Wander logo

A Bohemian Storm Is Brewing

Back In La Rosa Whitby

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 6 months ago 3 min read
8
From The Cocktail Library In La Rosa

Introduction

I was talking with Helen in the Cocktail Library in La Rosa and we agreed that the poster on the wall would be a great title for a second piece about my favourite hotel, La Rosa.

I would not consider myself particularly boho but I have touched on it in my Vocal writing.

And that piece refers to my last La Rosa article.

A Little More On This Wonderful Establishment

All the rooms are themed and the service is wonderful. You are treated like family, and that is a good family, there is a lot of love when you come to La Rosa.

Things have slightly changed since we were last here, Helen and her family have taken the basement as their living area and we were introduced to the dog John.

John

In my previous piece, I wrote about the hotel itself and what I liked about it and why you should visit if you get the chance.

Then I started thinking about the concept of hotels. Generally, hotels are just a place to stay while you go and do whatever you want to do on your break or holiday.

The Tea Room

So Why Is La Rosa Different?

La Rosa is not just somewhere to stay, it is far more than that, it is something to actually experience while you are within its walls.

La Rosa Tea Parlour (In Minature)

Above you can see the tea room with its piano, its view of Whitby Abbey, the fortune-telling Madame La Rosa and lots more. You can also take breakfast here although we had it in our room.

A La Rosa Breakfast

The breakfast is described as "Continental" with fruit, croissants, coffee, and fruit juice (the drugs are not included) and it is delivered to your door at 8:30 AM. I don't know if it's my age, but this is both delicious and filling.

In Stoker

Even in your room, there is some much to give your attention to. On the dressing table in Stoker, there are two boxes of handwritten notes, and the walls are covered in amazing pictures, even the bathroom (separated from the main room by a heavy dark curtain) is full of things that say "Look at me".

Stoker's Bathroom

La Rosa is an absolute pleasure to stay in and enjoy. Each flight of stairs that you climb reveals something new to either amaze or interest you such as this huge Egyptian masque outside of the top floor Crow's Nest suite.

On The Way Up To The Crow's Nest

I know this is a lot of unplanned flitting about La Rosa, but it is so full of interesting things I will just share them as they pop back into my head.

I love the title of this piece from the poster in the La Rosa Cocktail Library but the story may not be exactly what people expect, just lots of things that I love about the place.

Sea Glass Skull

When you check in there is a glass skull filled with sea glass, which provides a link to the Sea Glass place that I found on Silver Street and will share it at the end of this piece.

The thing about Whitby is that every place is so supportive of each other.

An Autumn Lady

Back in the Cocktail Library is this lady with her Autumn Hat on. The place is a wonderful riot of colour and interesting things, and there is always something new around the corner like this glass bowl of white things in the tea room.

Things
Cocktail Library Cabinet

Conclusion For This Visit

I could go on sharing lots of things that I found, but if you can't actually visit La Rosa, at least check out the website which has details of all their amazing rooms.

I am already missing La Rosa, but I will be back.

Here is the Sea Glass place that I told you of.

travel tipstravel photographyreviewliteratureguidefeatureeuropecultureartactivities
8

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock6 months ago

    Sounds like a fun place all around. Thanks for sharing it with us, Mike.

  • The drugs are not included. I laughed so much for that! You're so funny! 🤣🤣🤣🤣 I enjoyed reading this!

  • Naomi Gold6 months ago

    What an interesting place! I would love to visit someday.

  • Rasma Raisters6 months ago

    Thank you for sharing, This looks like the original home away from home,

  • Mother Combs6 months ago

    Thank you for sharing another beautiful article.

  • Mariann Carroll6 months ago

    Thank you for sharing your travel experiences 🥰I cannot wait for your travel books to be published.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.