Wander logo

Chernobyl.

🤍

By Celia in UnderlandPublished 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 5 min read
Top Story - December 2023
36
Dall-ee generated

Overall, I’m not a dark tourism fan. But it was my friends 40th and dark she wanted to go. And so dark was where I was at. Being placed in the heart of central Europe, Slovakia is the perfect location for branching out. And so it made for a perfect position for an old friend to kick off her, 'celebrations'.

I was essentially given two choices. And I had to choose one, at least or risk letting down someone I care about deeply. Auschwitz or Chernobyl? Neither of which appealed much. I mean it was my summer holiday, couldn’t we just hang out in the street markets of Thailand or wander around the groggy cobbles of Rome? Nope. Apparently not. So, Chernobyl it was. It seemed less awful in a highly un-rational kind of rationing. Ignorant maybe. But accidental mostly, at least.

From Slovakia, Kiev is a short distance away by plane, less than two hours. Fortunately, being European grown (at the time) I didn’t have to worry about all the visa jazz. My friend, who is from New Zealand had a much harder time. Soviet paperwork is a ball ache of heavy duty order.

I thought of this trip yesterday, Christmas day, as I contemplated life, love and the universe whilst munching on smoked almonds (delicious by the way - especially with a side of Shiraz). I thought sadly about the exquisite beauty of Kiev - with its architectural prowess. All Byzantine loveliness, shaped by the hands of ancestors who had grappled through hardship and loss. I cannot begin to think of it now. Shelled and desecrated by evil.

Then, as I remember it, I fell in love with its heart. The kindness of it. Everywhere we went people were keen to talk, to tell us of their heritage. In restaurants –we only ate in traditional alleyways – waiters would scramble to recommend a local dish. A delicacy of the homeland, Borscht, Holubtsi, Varenniki. And vodka. So much vodka. In so many renditions. This city is where I also discovered ‘crab’ flavour Pringles. Sadly, never to be encountered since.

Kiev

I thought of these people. These wonderful soul filled people. I thought of what Christmas day must be like for them. All that they have had to endure. With no understanding of war. And, gratefully, no experience to draw on. It is unimaginable to me. And then I thought of Chernobyl, and my trip many years ago. The tragic disaster zone, now a tourism magnet.

I have written about it many times in my dreams. This place of desolate hope. I have thought about it often. But never really spoken of. It is a place that is with me, has become part of me in a way that is not easy to explain.

It was April 26, 1986, deep in the night when reactor 4 of the nuclear power plant exploded, spewing radioactive material into the dark air. Emergency services arrived, ill equipped. Armed with water to fight the fire. Protected by nothing as they carried out their 'duty'. No one told them. No one warned them that they would be dead within days. It took another 36 hours for Pripyat, home to the plant workers and their families, to be evacuated. And even then, resistance from the residents made it difficult. They could neither see or feel the threat as it seeped into their blood streams. Eating them from inside out, why would they abandon the only home they had ever known? Many of the elders refused to budge. Distrust in the government and a lack of tangible threat made them convinced of other conspiracies, more toxic than atomic energy. For some, the effects were immediate. For others generational, years of thyroid cancer, seeping down from one newborn to the next. The poison malignant and ever present- causing deformities or certain death in equal measure.

Now a cement “sarcophagus" covers the reactor, reinforced in 2016 by steel. The half-lives and lives of the toxins will live forever.

Chernobyl sign

My trip to the exclusion zone was tainted by trepidation. This was going to be no art gallery. The mini bus bumped through the unnatural forest of iodine tinted trees as the city dissipated into a memory of civilisation.

Standing amidst the abandoned buildings of Pripyat, the silence was palpable. Crumbled homes had been ravaged by the natural elements. Vines encasing them with little regard for human endevour. Earth endures. And it will endure long after we have destroyed it. The big wheel- in London a symbol of the city. An eye to the microcosm. Here. Frozen in time. The laughter of children suspended in animated glee. The joy that once was.

The Ferris Wheel Pripyat

But still amongst the shattered ruins. Hope. Hope in the dandelion springing from the cracked wall. Hope in the dog protecting the bridge.

Chernobyl Dog

Hope in the fish – twice their natural size, breathing life into toxic waters.

Catfish

And hope in the innocent sticker, “In Dream World”

Sticker in abandoned high rise

Time had stood still. But nature and dreams would march forward in their way. The only way they knew how. Unrelenting. Taking root and growing against the odds.

Somehow, in my Christmas musings it gave me peace. Hope that whatever the world encounters, whatever we all endure, there is always a crack in the earth, a space to grow. And become.

Life despite it all.

naturehumanity
36

About the Creator

Celia in Underland

Just a voice finding its echo. Teacher - reader-writer-cat lover. Wanderer. Weirder than a koala in The Arctic. Magpie for shiny words and stuff. Taking the scenic route home.

Admin @ FB VoIces in Minor

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (26)

Sign in to comment
  • Daphsam2 months ago

    Well written, thank you for sharing. Your photos are very thought provoking.

  • River Joy3 months ago

    This is fascinating. I will admit I have a bit of a morbid curiosity when it comes to dark tourist sites, though I've only ever snuck...I mean toured abandoned buildings. Chernobyl has always fascinated me, there's a really interesting video on it by a nuclear physicist who both advocates for nuclear power (not bombs) and also balances educating the public on the dangers. I'll see if I can find it.

  • Chernobyl or Auschwitz, both chilling reminders of the "never again" sentiments we seem constantly doomed to forget & dismiss. Powerful, hopeful & inspirational writing & pictures.

  • Donna Fox (HKB)4 months ago

    Wow Ceilia, this was incredible!! I wasn't sure where we were going with this especially after the crab flavoured Pringles comment... 😅 But I love the narrative you told about the journey and how you found hope in such a dark, hopeless place! Which I think oddly is the true spirit if Christmas!! I loved this, congrats on Top Story!!

  • ROCK 4 months ago

    Excellent 👌. I am reminded that life goes on despite us stupid humans screwing up as much of the world as possible with our desire to be more powerful. I would like to see this in The Sun magazine.

  • Grz Colm4 months ago

    What a terrific reflection for wander! I’m so grateful you made it hopeful! I remember going to Auschwitz as teenager and the world trade centre museum/memoriam later in life. Such a sicky feeling at times. Hard to explain. Thank you for sharing your journey with us. Plus, nice work on your top story too Celia! 😊👍

  • Babs Iverson4 months ago

    Thank you for sharing your wander story!!! Love it!!! Congratulations on Top Story too!!!

  • D. D. Lee4 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story, nice reflective piece!

  • Lamar Wiggins4 months ago

    Wow! Not sure if that will ever make my bucket list but thank you for sharing. I felt I had been there after reading this. The details of your true experience helped us better understand a tragic history. Thank you again for braving that trip.

  • Yayyyyy I'm back to say congratulations for your Top Story!

  • J. Delaney-Howe4 months ago

    Congrats on your Top Story! Very nice work.

  • JBaz4 months ago

    Back to say congratulations on a well deserved piece

  • Lana V Lynx4 months ago

    I was near Chernobyl in 1987, also as a part of a dare trip. But we had to sneak in there as it was barred off. I've lost a lot of hair and my nails and eyebrows came off as a result. Luckily it grew back but we never really knew the dangers of radiation at the time. And Kyiv is one of my favorite cities in the whole world. Thanks for writing this up, Celia.

  • Cathy holmes4 months ago

    Such a beautifully told story of tragedy. Congrats on the TS.

  • Paul Stewart4 months ago

    Back to say congrats on Top Story - Celia!

  • As Dr. Malcolm (Jeff Goldblum) said in Jurassic Park, "Life finds a way". Also, who's that dog and why is he so sad? Why is he guarding the bridge? 🥺🥺

  • Mother Combs4 months ago

    I can remember when Chernobyl happened. It was scary for us kids.

  • Dana Crandell4 months ago

    You've written a very special piece here, Celia! Finding hope in the face of horrible tragedy! Well done!

  • JBaz4 months ago

    You added such beautiful quality to a terrible story. This was a wonderful tribute to those who lost their homes and lives. You spoke of reality , hope and sadly the truth. Well done

  • Paul Stewart4 months ago

    This was lovely, really. and so well written...Celia...felt like I was there with you and your friend is weird lol. Chernobyl does feel like the less awful choice of the two options. Both were atrocities that were due to humans...but I love the hopefulness at the end. Impactful writing as ever, Celia. Well done.

  • Matthew Fromm4 months ago

    This was a great read, thanks for sharing your adventure. Chernobyl fascinates me in a morbid way as something that’s so sci fi yet happened here on earth and coming up on 40 years ago

  • Ace Melee4 months ago

    Chernobyl was one of the video lessons from science class. It was intriguing. I have watched documentaries in my free time. The event was a cataclysm (mainly from higher-ups ignoring worker's warnings of the dangers if they did the test). Like you said at the end, the abandoned cities and nature surrounding the nuclear site seem peaceful. It's like despite radioactive fallout, life still prevails.

  • Caroline Craven4 months ago

    This is a cracking piece of writing. I felt like I was there. The photos are great too. I am not sure if you're a travel writer at all, but you should be!

  • Hannah Moore4 months ago

    Lovely. Always a crack to grow from. Well said.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.