that I would come back and understand how breathtaking this is. To me, wild horses sound like something only imagined in an old western film. As heartbreaking as it is to think that not all of these animals are wild, but abandoned- it still gives a sense of calming knowing they have found home with eachother.

Much like these horses, I have found myself here when I was abandoned and lost. I have taken about a thousand car rides through this area, many of them with tears in my eyes as I processed the chaos and seemingly unfair circumstances of my life. Allowing myself to also be wild and free, I cracked open and was healed too. Finding home in a place most have forgotten or never even knew existed. Every time i listen to the song Wild Horses by The Rolling Stones I am instantly reminded of these beautiful creatures and my therapeutic travels along this highway.

When I think of this mesa and the possibility that the beauty could be removed, I find myself in a sort of paradox. While the awareness of this majestic space could help to save it, it could also take away from the true beauty of it. Its distance being 4 hours from any bigger city has protected this area from being over run with tourism. My only hope is that the Beaureu of Land Management continues to protect this space and does not remove this band of horses from the area that it calls home.

If you are passing through Colorado or New Mexico, going a little out of your way to take this road will almost guarantee a glimpse of my friends. Near to Taos, Red River, Great San Dunes National Park, and not too far from areas like Durango or Pagosa Springs- it is well worth going an hour or two out of your way to experience the truly untouched beauty of the San Luis Valley. I recommend spending the day hiking in the Wild Rivers Recreational Area near Questa just north of Taos. Head south after this and find a unique hotel or earthship to spend a few days experiencing the uniqueness of this entire area.

photography
1

About the Creator

Lottie Rose

Mindful Migration

Inspiration • Unity • Change

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.