Wander logo

A Day In Preston: Revisiting My Past Part Two

An Excuse To Share Some Pictures And Places With You

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished about a month ago 3 min read
Miller Arcade In Preston

Introduction

The first part of this story was published last week and you can visit it here:

I have written a few pieces on the place I was born and grew up and you can check them out here:

Simon and Garfunkel's "Homeward Bound" is sort of appropriate for this continuation of my May 2024 visit to Preston.

Continuing My Wander

The main picture is The Miller Arcade which is next to the Harris Museum. I have always been impressed by its architecture, but I think everything has changed with the residencies there now.

This was a quick walk through but the swing seats in Mowgli's caught my eye. An original and fun idea, and I will have to try them at some point. Tiffin and Chat Bombs sound good. They are an Indian Street Food restaurant and you can find out more here:

I wanted to know if this Clock was still there, it used to be something to do with a department store, possibly Owen Owen, now it is part of Bridge Street Apartments. I am ambivalent about old buildings being turned into pubs and apartments, but it does mean we can still enjoy the architecture and they are not taking away green and open spaces for more housing and retail openings.

When looking for somewhere to eat with Yvonne I decided to check out 1842 (and it is excellent, see my thoughts above) but was stunned by this memorial sculpture outside.

There are three plaques below and these or the words that they carry:

PRESTON & DISTRICT WORKERS' MEMORIAL DAY COMMITTEE

28th APRIL 2006

THIS PLAQUE IS DEDICATED BY THE TRADE UNIONS OF PRESTON TO THE MEMORY OF ALL WORKERS WORLDWIDE WHO ARE KILLED, INJURED, SUFFER ILL HEALTH OR DETRIMENT AS A CONSEQUENCE OF WORK.

REMEMBER THE DEAD, FIGHT FOR THE LIVING.

IN LUNE STREET, PRESTON, FOUR WORKERS WERE SHOT AND KILLED BY THE MILITARY DURING THE GENERAL STRIKE OF 1842.

SEVERAL THOUSAND PRESTON WORKERS WERE DEMONSTRATING AGAINST WAGE CUTS, AND FOR THE CHARTER OF DEMOCRATIC RIGHTS.

REMEMBER, REMEMBER, PEOPLE OF PROUD PRESTON THAT PROGRESS TOWARDS/JUSTICE AND DEMOCRACY HAS NOT BEEN ACHIEVED WITHOUT GREAT SACRIFICE.

REMEMBER, REMEMBER, PEOPLE OF PROUD PRESTOR TO DEFEND VIGOROUSLY THE RIGHTS GIVEN TO YOU. STRIVE TO ENHANCE THE RIGHTS OF THOSE WHO FOLLOW

Even though it was pouring down, that story touched me, and I know that if they could get away with it many would make that happen again.

I knew that many of the record shops I used to visit would be gone but I knew Action records were still here so I made my way down Church Street which is a continuation of Fishergarte and and the way saw this impressive church:

This is Preston Minster, and I had completely forgotten about it. Unfortunately, it was not open so I can't tell you anything about it.

Action Records is still there and going strong, and I had a great chat with the owners and came away with a 12" vinyl copy of "Come Out Fighting" by Easterhouse. This is their website:

And a great video about them as well.

I visited Preston Market which is now mostly indoor similar to the Grainger Market in Newcastle and was amused and surprised by the Bread Pakoras for sale.

At the front is a Nick Park tribute to Wallace and Gromit, Nick being a Preston lad like me.

When I came out of Preston Station I saw one of the giant and impressive murals. The three I saw were all on pub buildings, and I will leave you with these.

Thank you for reading this, and this is it until next time.

travel photographypop culturephotographyguideeuropecultureart

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales & Poems

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudeyAnna

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Carol

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (6)

  • Murali25 days ago

    You have wonderful memories.

  • Andy Pottsabout a month ago

    Thanks for sharing that. Preston is one of those places where I've only really seen the football ground (there are lots of those, from Dingwall to Plymouth) so it was nice to get a sense of the rest of the town.

  • Christy Munsonabout a month ago

    Enjoyed this trip through Preston, too. Thanks for sharing. Lots of spots I didn't see when I came through, so very pleased to know about those now.

  • Mother Combsabout a month ago

    Your pics are always so fun to look at. Thank you for sharing this.

  • Dr. Jason Benskinabout a month ago

    Hey Mike, Your vivid descriptions and personal anecdotes brought Preston to life, making me feel as if I was walking alongside you. The way you captured the essence of each location, from the historic Miller Arcade to the bustling Preston Market, was truly engaging. Your reflections on the changes and constants in Preston over the years resonated deeply. Thank you for sharing your journey and memories with such warmth and detail. Best regards, Dr. Jay

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    The message on the plaques really touched me too 🥺❤️ And omgggg, those food look soooo good!

Mike Singleton - MikeydredWritten by Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.