Wander logo

Sleepless in South Korea

The first time 'home'

By Celia in UnderlandPublished 8 months ago 3 min read
8

We arrived in Mokp’o, my new 'home' at around midnight. They had told me it was a village. A village? In Wales a 'village' consists of about 50 people who shear sheep together on Saturdays. But here apparently 250,000 was small. A drop in the mere ocean of the vastness of South Korea. Cool beans.

My monosyllabic colleague dumped me unceremoniously into my shoe box literal, fridge-for-a-headboard apartment and made a sharp exit. Muttering something about tomorrow and a Meeting? I think, though don’t ask me to bet my life on it. By this point, I was practically delirious.

I sat on the bed. Felt the vibrations from the headboard. Opened the headboard. Closed the headboard. Sat back down on the bed. Looked out of the window. Roof Tops. I opened my case. Shut my case. Checked out the bathroom. Opened the shower door. Shut the shower door. Sat back down on the bed.

That was it. I couldn’t stand it any longer. I had to go out and explore.

Drifting out into the dark side street, I should have known better. And I knew it, even in the moment my foot hit the tarmac. But I ignored my inner "catastrophi-meter," pasted on my stiff upper lip, and did it anyway.

Like a moth, I headed towards the light.

At the bottom of my street, I was met with a towering, luminous blue, 'Paris Baguette.' Great. A landmark. I mean, how many baguettes can possibly be sold in the land of rice and noodles? A suitable anchor point. I felt free to wander.

Turning the corner onto the main drag, I was met with a sudden awakening. I was illuminated, and so was everything else in the vicinity. It was like stepping into Piccadilly Circus with the lights actually on — and fireworks to boot! Neon signs of red, green, yellow, blue threw lasers of light in every direction. It was challenging to determine where one sign ended and another began. In fact, it was hard to discern anything at all.

As my eyes adjusted, I could finally appreciate this illusory place that, until now, I had only imagined. It was all there: tangible, concrete, right before my eyes. I was here. I truly was.

That morning, quite accidentally, I stumbled on the night market. The intoxication was immediate. Fragrant burnt rice and fresh watermelon spiked with the heady scent of ‘gochujang’ being freshly prepared. Everywhere I turned, people chattered loudly in a language I could not understand. The women, animated and vibrant, gestured wildly to make their points, while the men, in contrast, whispered conspiratorially. Food stalls were crowded, with patrons vying for the freshest catch. Victors emerged, sauntering off with bags of fish slung over their shoulders, like a triumphant Dick Whittington who'd finally found his gold.

It was confusing, peculiar, enchanting, disconcerting, and captivating all at once. This was life. Wonderful, pulsating life. And I stood in the centre of it all.

I left the market invigorated but exhausted. I don't know if it was the excitement or the jet lag that got to me but I felt completely drained.

I needed to return to the shoe box.

As the night lights dimmed and the sun began to rise, casting a surreal red glow over the cobbled stones, I was greeted politely with curious smiles from the night 'staggerers', largely drunk on Soju but still sober enough to cast a cursory glance over the strange little foreigner wandering the streets at such an insane hour.

I found my landmark. My beacon. My road map home.

And then another. And another. How many ‘Paris Baguette’ could there be? Five apparently. FIVE. But which one was mine?

It was 4 am and I was utterly, lost. No address, no mobile; and by 6 am, I was exhausted with no hope and on the verge of tears.

Miraculously, I managed to find my street. To this day, I have no idea how. I felt almost drunk as I slotted the key into my new front door. I have never been so relieved to see a bed, propped up by a fridge, neither before nor since.

asia
8

About the Creator

Celia in Underland

Just a voice finding its echo. Teacher - reader-writer-cat lover. Wanderer. Weirder than a koala in The Arctic. Magpie for shiny words and stuff. Taking the scenic route home.

Admin @ FB VoIces in Minor

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran8 months ago

    Omgggg, I'm so glad you made it back to your room! Please don't go wandering off alone especially at night. It's just so scary!

  • Mark Gagnon8 months ago

    I've learned the hard way that one landmark is usually not enough. Leaving an airport and realizing that almost every sign is in a language I don't understand is a real wake-up call, but I'll never give up traveling. Interesting and relatable story.

  • Rachel Deeming8 months ago

    How many Paris Baguettes? Who knew? Made me laugh!

  • Ah those moments when landmarks seem to shift on us, befuddling & confusing in an unfamiliar place. And that moment when you don't know anything else to do but let the tears well up in the midst of all your panic & fear. And then to let it be followed by that whelming sense of cosmic bliss as you find yourself again & know that you're home.

  • Mother Combs8 months ago

    nice

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.