Wander logo

Living Below The Poverty Line

A Personal Journey Of Self-Discovery And Social Awareness

By Freddie's Lost TreasuresPublished 8 months ago 3 min read
1
Survival Depends On You (Photo by Freddie's Lost Treasures)

I always thought that living beneath the poverty line is an occurrence that befalls others, so I decided to dive-in to poverty myself (as an experiment). The belief that poverty arises from ill fortune, bad choices, or a lack of skills is part of what drives poverty. Once someone falls into poverty and descends into destitution, the difficulty of freeing oneself from its clutches, is almost seemingly insurmountable. I resolved to directly experience poverty in the Kingdom of Wonder, the country of Cambodia.

This decision did not materialize abruptly; rather, it evolved gradually as I scrutinized my own assumptions and values. I led a comfortable existence, complete with a stable occupation and a respectable income in the United States. I could afford the material possessions and necessities I desired, free from apprehension about the future. However, an escalating sense of discontent and hollowness pervaded my being. I pondered whether life held more significance than the endless pursuit of material success and happiness. I yearned to challenge myself, to acquire new knowledge, and to effectuate change in the world.

I initiated this journey by immersing myself in research concerning Cambodia, a nation beleaguered by decades of warfare, genocide, and political instability. Through my extensive examination of literature preceding my journey, I came to the conclusion that Cambodia had made remarkable strides in mitigating poverty, yet it grappled with numerous hurdles, including inequality, corruption, environmental degradation, and human rights transgressions. The Cambodian people's culture, history, and resilience piqued my curiosity. So, I boarded the plane and began my adventure.

I arrived in Phnom Penh, Cambodia's capital city, armed with only a backpack and a predetermined modest budget. I secured a humble room among factory laborers in a dilapidated neighborhood, procured an inexpensive motorbike for transportation and exploration, and applied for a volunteer role at a local non-governmental organization dedicated to assisting slum communities. I lived on meager means, adapting as circumstances necessitated. My sustenance comprised rudimentary fare of rice and vegetables, accompanied by water or tea, while I avoided any extra expenditures.

The experience was anything but easy, enjoyable, or glamorous. It proved arduous, agonizing, and humbling. Eking out an existence beneath the poverty line (and doing so in a place still deemed third-world) bestowed upon me myriad lessons unattainable through books, articles, or documentaries. I immediately felt appreciation for life's minutiae, such as a warm shower, a clean bed, or a friendly smile. It equipped me with the tools to confront uncertainty, adversity, and frustration. It fostered resourcefulness, adaptability, and inventiveness.

It also facilitated connections with individuals different from myself in a number of ways. I encountered, on a daily basis, those grappling to make ends meet, but it was those people who had the most generosity, kindness, and hope in their hearts. I met individuals who had endured unfathomable horrors (Khmer Rouge), though exhibiting courage, fortitude, and forgiveness. I encountered individuals with limited education or opportunities, who nevertheless possessed intelligence, talent, and ambition. These special people I met, acquainted me with their culture, history, aspirations, and sufferings in their lives. They extended a warm embrace, welcoming me into their homes, families, and lives.

Living beneath the poverty line in Cambodia also unveiled to me the intricate, multifaceted nature of poverty. Poverty transcended mere financial constraints or income disparities; it comprised issues of access and opportunity. Poverty encompassed not solely individual or personal factors, but also structural and systemic influences, which makes it difficult to move from one level of society to the next. Poverty is more than just statistics or numerical figures; it entangles narratives and stories.

By residing below the poverty line in Cambodia, I learned more about myself and the world than ever before. I deduced that poverty does not define individuals; rather, it can be defeated with dignity and determination. I realized that poverty does not segregate us; rather, it binds us together with compassion and solidarity.

Take a leap of faith in your life, you will have experiences you never envisioned or desired. Push the boundaries of your personal comfort zone, and in so doing, astonish yourself and others beyond imagination.

۞۞۞۞۞

Original story (created by me) published on Medium.com. Any changes and/or updates that have been added on Vocal.media are for content consumption purposes.

Thank you for your time, I hope you thoroughly enjoyed what you have read today. Please subscribe. I have plenty of upcoming articles on varying topics, if you so choose to check them out. Also if you would be so kind, I would greatly appreciate a heart. Lastly, if you feel inclined to do so, tips and of course pledges (currently only $2.99 a month) are greatly appreciated. Our monies collected in Vocal help support the Bunong tribal people in Cambodia.

featurecultureasiaactivitiessuccesshappinessgoalscelebritiesadvicehow totravelreviewhumanityfriendshipfeaturefamilyadvice
1

About the Creator

Freddie's Lost Treasures

A traveler in search of lost and hidden treasures. I have assembled a lifelong learning of being in the business world and decided to take a leap to see what is outside the confines of brick and mortar and left the 9 to 5 behind.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Margaret Brennan8 months ago

    what an experience. I am not in the same position but due to unplanned expenses, my level of "financial security" is slowly flying out the window. Each day, I'm thankful that I still have food for my husband and myself and a roof over our heads. I have bills left unpaid until next week when our pensions are due won't get paid. It's a feeling I'm not happy with but until this cycle of misfortune passes, I need to watch every penny.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.